Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-25-2014, 08:34 AM
Talisker Talisker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Hannover, Germany
Posts: 272
Default Waves license not found after Waves update

After downloading a waves demo and therefore updating to waves 9.0, my old licenses are no longer found. PT asks for the 8.0 plugin folder on startup, even if I direct it there, it is not being recognized. Do I need PT 11 to use waves 9.0 ?

thanx for any help. All infos about my system are in the signature
__________________
Mac Mini 205 Ghz Intel Core i5, 8GB Ram, OSX 10.8.5, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, Pro Tools 10.3.9, Glyph hard drive 750GB
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-25-2014, 08:43 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,778
Default Re: Waves license not found after Waves update

PT10 works fine with Waves 9. You must have inadvertantly done something when downloading the demo.

The Waves installers include an uninstaller, I would use that and uninstall everything Waves on your computer. Then re-download your existing version 8, or whatever it is.

Remember that with Waves installers, you can select only what you want to install.

If you have trouble with a demo, you can call them and get support as well.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-25-2014, 11:32 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,167
Default Re: Waves license not found after Waves update

Unlike Waves v8, Waves v9 (and up) does not use iLok for authorization. Use the Waves Licensing Center to put the (new) v9 license on your hard drive or a regular USB stick.

Cheers,
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-25-2014, 12:05 PM
Talisker Talisker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Hannover, Germany
Posts: 272
Default Re: Waves license not found after Waves update

Ah, that at least seems to be the right approach to the problem. Looks like I would need to update my plugins to use them with Waves 9. So I think I will go back to 8 since right now I see no reason to invest the money for the update.
But thanx for the right idea.
__________________
Mac Mini 205 Ghz Intel Core i5, 8GB Ram, OSX 10.8.5, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, Pro Tools 10.3.9, Glyph hard drive 750GB
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-26-2014, 01:22 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,191
Default Re: Waves license not found after Waves update

I think you actually *should* upgrade, because as of now, Waves does not require surrendering your v8 iLok licenses and by simply re-WUP'ing you get another set of v9 licenses. Then you decide which version you use.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-26-2014, 10:14 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,778
Default Re: Waves license not found after Waves update

But the bottom line is that you shouldn't need to update all your plugins, just to try a current v.9 demo. I'm 99% sure that it's not needed.

Again, give them a call and they will help you through this.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Waves license (TDM-> SoundGrid) sjtae RTAS & TDM Plug-ins 16 08-29-2013 07:16 PM
WTB: Waves 5.0 License _Nexo_ Buy & Sell 0 08-06-2012 01:40 PM
Not enough space on Waves only ilok to download Waves update 7 crizdee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 38 11-09-2009 06:19 PM
waves platinum plug-ins nowhere to be found villagesound Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 12-12-2007 10:58 AM
WAVES Protools7 update and Waves tech support x9blade 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 11-11-2005 07:24 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:13 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com