Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-13-2012, 06:21 AM
Soundburst Soundburst is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Europe
Posts: 153
Default Dynamics III question please.

Hey everyone,

I'm reading the manual but still confused.

The orange arrow on the Limiter is the threshold level according to the instructions.

If I need my overall audio NEVER go to above -8dB - is it a case of just putting the orange arrow at -10dB? Even if I do this - it occasionally goes over. Am I doing something fundamentally wrong? If the signal goes above -8dB anywhere then I fail so I applied the limiter to be sure - but it's not doing its job.

Do I have to set the threshold even lower (say -12dB) for it to never go over -8db? :S

Thanks for any help. :)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-13-2012, 08:02 AM
Wolfgang Eller Wolfgang Eller is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,123
Default Re: Dynamics III question please.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soundburst View Post
Even if I do this - it occasionally goes over. Am I doing something fundamentally wrong?
Not fundamentally but you are using the wrong limiter for that job.

The Dynamics III limiter setting is more a kind of analog limiter.

You should do a search for a brickwall limiter.
__________________
www.srs-mastering.de
Mac Pro 6.1-8core, OS 10.15, PT2020, HDX2, Sonnet Echo Express III-R, Madi Interface.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-13-2012, 09:57 AM
Soundburst Soundburst is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Europe
Posts: 153
Default Re: Dynamics III question please.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolfgang Eller View Post
Not fundamentally but you are using the wrong limiter for that job.

The Dynamics III limiter setting is more a kind of analog limiter.

You should do a search for a brickwall limiter.
Ah I see! Like the Waves L2 plugin - and I set the Threshold for -8, and the ceiling output for -8db and then just make sure while I'm mixing - that it's not constantly in the red!

Thanks :):)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Expander Gate/Dynamics III vs Drawmer Dynamics DaveSB Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 14 01-31-2007 05:26 AM
7.2-User-definable default EQ & Dynamics question PMoshay Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 08-03-2006 11:50 AM
Dynamics III & Limiter Question xsane Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 01-28-2006 01:37 AM
Dynamics Plug Ins question. 1176, LA-2A, and Fairchild 660, which is best & for what? J Blazin 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 10-11-2002 07:45 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:19 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com