Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-20-2020, 05:35 PM
chrsharvick29 chrsharvick29 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Valdosta, GA
Posts: 10
Default Pro Tools CPU Usage

Hi everyone,

I just finished building my new pc with an 18 core processor and was going to see what kind of performance I can see in Pro Tools. The attached picture is with one stereo track on input monitoring mode with a 32 sample buffer size.

As you can see, Pro Tools is reporting 100% usage and core usage is doing an odd wave. Windows is only reporting 1.2% total usage in task manager. I know the System Usage is pretty much useless but this is ridiculous. I've been recording this track for over 20 minutes with no issues also.

Is there a reliable way to determine Pro Tools performance without going through the process of just testing until I get errors?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Pro Tools CPU Usage.jpg (64.1 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-21-2020, 07:39 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,797
Default Re: Pro Tools CPU Usage

You might benefit from doing the processor affinity switch. See Windows sub forum posts about it.
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7 hex 3.9GHz / 32GB / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / HP ProBook / i7 quad / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy: PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for demo
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-21-2020, 07:42 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,413
Default Re: Pro Tools CPU Usage

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrsharvick29 View Post
Is there a reliable way to determine Pro Tools performance without going through the process of just testing until I get errors?
No.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-21-2020, 08:47 AM
falcowe's Avatar
falcowe falcowe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: United States Nashville, TN
Posts: 71
Default Re: Pro Tools CPU Usage

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
No.
Lol.... great, accurate answer in as few words as possible! Thanks for the chuckle.
__________________
MacPro 7,1 (sigh) 16-core, 128GB ram, W5700X GPU, RME UFX+, PT 2020.5U.
Artist Mix, S1, and PT|Dock.
And too many VIs and VEPro machines.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-21-2020, 08:49 AM
chrsharvick29 chrsharvick29 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Valdosta, GA
Posts: 10
Default Re: Pro Tools CPU Usage

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
No.
I appreciate this.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-21-2020, 08:50 AM
chrsharvick29 chrsharvick29 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Valdosta, GA
Posts: 10
Default Re: Pro Tools CPU Usage

Quote:
Originally Posted by EGS View Post
You might benefit from doing the processor affinity switch. See Windows sub forum posts about it.
I'll check it out! Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Real CPU Usage vs. Pro Tools System Usage Window tbonesteak4dinner Pro Tools 11 19 02-21-2019 08:04 PM
Pro Tools 12 CPU usage Dot Pro Tools 12 2 03-15-2017 03:54 PM
Pro Tools 10 CPU usage help? Travis1290 Pro Tools 10 1 01-31-2013 07:07 AM
What would normal disk usage considered to be in the usage window? Digitopian 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 09-08-2009 09:50 PM
Why am i getting 100% CPU usage using pro tools 8? How do I fix it? philipc Post - Surround - Video 5 07-11-2009 08:03 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:40 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com