Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 05-22-2019, 08:41 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,874
Default Re: How to remove plugins from the PT list

I have mostly abandoned IK for just this reason. Too much hassle deleting unwanted plug-ins. I've kept SampleTank and MODO Bass though.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.5 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-22-2019, 09:37 AM
amagras amagras is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,191
Default Re: How to remove plugins from the PT list

IK software is hard to use in several ways, not only the install/auth process is extremely long with lots of steps but for example Syntronic is not intuitive, the buttons change place or they don't always do the same and it has a lot of pages for something that sould be in the main interface. It's the last VI I think about when I need to add some synth parts.
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-22-2019, 01:59 PM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 3,991
Default Re: How to remove plugins from the PT list

Quote:
Originally Posted by amagras View Post
IK software is hard to use in several ways, not only the install/auth process is extremely long with lots of steps but for example Syntronic is not intuitive, the buttons change place or they don't always do the same and it has a lot of pages for something that sould be in the main interface. It's the last VI I think about when I need to add some synth parts.

I agree with most all of the above rantings about IKMM. Their authorization process is just burdensome!


However, I still use the CSR Reverbs. I really like the smooth drum room on drums and a some of the others on certain things. Just a nice clean reverb sound. And I like the White 2A levelling Amp and Black 76 limiting amp. I use on vocals a lot.



But, yeah, CS is a PoS in my opinion. Such a nuisance!
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.12
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-22-2019, 02:39 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,164
Default Re: How to remove plugins from the PT list

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonaldM View Post
I agree with most all of the above rantings about IKMM. Their authorization process is just burdensome!


However, I still use the CSR Reverbs. I really like the smooth drum room on drums and a some of the others on certain things. Just a nice clean reverb sound. And I like the White 2A levelling Amp and Black 76 limiting amp. I use on vocals a lot.



But, yeah, CS is a PoS in my opinion. Such a nuisance!
Of all the IKMM stuff I have those two compressors are the only things I really still use. Their Echoplex emulation used to get major love from me until I got EchoBoy from Soundtoys.

The one that really disappointed me was IK's emulation of the Mutron III envelope follower. Takes WAY too much level to get the thing to work and even then it sounds like ice pick in the ear. And I should know first hand how the real thing sounds as I worked for the company back in the day when they were on the farm in Rosemont NJ. I did final test/checkout and repair on not just that but their phaser. The Bi-Phase was in development when I was there. The two memorable pieces of test equipment I had were a Fender Twin Reverb and a Strat. One of the tests was to play through every box that went out to make sure it worked as it was supposed to. Let's put it this way - if I ever put the kind of signal into the real h/w box like the IK emulation needs the effect wouldn't work like it's supposed to and you'd blow out the circuitry.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-25-2019, 01:36 PM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 3,991
Default Re: How to remove plugins from the PT list

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
... One of the tests was to play through every box that went out to make sure it worked as it was supposed to. Let's put it this way - if I ever put the kind of signal into the real h/w box like the IK emulation needs the effect wouldn't work like it's supposed to and you'd blow out the circuitry.

But other than that....
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.12
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-25-2019, 04:33 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,164
Default Re: How to remove plugins from the PT list

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonaldM View Post
But other than that....
True.
It was a cool job though. I just wish they'd been able to see things through. I know that someone else picked up on what we did in hardware; not sure if it was EH or whomever.

As an aside but related:
A few years back I was in the local Guitar Center and they had a Mutron III in a showcase of used stompboxes. The salesdroid I talked to didn't know anything about it other than to say that it seemed to be dead. I asked if I could try it out nonetheless. When I plugged it in I immediately knew what the problem was - it needed a new opto isolator and that no one had anything to directly replace it. When I told him that he asked 'how do you know that?'. With the same tears in my eyes as I type this I said: 'because I worked for the company' and there were tell-tale signs from the way I had replaced the opto all those decades ago. You never forget one of your children

Sorry for going off the rails.............
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-29-2019, 02:57 AM
amagras amagras is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,191
Default Re: How to remove plugins from the PT list

That's so cool! Did you buy the Mutron III finally? I've had such a bad luck finding a good envelope filter, they all sound too perfect now.
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-29-2019, 03:43 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,164
Default Re: How to remove plugins from the PT list

Quote:
Originally Posted by amagras View Post
That's so cool! Did you buy the Mutron III finally? I've had such a bad luck finding a good envelope filter, they all sound too perfect now.
Sadly no but I wish I had. Would have been a great project for those cold winter nights. I've not tried any of the current crop of stompbox envelope filters so can't speak to that but I remember when I had an extensive pedalboard they just didn't have the mojo I was looking for and was in my hearing memory.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't delete projects (or remove from my project list) Boombatty Pro Tools 2018 1 06-05-2017 11:33 AM
How to Remove Pro Tools Plug-ins from Application Manager List? taylor4814 Pro Tools 12 1 12-24-2016 01:12 AM
Field Recoder - remove mandatory matches with clip list noiseboyuk Post - Surround - Video 4 05-18-2015 03:17 AM
How to remove inactive plugs from list? visionstudios Pro Tools 10 1 02-18-2013 03:18 PM
Remove unused audio tracks from region list MaLa 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 10-11-2005 02:47 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:05 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com