Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-21-2018, 01:59 PM
gostudionc gostudionc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 7
Default HELP! Pro Tools suddenly running at snails pace

Hello everyone, I'm in desperate need of advice. I recently upgraded my late 2013 imac from 8gb RAM to 16gb. I noticed it slowing in certain aspects, and decided it was time to upgrade. I just got it back from the shop today. Everything else on the mac is working great! I opened a blank template session (no audio at all, just my tracks template) and pro tools literally couldn't run any slower. It took me 5 minutes to right click the empty click track and delete it.

I was thinking it could possibly be due to bad RAM, but then why would everything else on my system be running so smoothly. Suggestions, advice, ideas? I have the up to date version (2018.04).
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-21-2018, 04:42 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,373
Default Re: HELP! Pro Tools suddenly running at snails pace

Is there a CD/DVD in a drive?
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-21-2018, 04:48 PM
gostudionc gostudionc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 7
Default Re: HELP! Pro Tools suddenly running at snails pace

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Weed View Post
Is there a CD/DVD in a drive?


There is not, no


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-21-2018, 04:49 PM
gostudionc gostudionc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 7
Default Re: HELP! Pro Tools suddenly running at snails pace

There is not, no
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-21-2018, 05:01 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,613
Default Re: HELP! Pro Tools suddenly running at snails pace

From 8 to 16...so you added 8, or replaced all? If you added 8, is the new RAM a perfect match to the old(same brand, speed, part number?). If not, maybe its a mis-match(pull either the new 8 or the original 8GB and see if things get better). If that does make a difference,(and it were me), I would pull all the RAM and get a 32GB kit from OWC
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-21-2018, 05:05 PM
gostudionc gostudionc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 7
Default Re: HELP! Pro Tools suddenly running at snails pace

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
From 8 to 16...so you added 8, or replaced all? If you added 8, is the new RAM a perfect match to the old(same brand, speed, part number?). If not, maybe its a mis-match(pull either the new 8 or the original 8GB and see if things get better). If that does make a difference,(and it were me), I would pull all the RAM and get a 32GB kit from OWC


Had two 4GB, replaced all with two 8 GB (16 total). But still find it strange that only pro tools has slowed. Everything else is moving quick as ever!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-21-2018, 05:07 PM
gostudionc gostudionc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 7
Default Re: HELP! Pro Tools suddenly running at snails pace

Had two 4 GB removed and replaced with two 8 GB (16 total)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just for a change of pace...12.8 running as stable as 12.7.1 for me dr_daw Pro Tools 12 5 06-28-2017 06:13 PM
Why is PACE License Support Service not running on my machine? TheJamsh Windows 20 09-13-2013 08:41 PM
Protools suddenly running uber slow... BassChase 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 15 03-02-2011 07:25 PM
session moves at snails pace...don't know why 1tonstudio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 10-23-2005 05:13 PM
Snails Pace........Why? chris67 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 01-13-2002 04:59 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:32 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com