Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > ProControl, Control|24, Command|8

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-04-2019, 02:57 AM
Aesgarth Aesgarth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4
Default Control 24 power supply failure - blown resistor

Can anyone tell me the value of R1 on the control 24 power supply board? (the skynet version) - I've been asked to attempt to repair one and R1 has obviously blown, to the extent that I can't read the details off it. I've attached a photo.

I realise the resistor is likely to be a symptom rather than the cause of the failure but all the other components appear ok, from a quick visual inspection.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20190104_104504.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	60.1 KB
ID:	11247  
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-04-2019, 06:30 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,458
Default Re: Control 24 power supply failure - blown resistor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aesgarth View Post
Can anyone tell me the value of R1 on the control 24 power supply board? (the skynet version) - I've been asked to attempt to repair one and R1 has obviously blown, to the extent that I can't read the details off it. I've attached a photo.

I realise the resistor is likely to be a symptom rather than the cause of the failure but all the other components appear ok, from a quick visual inspection.
Hi,

Ive got a spare in front of me but there's no way to view any values on it, ive tried close up photos from both sides but nothing viewable i'm affraid.

Unless i can somehow measure mine for you.

Ive got various documents for the control 24 but no schematic unfortunately.


Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club_Build A Tower top 20 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-07-2019, 01:09 AM
Aesgarth Aesgarth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4
Default Re: Control 24 power supply failure - blown resistor

If you have a multi-meter available to you, and could test the resistance of R1 that would be immensely helpful.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-07-2019, 08:24 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,458
Default Re: Control 24 power supply failure - blown resistor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aesgarth View Post
If you have a multi-meter available to you, and could test the resistance of R1 that would be immensely helpful.

Hi,


Ok i tried to measure it on the boards obviously. It seems to be a Varister not a resister... google search suggests it should be removed to read correctly. my meter reads at 200 or 2000 and at the 2000 settings it is showing variable resistance but seems to favor around .400 to .500 but it does move around a lot.




Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club_Build A Tower top 20 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-08-2019, 02:19 AM
Aesgarth Aesgarth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4
Default Re: Control 24 power supply failure - blown resistor

Thanks for that. Can you confirm that the one in your board looks similar to the blown one in my picture?

if it does then I think it's a 10SP010 Thermistor to limit inrush current.



Unfortunately I think I have bigger problems than that as I have continuity between +5v and GND pins
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-08-2019, 02:32 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,458
Default Re: Control 24 power supply failure - blown resistor

Hi,


__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club_Build A Tower top 20 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-10-2019, 02:50 AM
Aesgarth Aesgarth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4
Default Re: Control 24 power supply failure - blown resistor

Thanks for that, I appreciate it. It does look similar, however having replaced it with what I thought it was i'm still blowing fuses and have blown another thermistor.

I also replaced Q1 which is a 20N60S5 Mosfet, as that was shorted between all 3 pins but I'm just about out of ideas now
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-22-2019, 01:07 PM
scotsman scotsman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Scotland
Posts: 362
Default Re: Control 24 power supply failure - blown resistor

Hi

I had exactly the same problem last year with my Control 24 when it blew after a power cycle. The Thermistor was blown so I tried to source a replacement then I found the company Avanti Power Repairs Ltd, 35A Rowan Road, Tadley, Hampshire, RG26 3RQ, UK
+44 (0) 1189-820 911
sales@avantipowerrepairs.co.uk

They did the repair in a week for £95 plus carriage and vat, just took the supply out the Control 24 package it up and sent it to them. Came back packaged better than I sent it.

Good luck
Scotsman
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-22-2019, 01:11 PM
scotsman scotsman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Scotland
Posts: 362
Default Re: Control 24 power supply failure - blown resistor

Here is a picture of the blown Thermistor
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Control 24 power Supply Thermistor.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	37.5 KB
ID:	11318  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blown Fuse Digi 002 Power supply liamMo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 03-08-2013 08:51 AM
Control 24 Power Supply Failure bigstribs ICON & C|24 1 06-23-2010 11:56 AM
Power supply failure on PCI Chassis.. ckerian Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 06-22-2010 11:21 AM
Magma Power Supply Failure Signs guitar012001 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 01-16-2010 06:39 AM
DIGI 02r power supply blown again supafuzz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 01-06-2007 05:42 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:56 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com