Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools | First Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-23-2018, 11:40 PM
hill1006 hill1006 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Thailand
Posts: 8
Default Can't unzip Pro Tool First 2018.7--missing or invalid data

Hi all, I'm totally new to DAWs. I'm trying to download and install Pro Tools First 2018.7. The first time I tried it, the download seemed to complete normally. But when I tried to unzip the folder, I got an error message. A screen shot is attached.
I have now downloaded the software 3 more times (using both Chrome and IE), and each time I get the same error.

Any help would be most appreciated! Basic details of my computer are below; I can provide more as needed (running Sandra as I type this).

Don Hill

Lenovo Yoga 910-131KB
16 GB installed RAM
64 bit OS, x64-based processor (Intel Core i7-7500U CPU @ 2.70 GHz)
Windows 10 Home version 1803
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ProTools-error.jpg (40.2 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-24-2018, 06:29 AM
64GTOBOY's Avatar
64GTOBOY 64GTOBOY is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Houston
Posts: 730
Default Re: Can't unzip Pro Tool First 2018.7--missing or invalid data

Try turning off anti virus before downloading and download to your desktop.
__________________
Dell XPS 8900 i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz 32 Gig Memory:Seagate 2 TB,1TB,4TB,500gb EVO OS Windows 7 Ultimate
PT 2019.6 Native through A&H Qu-32
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-24-2018, 10:49 AM
hill1006 hill1006 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Thailand
Posts: 8
Default Re: Can't unzip Pro Tool First 2018.7--missing or invalid data

Thanks for the suggestion! I turned off Norton antivirus and also Malwarebytes protection, downloaded again, and tried to unzip, but I'm still getting the same error.

Don Hill
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-24-2018, 08:01 PM
jselor jselor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Santiago
Posts: 11
Default Re: Can't unzip Pro Tool First 2018.7--missing or invalid data

Try using Winrar.
__________________
Windows 10 64 bits.
Focusrite 2i2 1th Gen.
8GB RAM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-24-2018, 09:49 PM
hill1006 hill1006 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Thailand
Posts: 8
Default Re: Can't unzip Pro Tool First 2018.7--missing or invalid data

Bingo! Winrar worked! Thanks very much, jselor! I went ahead and bought Winrar because it seems like a nice utility to have.

Don Hill
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reamping with 11r & Pro Tool 2018 shultzee13 Eleven Rack 2 03-10-2018 03:43 PM
Midi in Pro Tool 12 2018 RobJKennedy Pro Tools 12 3 02-03-2018 06:22 AM
Invalid data box kiranphalke Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 1 02-25-2012 10:10 PM
Data is Invalid? arb 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 10-21-2003 12:35 AM
Cannot install 001 on WinXP Pro, Data invalid for device driver??..HELP!! cazfair 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 11-22-2002 04:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:32 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com