Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-14-2013, 02:11 AM
Codo Codo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 43
Default The new GR meter works how?

Dear forum.

Nice feature. But I wondered how it reacts to a channel with 3 or 4 dyns on it?

Does it just measure the sifference between the origin of the strips sound and the output? Or is it tied up to certain dyns?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-14-2013, 02:30 AM
nigelpry's Avatar
nigelpry nigelpry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Home
Posts: 2,154
Default Re: The new GR meter works how?

I'll take an interest if it turns out I'm going to have access to the feature ;-)

Seriously though ...
1) the wedinar gave no indication that the feature was tied to specific plugins, it gave the impression that it picks up on gain reduction in nay dynamics plugins

2) It can't just be reporting the difference between signal level at inout and signal level at output, can it?

3) Given that in each plugin has its own gain controls, to adjust input gain and makeup gain, the signal level could be the same (but with less dynamics) at the fader as it is before any plugins.

I'm pretty sure that in the webinar they described thevmeter as reporting total gain reduction. Theyvdidn't mention the effect, if any, of makeup gain on this reporting.

What I'd like to know, thinking about it, is how many db of gain reduction has been applied by the totality of the dynamics plugins on the channel, regardless of whether this has been subject to makeup gain boosts.

As a non-techy, I've been assuming that somewhere in the aax specification includes the plugin reporting how much gain reduction it has applied. If that's the case, the gain reduction is, most likely, simply adding together the information reported by the plugins, anid displaying this in real time in a meter.

Of course I could be totally wrong. If anyone has good knowledge of exactly how it works, I'm interested to know.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-14-2013, 02:30 AM
DUCHUNTER DUCHUNTER is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 231
Default Re: The new GR meter works how?

It is reported to give you a total of GR reported by all dyn procs on that channel, as well as be selectable to show only GR from a particular plug.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-14-2013, 05:43 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,528
Default Re: The new GR meter works how?

There must be some kind of a "message queue" between plugs and the mixer. So all the gain reductions reported on the message queue would just be added together.

So far, I have no idea whether it is total gain reduction or will that be affected if some plugin adds gain for some reason. Remains to be seen. But I would guess it's only gain reductions.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-14-2013, 06:43 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,780
Default Re: The new GR meter works how?

Keep in mind that it is HD only.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-14-2013, 07:19 AM
nigelpry's Avatar
nigelpry nigelpry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Home
Posts: 2,154
Default Re: The new GR meter works how?

or included in a new, shortly to be announced, CPTK3? ;-)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-14-2013, 07:21 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,528
Default Re: The new GR meter works how?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nigelpry View Post
or included in a new, shortly to be announced, CPTK3? ;-)
Very funny
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-14-2013, 08:35 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,553
Default Re: The new GR meter works how?

Ultimately it doesn't matter as GR is GR. Gating, Expansion, Compression all the look the same on a GR meter. So it's going to be the culmination of all of them.

Would it be cool to be able to toggle through each one to see what plug is doing what??? Yeah, but I bet that would require a lot of extra coding and I'd be surprised to see it in this release.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-14-2013, 09:14 AM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: The new GR meter works how?

I would think its a cumulative value. Its possible that changing the meter type will change its ballistics.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
why external vu meter/ plug-in vu meter differ? sjtae macOS 8 06-06-2012 06:50 PM
Inserts affecting send meter but not channel meter? Kbrinson85 Windows 1 05-01-2012 08:00 AM
Mbox 2, Input works, sound for non-protools works... rmiller9969 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 08-13-2011 05:13 PM
PTHD8 cpu meter vs task manager cpu meter MEAT Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 5 01-02-2009 06:17 AM
It Works! My Protools system works!!! Woooooo Hooooo!! Siberian 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 03-19-2003 09:48 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:35 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com