Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-18-2014, 03:14 PM
Mubeau Mubeau is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Mid- Europe
Posts: 359
Default best way to copy and allocate clips on new harddisks

Dear all,

During sound design it still happens that some files are not allocated to
the session´s Harddsik - I don't know why (disk allocation on all track is set to session´s Harddsik). Yes I have "automatically copy files on import" activated.

Sure when I´m done i would do "save copy in", but whats the best way if there are only some clips on the "wrong" HDs?
- I also COULD consolidate these files.
But what if there are many clips on the "wrong" hD (not the session HD where I want them to be).

I hope you understand what I mean an perhaps there is help for this nasty "bug"….
Thanks!,
Mubeau
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-18-2014, 05:14 PM
C C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: LA, CA, USA
Posts: 926
Default Re: best way to copy and allocate clips on new harddisks

Use the Project Browser window.

Open up the Audio Files "folder" (it's a virtual directory of all the audio files in the session) and sort by Path.

You should be able to select files which are on incorrect volumes and the use Copy and Relink to copy them into a folder of your choice and relink them in the session.

C
__________________
--
Ceri Thomas
Personal Site
Mix Tech/Assistant Sound Editor
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-19-2014, 12:26 PM
Mubeau Mubeau is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Mid- Europe
Posts: 359
Default Re: best way to copy and allocate clips on new harddisks

yes thanks a lot. thats it!!!
any idea about this import "bug" / strange behaviour that PT does not ALWAYS import new audio file although you had chosen to do so?

thanks!
mubeau
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-19-2014, 01:00 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: best way to copy and allocate clips on new harddisks

if the clips are on other HDs, you can change them to Transfer drives, open the session and PT will copy into the session folder
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-19-2014, 02:01 PM
C C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: LA, CA, USA
Posts: 926
Default Re: best way to copy and allocate clips on new harddisks

Try instead of Copy files using the Force to Target session format on import. never had it fail that way.
__________________
--
Ceri Thomas
Personal Site
Mix Tech/Assistant Sound Editor
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-20-2014, 12:09 PM
FajitaTone FajitaTone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,239
Default Re: best way to copy and allocate clips on new harddisks

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig F View Post
if the clips are on other HDs, you can change them to Transfer drives, open the session and PT will copy into the session folder
This is what I do.
__________________
Ray Trujillo
Freelance Audio Engineer
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MIDI clips/regions copy/loops madmarkdj Pro Tools 11 4 10-11-2019 08:43 AM
Exporting Clips as WAVs, clips dont highlight in list gigantorbuzz Pro Tools 10 6 08-05-2013 02:07 PM
Copy multiple clips? georgepeter macOS 6 03-07-2012 11:02 AM
Drag and copy clips superproducer Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 5 01-08-2006 05:56 PM
how to set up 2 Harddisks and 2 CD-Roms tom_h 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 04-07-2003 02:33 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:18 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com