Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-01-2002, 11:45 PM
Boom Chic Boom Chic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Los Angeles CA USA
Posts: 727
Default Best way to stress/test my 9600/G3 PT system with OS 9.1?

I just upgraded my system software from 8.6 to 9.1 and I was wondering if there is a way to "put it to the test" and stress it out to iron out any bugs/conflicts etc. with Pro Tools.

My system is:
9600/350 Newer G3 500/250
PT 24 Mix Plus vers 5.0.1 (have 5.1.3 in box, but want to get OS 9.1 steady first).
Premiere 5.1c
888/24
USD
MiroMotion DC 30 plus driver vers. 1.2.1
ixmicro dual monitor card driver 2.00.616
orangemicro dual USB/firewire (not yet installed).

Thanks.
__________________
Karen Basset
Boom Chic Studios
Los Angeles, CA 90048
karenbasset@hotmail.com
http://www.boomchic.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-02-2002, 11:33 AM
Boom Chic Boom Chic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Los Angeles CA USA
Posts: 727
Default Re: Best way to stress/test my 9600/G3 PT system with OS 9.1?

Boy, no replies yet,huh. [img]images/icons/confused.gif[/img]
Let's bump it up and try again.

Are there any unnecessary extensions/control panels I can get rid of?

I did OS 9.1 base extension set and just checked the Digi, QT, Miro, ixmicro, stuff I absolutely need for working with Pro Tools and Premiere (for capture).

Any extensions I should be wary of in 9.1?

Thanks.

P.S. (I did a clean install, after first trying the "easy" install and getting all kinds of "finder unexpectedly quit" errors on startup! No more errors after clean install. [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]
__________________
Karen Basset
Boom Chic Studios
Los Angeles, CA 90048
karenbasset@hotmail.com
http://www.boomchic.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-02-2002, 01:47 PM
mmyers mmyers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Mesquite, TX USA
Posts: 27
Default Re: Best way to stress/test my 9600/G3 PT system with OS 9.1?

I'm running Pro Tools 5.1.1 on a Power Mac 9500. Like you, I have an accel card (Sonnet G4/450). I tried upgrading to OS 9.1 last fall. I spent about 40-60 hours of time trouble shooting all kinds of crashs,freezes and general mayhem. I junked it all and went back to good ol' reliable OS 8.6. I swear I'll use that operating system as long as I can on this computer. Good luck and I'd be interested in knowing how it all turns out for you.

Mike M
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-02-2002, 03:38 PM
Redbeard Redbeard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 209
Default Re: Best way to stress/test my 9600/G3 PT system with OS 9.1?

I am using 9.0.4 very successfully on my 9600/Sonnet G3 500 Mix+++ system. When I tried 9.1 I had lots of problems. Don't do it. If you want to try, go to 9.0.4 or to 9.2.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-02-2002, 03:50 PM
Matt Stutter Matt Stutter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Wellington, NZ
Posts: 571
Default Re: Best way to stress/test my 9600/G3 PT system with OS 9.1?

Guys, you're a bit late in the day to be offering help like that. Boom Chic spent some time last month asking about what OS to use, and she had enough people saying "use 9.1" that she went for it..

As for the guy with the G4 upgrade card, that's known not to work with Pro Tools - so I'm not surprised it spat tacks. But, maybe those bugs were fixed later???

I use 9.1 (with a 9600 and a Sonnet G3|300), it's more than stable.... Os 8.6 makes opening files and sessions (the dialog box to pop up) very slow with PT5.1 - hence the need for OS 9.

Anyhow, back to Boomchic's questions - I'd go through the extension list and strip out extensions for items you don't have or use - ie: the nvida graphic card stuff, Quickdraw 3D "hardware acceleration" stuff, any USB extensions for mp3 players you don't have. And for a pro tools only set I'd strip out TCP/IP and network stuff (unless you use one when in PT). Oh, any internet stuff, Microsoft things...

Other than that, if it works - it works. Load up some hard core sessions and go nuts with recording, punching in, scrubbing video - editing crazy stuff... Oh, use the "take pop up option" thing too..
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-02-2002, 04:49 PM
Boom Chic Boom Chic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Los Angeles CA USA
Posts: 727
Default Re: Best way to stress/test my 9600/G3 PT system with OS 9.1?

Thanks everyone! 9.2 doesn't work on a 9600.Upgraded or not. Unless you want to do some hacks, but not a good idea working with Pro Tools.

Thanks Matt, I'll do some more "stripping down" of the extension set I use while working with Pro Tools, nix the microsoft stuff, internet stuff, already did the Nvidia stuff, hadn't done the 3d accelleration or TCP/ip, nor the USB. I'll make a bare naked extension set, I'm just not sure sometimes what stuff is "required" and what is just fluff.

Things were working pretty well on Tues. after I did the "clean install" and some extension stripping, but I haven't had a chance to really "test" the system yet. Hope the darn thing boots tomorrow so I can get to work. As soon as the system is stable, I'll install PT 5.1.3 and cross my fingers, (or hold the middle one up high). [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img]

Thanks again for all the info everyone.

Matt, what is the "take pop up option"? Is that something in OS 9.1? I honestly haven't had a chance to surf around the new system and get a feel for it.
__________________
Karen Basset
Boom Chic Studios
Los Angeles, CA 90048
karenbasset@hotmail.com
http://www.boomchic.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-03-2002, 05:09 PM
Matt Stutter Matt Stutter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Wellington, NZ
Posts: 571
Default Re: Best way to stress/test my 9600/G3 PT system with OS 9.1?

When you record a few takes with the same start time - as you "option + click" with the hand it should give you a "take pop up list" and you can choose your takes...

I think the feature has been available for sometime...

It's way cool for ADR. You have to play a little with some of the options to make it work REALLY well - something about edits taking action on takes or something...

Anyhow, sounds like it's working well for you...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-05-2002, 12:38 AM
Boom Chic Boom Chic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Los Angeles CA USA
Posts: 727
Default Re: Best way to stress/test my 9600/G3 PT system with OS 9.1?

Thanks Matt,

I actually have been using this option, I didn't know what it was called. I just recently worked with a music engineer (in training for post) and I suggested this pop up list to him for tracking vocals, he didn't know about it.

Thanks again. [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
__________________
Karen Basset
Boom Chic Studios
Los Angeles, CA 90048
karenbasset@hotmail.com
http://www.boomchic.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 10 stress test results - DON'T believe the hype... Steve Gates macOS 12 02-25-2012 01:52 PM
PT9 stress test? sneakyimp Windows 24 07-17-2011 02:17 AM
A PT stress test? Inthewoods 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 08-27-2010 06:32 AM
Mac Pro 8-Core = 406 Mono Dverb inserts! My stress test. MindDead 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 07-27-2007 12:50 AM
Another PTLE Stress Test- "DaVerb Bounce Test" BioFeedback 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 02-11-2004 05:48 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:07 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com