Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-13-2016, 08:56 AM
Carl Lie Carl Lie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New York City
Posts: 1,059
Default Serious Bug in 12HD

I've been dealing with this since upgrading.

Whatever I'm working on, if I take a break and leave 12.4HD open (typically an hour), when I come back and press play it's all of a sudden looking for a sync.

I end up having to close the session which then brings on the spinning beach ball of death and then a force quit.

If I look at the clock source it says internal. If i try to reselect internal the beachball comes up with a force quit to follow.

This is BS for a Flagship app.

Carl
__________________
PT 2019.12 HDX OMNI+HDX8x16 -Mac Pro 12 Cores 48 GB RAM OS 10.12.5 - API 16 channel - AMS Neve 16 channel, AMS-Neve-SSL-GML -Pres/Processing, Bock Audio, BLUE Bottle, Neumann, Josephson -Mics, Bogner, Kemper- Guitar, Chandler Zener-Curve Bender Outboard/Master. UAudio, Waves, Plugin Alliance etc.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-13-2016, 11:48 AM
ronwasserman's Avatar
ronwasserman ronwasserman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,850
Default Re: Serious Bug in 12HD

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carl Lie View Post
I've been dealing with this since upgrading.

Whatever I'm working on, if I take a break and leave 12.4HD open (typically an hour), when I come back and press play it's all of a sudden looking for a sync.

I end up having to close the session which then brings on the spinning beach ball of death and then a force quit.

If I look at the clock source it says internal. If i try to reselect internal the beachball comes up with a force quit to follow.

This is BS for a Flagship app.

Carl
I've only had this issue IF one of my spinner drives went to sleep. I'm sure you have this disabled in system preferences, but thought I'd just chime in here.
__________________
Ron Wasserman
http://www.ronw.com
http://www.imdb.me/ronwasserman
http://www.fishertheband.com
Mac Pro (Late 2013) 3.5 GHz 6-core Intel Xeon E5 - 32 GB Ram / 1TB Flash Storage - Avid HD I/O - Latest Mac OS - HDX3 - Latest PT Version.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-13-2016, 12:36 PM
jeff markham's Avatar
jeff markham jeff markham is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 810
Default Re: Serious Bug in 12HD

I was going to suggest the same.

In Energy settings, choose "Prevent computer from sleeping"
Uncheck "Put hard disks to sleep when possible"
Uncheck "Enable Power Nap"

If that doesn't help, the next thing I would try is altering the clock
master and making sure your doing a full loop sync.

I have a very similar setup and I don't have this problem....

jeff
__________________
Joe Barresi & Tony Shepperd Master Series
http://techbreakfast.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-13-2016, 03:01 PM
Carl Lie Carl Lie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New York City
Posts: 1,059
Default Re: Serious Bug in 12HD

Thanks. I have nothing on sleep but I did have wake for network access so I unchecked that. Let;s see what happens.
__________________
PT 2019.12 HDX OMNI+HDX8x16 -Mac Pro 12 Cores 48 GB RAM OS 10.12.5 - API 16 channel - AMS Neve 16 channel, AMS-Neve-SSL-GML -Pres/Processing, Bock Audio, BLUE Bottle, Neumann, Josephson -Mics, Bogner, Kemper- Guitar, Chandler Zener-Curve Bender Outboard/Master. UAudio, Waves, Plugin Alliance etc.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-14-2016, 08:57 AM
mtung mtung is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 475
Default Re: Serious Bug in 12HD

I've definitely experienced this. Exactly the same behavior.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-14-2016, 10:15 AM
ronwasserman's Avatar
ronwasserman ronwasserman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,850
Default Re: Serious Bug in 12HD

Try this IF you have any spinner drives.

When you come back to your session, click on each drive to open a finder window. Even with the setting to stop drives going to sleep, some still do. Once all the finder windows open, try seeing if PT behaves normally.
__________________
Ron Wasserman
http://www.ronw.com
http://www.imdb.me/ronwasserman
http://www.fishertheband.com
Mac Pro (Late 2013) 3.5 GHz 6-core Intel Xeon E5 - 32 GB Ram / 1TB Flash Storage - Avid HD I/O - Latest Mac OS - HDX3 - Latest PT Version.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-15-2016, 09:45 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,222
Default Re: Serious Bug in 12HD

I never leave a session open for any length of time longer than a bathroom break. I I go to lunch, I close the session(leaving PT open) and never have any issues(but leaving a session open for over an hour often will just lock up for me with previous versions, hence the new habit)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro tools 12hd upgrade questions?? Adupr Licensing & Accounts 33 12-22-2015 06:21 PM
Need help with upgrade decision from 11HD to 12HD TrentWilliams Pro Tools 12 7 11-27-2015 10:46 PM
PT 12HD volume issues mhender Pro Tools 12 11 09-16-2015 01:35 AM
Wanna knows what's new in PT 12 and PT 12HD?... Justin1524 Pro Tools 12 0 09-03-2015 02:18 PM
ProTools 12HD does not see Intensity Pro esparza audio Pro Tools 12 1 04-05-2015 12:47 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:42 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com