Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 12-17-2014, 06:47 AM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,353
Default Re: Auto-Tune 8!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shan View Post
It means lower than the lowest of low. Just wait until "Ultra Cloud Computing" becomes a marketing buzz word.

Shane
But first, we will have:
Cloud computing II
Cloud computing III
Wide cloud computing
__________________
- John

If a MIDI event triggers a sample of a tree falling and there's no one there to hear it, does it make a sound?
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 12-17-2014, 06:58 AM
Table Syrup Records's Avatar
Table Syrup Records Table Syrup Records is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1,485
Default Re: Auto-Tune 8!!

I think Antares may have had some major issues with AAX of at least certain plugs

I had bought the AT Evo from Antares during a sale - didn't really need it cause I have other options, but I never had it working right. Emailed and called support - they just gave up... didn't even really try hard to get me going with it - it was like they knew there was a major problem with it....

It gets better - first they let me pick a different plug - so I grabbed Mic Modeler.... issues with that

Then they let me pick another, so I grabbed the Harmony Engine - which I really don't like....

They ended up refunding my payment and letting me keep Harmony Engine... lol (I'll sell it, I never use it, really don't like how it sounds)

Yeah.... I just stick to my Waves Tune .... I love it... I love the workflow and flexibility of it. And best of all, it actually works and sounds great lol :)
__________________
Shorty: Table Syrup Records

Mac Pro 5,1 3.33 GHz Hex, 32GB
EFI Flashed - 5 GT/s Modded 7950, Dual Apple 23"
OSX Sierra
Pro Tools HD 11.2.2
Waves IOS, IOX, STG2412
Extreme Server (x2)
Logic Pro X, DSP Quattro, Final Cut Pro X
Waves Mercury+SSL+AbbeyRoads
Trident S65 with embedded US-2400

Live:
2012 Mac Mini, Dual SSD, i7 2.4, 16GB
Win 10, OSX Sierra
LV1, MRSG
Hardware from above (same gear)
Dual Dell P2418HT Touch Screens
Waves Icon X (x2), M, with Screens
Custom enclosure
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 12-17-2014, 07:14 AM
RyanC RyanC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 640
Default Re: Auto-Tune 8!!

So does this actually work?

AT7 AAX has been fairly useless here I only use the audiosuite version, especially with the manual correction getting out of sync and all of a sudden causing something to jump down/up an octave etc. I actually lost a client over it (was his first time in).

In multiple emails antares only said "turn of dynamic plugin processing" and "consolidate all audio files" and when those don't work they stop responding. After all that I'm hesitant to buy anything from them, but to be honest if I could pay the upgrade and have it *actually* work I would do it.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 12-17-2014, 08:41 AM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,793
Default Re: Auto-Tune 8!!

Ultra is a common term. Does it not apply here? What is the latency of AT8? Is it extremely low for this type of software? That would make it ultra low.

Anyone wondering about the popularity of AT, just turn your radio on. The algorithms have gotten better at hiding the synthetic effects but that hasn't stopped producers/engineers from creating unnatural vocal performances which scream out "I'm using a crutch!"
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 12-17-2014, 09:54 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,122
Default Re: Auto-Tune 8!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew Mazurek View Post
Which no other earlier version of AT required.



AT7 was such a step backwards. Glad to see the company acknowledge that and make fixes.

Yep. I submitted bug reports but didn't get a get-out-of-jail-free card and now I have to decide whether to pay for the upgrade or not. These fixes should have been AT7for what it's worth...
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 12-17-2014, 10:52 AM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,353
Default Re: Auto-Tune 8!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Table Syrup Records View Post
I think Antares may have had some major issues with AAX of at least certain plugs

I had bought the AT Evo from Antares during a sale - didn't really need it cause I have other options, but I never had it working right. Emailed and called support - they just gave up... didn't even really try hard to get me going with it - it was like they knew there was a major problem with it....

It gets better - first they let me pick a different plug - so I grabbed Mic Modeler.... issues with that

Then they let me pick another, so I grabbed the Harmony Engine - which I really don't like....

They ended up refunding my payment and letting me keep Harmony Engine... lol (I'll sell it, I never use it, really don't like how it sounds)

Yeah.... I just stick to my Waves Tune .... I love it... I love the workflow and flexibility of it. And best of all, it actually works and sounds great lol :)
I bought a bundle that has 5 plugins in it about a year ago, I think it was called vocal express. It was really cheap, I forget the exact price but low enough that I didn't think twice about buying it. There were issues getting an installer working with my license, which I think they solved, but then it still didn't work right after that. I forget the exact problem I had with it, but I gave up with hopes an update would fix it. I guess I'd rather see them make plugins that actually work and charge more, instead of having these crazy low prices on stuff that just gets abandoned.
__________________
- John

If a MIDI event triggers a sample of a tree falling and there's no one there to hear it, does it make a sound?
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 12-17-2014, 01:34 PM
RyanC RyanC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 640
Default Re: Auto-Tune 8!!

Did anyone get the demo to work in PT11?

I'm getting the error "this plugin is not 64 bit and will be moved to the unused plugins folder". Tried trashing prefs etc, I'll do a permissions repair and see if anything changes.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 12-17-2014, 01:36 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,923
Default Re: Auto-Tune 8!!

Same thing happened here

It feels like the joke is on me here ...
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 12-17-2014, 01:38 PM
RyanC RyanC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 640
Default Re: Auto-Tune 8!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Yep. I submitted bug reports but didn't get a get-out-of-jail-free card and now I have to decide whether to pay for the upgrade or not. These fixes should have been AT7for what it's worth...
Agreed. At least they should have released a version of 7 that actually worked with 11 and held sync properly. I tried all the stuff that the recommend, consolidating files and disabling dynamic processing in 11 and it's been nothing but a dog. Only audiosuite version usable (what is this, 1995?).

Even AT live. Put it on two different tracks with the same audio and listen to how the PC on those two tracks is not even close to each other. WTH.

I would give up on them all together but I still like the way AT sounds in the top octaves better than anything else. Revoice Pro sounds pretty good but I don't like the workflow as much.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 12-17-2014, 03:08 PM
WorldStudios WorldStudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 811
Default Re: Auto-Tune 8!!

Works for me. Pthdx11.2.2
__________________
Johan Bejerholm
World Studios
Sweden

Phone +46707773443
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Waves Tune and Auto-Tune Unhappy With HDX? Logichead Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 2 11-25-2012 12:42 PM
vocal tune with Auto Tune 5 martin coria Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 17 08-06-2010 10:14 AM
Upgrading Auto Tune 4 to Auto Tune Evo summit01 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 10-16-2008 12:05 PM
auto-tune jrm 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 07-18-2005 11:35 AM
best way to use auto tune 3? thenewnoise 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-26-2003 07:48 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:37 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com