Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 01-20-2013, 05:55 PM

Cool Sending Midi from Casio to PT 6 on Mac

My equipment and software:

Upgraded from PT 6.4 LE to PT 9 with an Mbox
Midi interface is a MOTU Micro Express with only Midi ports
Mac Book Pro OSX 10.6
Casio WK-3000 (midi keyboard, no USB ports)

FYI - I have been using PT for 6 years.

1) My keyboard is connected to my MOTU midi interface.
Both midi IN and OUT from the keyboard are connected to the MOTU OUT and IN
ports.

2) My Motu midi interface is connected by USB to my computer thru a hub.

I want to know how to send the midi rythym or accompaniment that I've chosen from the Casio to sepearte tracks into Pro Tools. I was able to do this no problem in PT 6.4 LE - but unable to do this in PT 9.

Here are the steps I take to record midi into PT 6.4
1) Create 8 midi tracks

2) Leave input for each midi track as "All"

3) Choose the name of my keyboard as the output for each midi track. Each consecutive track as channel1, channel2, channel3,.......thru channel8.

4) Enable all tracks to record.

5) Press the "accompaniment" button on the keyboard - I then play the note that I want and all the instruments within this particular accompaniment play - and each instrument records on its dedicated midi track.

6) After I'm done recording, I stop the recording for each track.

7) When I playback - the music comes out of my keyboard.
I don't want playback music to come out of the computer or anywhere else so please don't suggest that

NOTE: The drum track from the keyboard record on 1 track and that is a-ok with me.

I have spoken to a few techs at well-known music and audio stores and they consistently try to show me how to use instruments within PT and to change the way I record music- so this is causing me much frustration. I think that everyone has their own type of setup with which they are comfortable.