Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-24-2018, 08:52 AM
klaukholm klaukholm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Copenhagen/Stockholm
Posts: 236
Default Windows 7? (solved)

I just found out that the new Eucon does not support win7. This is a serious issue. Windows 7 remains the most stable platform for several daws. Logical would be to support 7 and 10 and skip 8 and 8.1.

Please do this right and reinstate Win7 support otherwise I just wasted a lot of money on two S3 controllers and docks

EDIT:
Info was from this avid doc, and is wrong. Eddie got me up and running!

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...-Compatibility
__________________
Pyramix Masscore
PTHD 12
HDX connected to Merging Horus IO
Euphonix 5MC
Avid S3

Last edited by klaukholm; 03-27-2018 at 11:29 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-26-2018, 08:11 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is online now
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,658
Default Re: Windows 7

Where do you hear/see that ? its not true.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-27-2018, 07:59 AM
klaukholm klaukholm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Copenhagen/Stockholm
Posts: 236
Default Re: Windows 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
Where do you hear/see that ? its not true.
Looking for it now, some PDF doc said only 8.0, 8.1 and 10. Will try to find for you to correct.

On all of our Win 7 systems the latest installer will not unpack. Same file works fine for the Win 10 systems.

Any idea why this could be happening?
__________________
Pyramix Masscore
PTHD 12
HDX connected to Merging Horus IO
Euphonix 5MC
Avid S3
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-27-2018, 08:08 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is online now
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,658
Default Re: Windows 7

Its not a zip file so not sure what you mean ? Can you screen grab the error ?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-27-2018, 08:13 AM
klaukholm klaukholm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Copenhagen/Stockholm
Posts: 236
Default Re: Windows 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
Where do you hear/see that ? its not true.
Here:
http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...-Compatibility

Quote:
Workstation Compatibility:
Mac OS 10.10.3 or higher, including macOS High Sierra 10.13
Window 8, Windows 8.1 or Windows 10
__________________
Pyramix Masscore
PTHD 12
HDX connected to Merging Horus IO
Euphonix 5MC
Avid S3
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-27-2018, 08:14 AM
klaukholm klaukholm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Copenhagen/Stockholm
Posts: 236
Default Re: Windows 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
Its not a zip file so not sure what you mean ? Can you screen grab the error ?
Whan you click it, it does not recogninze the extension and makes you search for software to open file. Can start a system to get screengrab for you
__________________
Pyramix Masscore
PTHD 12
HDX connected to Merging Horus IO
Euphonix 5MC
Avid S3
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-27-2018, 08:33 AM
klaukholm klaukholm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Copenhagen/Stockholm
Posts: 236
Default Re: Windows 7

Photo too large,
Error is:
"unable too find software to open this file:"
__________________
Pyramix Masscore
PTHD 12
HDX connected to Merging Horus IO
Euphonix 5MC
Avid S3
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-27-2018, 08:35 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is online now
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,658
Default Re: Windows 7

Sounds like you have the Mac .dmg file
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-27-2018, 10:08 AM
klaukholm klaukholm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Copenhagen/Stockholm
Posts: 236
Default Re: Windows 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
Sounds like you have the Mac .dmg file
Nope, it is the 110mb file and lists as EUCON_WorkstationUnifiedInstallWindows_18_3_0_244_ 10

Link to screenshot here:

https://nam04.safelinks.protection.o...%3D&reserved=0
__________________
Pyramix Masscore
PTHD 12
HDX connected to Merging Horus IO
Euphonix 5MC
Avid S3
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-27-2018, 10:31 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is online now
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,658
Default Re: Windows 7

You have truncated the file name. It should be EUCON_WorkstationUnifiedInstallWindows_18_3_0_244_ 101992.exe Windows doesnt know what extension it is.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 10 minimise Windows problems (Resolved) spock999 Pro Tools 2018 2 02-22-2018 11:51 PM
Audio glitches with Fast Track Ultra on Windows 10 after updating Windows 10 GregS FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Win) 6 12-25-2015 03:40 PM
Windows Guide - Windows 7 Optimizations and Troubleshooting.[349411] cwsand 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 08-12-2010 01:46 PM
Is standalone Windows Audio Drivers v8.0.3 compatible with WINDOWS XP 64 ? VonHelvete 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 03-28-2010 10:01 AM
Windows server 2003+windows resource manager. odysseys 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 06-20-2003 10:02 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:55 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com