Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-31-2016, 03:03 PM
Satus2112 Satus2112 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 5
Default Lost Activation Card for 003 Rack+

Ok so I'm an idiot...

Back in January 2010 I purchased a Digi 003 Rack+ Factory bundle. It came with Pro Tools 8.0.0 DvD wallet and an Ilok key with the Eleven rack and Joe Meek and some other plugin stuff. I still have the Digi 003 the DvD Wallet and the Ilok key but some where along the line I lost the activation card.

I didn't think this was too big a deal though because I registered my Digi and Pro Tools 8 on what was then the 'My Digi' account. And I got the free upgrade to Pro Tools 8.0.3. My Macbook still has 8.0.3 installed and I remember registering it.

Fast Forward to now, I upgrade to Yosemite (again I'm an idiot) Pro Tools still runs on my system just very very poorly. It works well enough to record with but there's no way I could do any editing or mixing in it's current state. If I go back to snow leopard I have to wipe everything and start fresh.

So then I think how about I install pro tools on my wicked fast Win 7 machine that I like better than my Mac anyways? So I go into the new Avid master account and to my horror my Pro Tools 8 license is nowhere to be found. Only my very first Pro Tools license for 7.3 when I was going to school for audio.

I don't know where to turn, money is tight, I'm currently off work with a back injury and I've been offered a recording project for something to do with the down time and make a little money while I'm off. I can't afford $700 for Pro Tools 12. I'm perfectly happy with 8, I've used it for years and I've got a bunch of sweet plugins for it. I figure no need to fix what ain`t broke ya know?

I bought the Digi 003 at Long & Mcquade and they have a record of the purchase, I phoned them to check and they can reprint the receipt for me. As I said I still have the Digi 003 and can provide the serial #. I realize I'm stupid for losing it but I thought it was safely registered.

Any advice or assistance anyone could offer would be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-31-2016, 03:21 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,276
Default Re: Lost Activation Card for 003 Rack+

Was the Pro Tools LE 8 authorization code not printed inside the cover of the getting started guide?

The installer can be gotten from here: http://secure.digidesign.com/service...rticleId=43353

Run the 803 full installer followed by the 805 updater.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.4.

Pro Tools HD Native 2020.3, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-31-2016, 03:26 PM
Satus2112 Satus2112 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 5
Default Re: Lost Activation Card for 003 Rack+

I'm sure it is but I don't think I still have the Getting Started guide I just have the little cardboard DvD case that says ASY, TK, PRO TOOLS 8.0 LE DVD WALLET on the back with the bar code. I feel so dumb for losing that guide, I've moved a bunch of times since then and it just got lost in the ether. I was certain I registered though so I thought I could retrieve it online.

Thanks for the links! that's definitely a step in the right direction.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-31-2016, 03:29 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,406
Default Re: Lost Activation Card for 003 Rack+

Yes, Serial Number starting with DIGI00 is all that's required to authorize PT up to 8, no iLok needed except for any third party plug-ins that require the iLok. The DIGI00 number should be on the inside of the first (cover) page of the Getting Started Guide.

Cheers,
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-31-2016, 03:30 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,276
Default Lost Activation Card for 003 Rack+

There used to be a "Recover lost LE auth code" link in our Avid accounts. See if it's still there and try it. If that doesn't work, start a support case via your account.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.4.

Pro Tools HD Native 2020.3, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-31-2016, 03:32 PM
Satus2112 Satus2112 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 5
Default Re: Lost Activation Card for 003 Rack+

Ok, Thanks Top Jimmy for you advice I started a support case. I'll check for the recover lost LE auth code.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-31-2016, 03:44 PM
Satus2112 Satus2112 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 5
Default Re: Lost Activation Card for 003 Rack+

Ok so I did some digging through all my crap and Lo and Behold I found my getting started setup guide. Thanks for telling me where to look. I thought this was long gone! so relieved to find this! thanks a million!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-31-2016, 03:48 PM
Satus2112 Satus2112 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 5
Default Re: Lost Activation Card for 003 Rack+

Alright...new problem I go to activate my product and it says my Auth Code is invalid...probably cause I already registered it I guess...? I guess I need avid's help to sort this out hopefully the case I started will resolve it.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-31-2016, 06:06 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,276
Default Lost Activation Card for 003 Rack+

You enter the auth code into Pro Tools LE the first time you run it.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.4.

Pro Tools HD Native 2020.3, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-31-2016, 06:28 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,276
Default Re: Lost Activation Card for 003 Rack+

I think I'm remembering now that you had to run 803 first to authorize before running the 805 updater. I seem to recall that something went screwy if you installed the update before authorizing the full install.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.4.

Pro Tools HD Native 2020.3, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lost activation card, before activation jachodun macOS 1 01-15-2015 08:04 PM
Lost plug-in bundle activation card. kuresubliminaughty Getting Started 2 12-29-2013 09:43 AM
Lost Activation Code - PLEASE HELP!!! katiemfisher Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 05-17-2010 09:24 AM
Lost my serial / activation. rune_sm 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 09-03-2008 11:07 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:26 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com