Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-10-2017, 07:09 AM
Spyderrp7 Spyderrp7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 66
Default Intel Turbo Boost Max 3.0

So I just got a new computer with intel 6800K cpu and MSI X99 SLI Plus motherboard. I have installed Pro Tools 12.5 on Windows 10.
There is this new feature called Intel Turbo Boost Max. I am wondering if that would help Pro Tools performance.
Has anyone experience with this dynamic overclocking technology?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-10-2017, 07:32 AM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,851
Default Re: Intel Turbo Boost Max 3.0

Nope, that is specifically one of the things you should disable:http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...oting/en367983

Joel
__________________
Jame Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3570 / 12GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Intel S5000PSL / 2 x Xeon E5450 / 32GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / M-Audio Project Mix IO

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Fender Mustang V 412 / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-10-2017, 09:22 AM
Spyderrp7 Spyderrp7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 66
Default Re: Intel Turbo Boost Max 3.0

Hi Joel!
That optimization suggestion is very old! I remember that one since 2010.
The Turbo Max 3.0, is quite new so I was wondering if it's different and if anyone tried it.
How could I run some tests to check if it's working good and stable with Pro Tools?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-11-2017, 09:36 AM
gnjlee gnjlee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Santa Fe, New Mexico
Posts: 168
Default Re: Intel Turbo Boost Max 3.0

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spyderrp7 View Post
Hi Joel!
That optimization suggestion is very old! I remember that one since 2010.
The Turbo Max 3.0, is quite new so I was wondering if it's different and if anyone tried it.
How could I run some tests to check if it's working good and stable with Pro Tools?
Do you need any more power with that processor? I have a 6900k, and have turbo boost disabled, and have yet to even use more than 25% of my processor.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-11-2017, 10:59 AM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,163
Default Re: Intel Turbo Boost Max 3.0

There really is no harm in trying it. Leave it enabled, run one of your typical sessions through PT and see how your system performs. If you start having issues with CPU spikes or sessions that don't run smoothly, then turn it back off and see if there is an improvement.

Honestly I forgot to disable it with my latest build (i5 7500) and PT runs fine. Also take note that my sessions are typically rather small and use mostly plug-ins with only one or two VIs. Case in point; your mileage may vary ;-)
__________________
Will K

System Details
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-11-2017, 11:55 AM
leftalive leftalive is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 473
Default Re: Intel Turbo Boost Max 3.0

I'd be surprised if it ever even kicked in (with a 6800K) unless you're routinely running Hans Zimmer size sessions.

I turned it off here because I overclocked my 6850K a bit in BIOS, and I don't like the idea of Intel's software deciding what my cores do or don't do.
__________________
PC workstation:
Windows 10 Pro
i7 6900K
MSI GTX 1080ti Armor
32GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3200mhz RAM
Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD (system drive)
Samsung 850 Pro 1TB SSD (sample drive)
MyDigitalSSD BPX 480GB M.2 (work drive)
2 HGST Ultrastar 4TB drives (backup)
LG 34" Ultra-Widescreen monitor
Pro Tools 12.4
A loaf of bread
A stick of butter
A lot of rye whiskey
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-14-2017, 05:40 AM
Spyderrp7 Spyderrp7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 66
Default Re: Intel Turbo Boost Max 3.0

Quote:
Originally Posted by junkgear View Post
There really is no harm in trying it. Leave it enabled, run one of your typical sessions through PT and see how your system performs. If you start having issues with CPU spikes or sessions that don't run smoothly, then turn it back off and see if there is an improvement.

Honestly I forgot to disable it with my latest build (i5 7500) and PT runs fine. Also take note that my sessions are typically rather small and use mostly plug-ins with only one or two VIs. Case in point; your mileage may vary ;-)
I'd be willing to run some tests. Not in a usual session but maybe with tons of D-Verb and sine waves. Could you give me some guidelines or link me to another thread that describes that kind of test maybe?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-14-2017, 10:29 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,091
Default Re: Intel Turbo Boost Max 3.0

Search for the D-Verb 2 test. It's possibly in the i7 thread.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-14-2017, 10:29 AM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,163
Default Re: Intel Turbo Boost Max 3.0

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spyderrp7 View Post
I'd be willing to run some tests. Not in a usual session but maybe with tons of D-Verb and sine waves. Could you give me some guidelines or link me to another thread that describes that kind of test maybe?
A good simple test would be to keep Turbo Boost on, then create a session and keep adding tracks until the session won't run smoothly any more.

Once you hit that point, disable Turbo boost and do the same thing and see if you can add more tracks than before.

I would use one or two audio files. Create a track using one file, add D-Verb to the insert. Add a second track using the second audio file and add D-Verb to the insert. I would also stagger the start times of each track. For example, track one is at bar 1 beat 1, track two starts at bar 4 beat 1, track three starts at bar 8 beat 1 and on and on. This way you can add say 50 tracks, start playing from the beginning and it will keep increasing the load on the system as it runs. Once you get to the point where it won't play smoothly, take note of how many tracks played. This way you can use the session for the second part of your test to see if the CPU setting makes any difference.

You can always add more insert FX or a VI for different session/system loads.


Like The Weed mentioned above, lots use the D-Verb test to stress a system. Go to this like http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=238426 and search for "
The Dverb 2.0 Test", where you'll find how to run it.
__________________
Will K

System Details
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I disabled Turbo Boost and Pro Tools seems more stable jacko Pro Tools 12 4 09-19-2016 03:52 PM
Windows 8.1 Config: Turbo Boost question 23audio Windows 8 08-27-2015 01:26 PM
Intel Turbo Boost causing problems with PT 9? Anyone know how it be turned off? Georgerob Windows 0 11-22-2012 03:13 AM
New Mac Pro Feature - "Turbo Boost" JSR Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 03-06-2009 02:19 PM
Intel Nehalem...Turbo Mode... The Weed 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 08-21-2008 10:03 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:53 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com