Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools | First Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-30-2018, 07:45 PM
Gyrobob Gyrobob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Newnan, Ga
Posts: 6
Default Pro Tools First installed, but just minimizes to task bar,.. unusable

After maybe 30 hours spent over a few weeks trying to install Pro Tools First, it looked like it finally did install today.

However, when I start to study the tutorials to learn how to use it, the whole thing just minimizes down to the task bar. When I click on the Pro Tools taskbar icon to maximize it, it just dings and won't do anything.

If I close it out, I can reopen it, but in short order it just minimizes again and won't do anything other than just ding.

How do I fix this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-30-2018, 07:49 PM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,321
Default Re: Pro Tools First installed, but just minimizes to task bar,.. unusable

Empty the DVD drive.
Welcome to the forum.
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-30-2018, 07:57 PM
Gyrobob Gyrobob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Newnan, Ga
Posts: 6
Default Re: Pro Tools First installed, but just minimizes to task bar,.. unusable

That worked!!

Why did it work? I had an old Have Gun Will Travel dvd in it. When I took it out, I was able to maximize Pro Tools First. How come?????
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-30-2018, 08:01 PM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,321
Default Re: Pro Tools First installed, but just minimizes to task bar,.. unusable

Stick around, you'll pick up a lot of things like this and better. Make sure to read the pinned threads and always use the search tool before starting a new thread, chances are someone else already posted about the same problem.
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-30-2018, 09:02 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 12,062
Default Re: Pro Tools First installed, but just minimizes to task bar,.. unusable

CD's and DVD's inside the optical drive wreak havoc with PT and many people have had this happen and other various weirdness when they have a disc in the optical drive.

Thank You Andrei for the great help here on this problem. Good call
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools has become unusable for me for years now ShikiByakko Pro Tools 2018 31 05-30-2018 03:05 AM
New to PT, installed 12... so slow, it is unusable... josephhand Pro Tools 12 16 04-30-2016 05:07 PM
Plug-in GUI minimizes PT WilliebSR Pro Tools 12 0 04-20-2016 01:38 AM
Reason, Pro Tools 8, OS X 10.5.7 Unusable tmanoff 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 07-19-2009 11:07 AM
Leopard Command M Minimizes Edit Window !!! TommyT Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 08-14-2008 07:15 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:07 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com