Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-14-2013, 01:58 AM
Codo Codo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 43
Default Speed Bounce virtual instruments?

Dear forum.

Is it true that you can speed bounce like anything you used to real-time bounce in PT10?
Like if I need to free up some CPU from heavy processing instruments like f.i. Massive or (wrapped) Sylenth?
Can I then just solo the track and speed bounce it?
And it goes for the romulators as well? (Superior Drummer).

PT10HD3 - MacPro 3.1 8core 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-14-2013, 02:43 AM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,789
Default Re: Speed Bounce virtual instruments?

Correct.

Except, you won't be bouncing Sylenth in PT11.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-14-2013, 07:30 PM
Silas Town Silas Town is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: CNY
Posts: 21
Default Re: Speed Bounce virtual instruments?

If you bounce Superior Drummer as a stereo track, yes. If you are doing separate channels
you will have to bounce each part of Superior Drummer ie..kick,snare,toms etc separately
if you will be using the regular version of PT 11. Bouncing from stems/auxes is an HD only feature, which is lame.

I just found this out and suddenly I'm not so excited as I was before.
I'm waiting to see an official comparison of what is HD only and what is not.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-14-2013, 08:09 PM
dave911's Avatar
dave911 dave911 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,454
Default Re: Speed Bounce virtual instruments?

Are all bounces from Aux tracks real-time only for PT11 peon version?
__________________
"In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is." - Yogi Berra
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-14-2013, 08:59 PM
dankin dankin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nashvillle
Posts: 473
Default Re: Speed Bounce virtual instruments?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Silas Town View Post
Bouncing from stems/auxes is an HD only feature, which is lame.

I just found this out and suddenly I'm not so excited as I was before.
I'm waiting to see an official comparison of what is HD only and what is not.
Seriously???? I was already bummed that UAD plugins can't be offline bounced despite the fact that every other daw can. We wait this many years and it's still not right.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-14-2013, 09:00 PM
Kasper Kasper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Boston,MA USA
Posts: 939
Default Re: Speed Bounce virtual instruments?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dave911 View Post
... PT11 peon version...

This should be the official Avid marketing language.
Truth in advertising


kasper
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-14-2013, 11:56 PM
Codo Codo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 43
Default Re: Speed Bounce virtual instruments?

Thanx for all of the interest.

I guess Avid are only in it for the money
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-15-2013, 07:19 AM
Silas Town Silas Town is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: CNY
Posts: 21
Default Re: Speed Bounce virtual instruments?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dave911 View Post
Are all bounces from Aux tracks real-time only for PT11 peon version?
Well no, they don't have to be. You can solo the aux and still do fast offline bounce.
That's fine if you are only doing a single part here or there, but say you have
a multi-output Vi such as EZ Drummer or Superior drummer and you have
the kick, snare, toms, hi hat, overheads,and room parts all routed to their
own aux channel. You would have to solo each of those and bounce them one
at a time if you are using the regular version of PT 11. Even if it's as fast as
they say it is, it's kind of a pain to do all of that to render an entire drum kit
to audio and re-import it.

So far it appears that only in HD 11 you have the option of choosing multiple
tracks/sends/auxes via drop down menus. I can see in that environment
you have hundreds of tracks and you need to consolidate stems it makes
life a lot easier, but there are those of us who don't run those big sessions
that still could use it. With the improved audio engine and VI handling they
are advertising, more folks are already planning on using Pro Tools 11
to do their midi work. I imagine when the reality of it sets in and folks
find out,some aren't going to be happy.

Unless I've missed it, the only mention of this was in Sweetwater's recent
video.

http://youtu.be/XkSQM194bME

It's still very early days yet and we're still over a month away from release.
There's still some details missing and I wanna see an official comparison
chart between the 'vanilla' and HD versions before I drop my money.
I think it's going to be a great release and no doubt I will be upgrading
but I'm also in the position of having to get a new Mac and a new interface
plus a new controller(Avid dropped the Project Mix I/O) so if there aren't
as many features,or none of the ones I could use, I'm not gonna jump
at it right away.

Lets wait and see...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Virtual Instruments Featherstone Pro Tools 10 2 02-04-2013 08:40 AM
Virtual instruments paldry macOS 2 11-23-2011 08:28 PM
Using virtual instruments jamiet macOS 3 07-24-2011 04:20 AM
Lack of fast bounce makes my virtual instruments sad Arkadi Pro Tools 9 32 12-03-2010 04:30 PM
virtual instruments in LE 5.31 XP bojan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 09-29-2003 03:09 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:56 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com