Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-07-2017, 12:24 PM
reflixtinian reflixtinian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: san jose
Posts: 11
Default Antelope Orion Studio Thunderbolt Problem 12.7

I'm having this problem, along with other fellows
I'm running PT12.7 , (same happened with 12.6)
Mac Pro late 2012 , Mac OS Sierra.

The problem happens when switching between pro tools sessions recorded at different sample rates, Let's say I open a 48K session, I close it and open a 44,100 HZ one, the clock won't update automatically...(on the Orion)

That can cause to record (accidentally) 48.000khz audio in a 44.100khz session etc etc. You won't notice any audio problem until the clock updates tho the correct sampling rate.

Other DAWS like logic and cubase make Orion's clock update.I don't see why pro tools doesn't.

Any similar experience or solution?




(last page)

https://www.gearslutz.com/board/prod...l#post12487712
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-07-2017, 05:59 PM
climber climber is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: North Conway, NH
Posts: 329
Default Re: Antelope Orion Studio Thunderbolt Problem 12.7

I've also seen this in PT 7. I've taken to leaving the Orion CP open all the time so I can change the session SR quickly. I can always immediately tell if the SR is off so it's just an inconvenience. that said I'm pretty certain that this was working prior to 12.7.
__________________
__________________
Al Hospers
bass, vocal, composer, engineer

CleverSounds Recording

------------------------------------------------------
OS X Mojave, Late 2013 MacPro, 6 core, 64 GB RAM, Orion Studio , PT2020.9.1, Slate Raven MTi, ISA428, ADL600, Distressor, Grace 501, Dimedio, Obsidian, One LA, BAC500, Harrison 32 EQ, UAD2 OCTO, Focal 6 be, Auratones...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-08-2017, 08:24 AM
reflixtinian reflixtinian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: san jose
Posts: 11
Default Re: Antelope Orion Studio Thunderbolt Problem 12.7

I also leave Orion Studio's control panel open all the time, and I turn the unit off from the control panel as well, I hope Avid reads this, by the way I had the same problem with pro tools 12.6 I'm now using 12.7.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-08-2017, 10:10 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,408
Default Re: Antelope Orion Studio Thunderbolt Problem 12.7

Some 3rd party interface drivers will allow Pro Tools to change the Sample Rate, others won't. I have an RME UFX and I have no issues changing the Sample Rate from within Pro Tools, however, I can't change the Buffer Size. Being that I can change the Sample Rate and you and others with a different 3rd party interface can't, would seem to indicate that it's up to the 3rd party interface's drivers to allow this, not Avid.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Antelope Orion wwittman Pro Tools 12 17 02-28-2019 05:31 AM
Antelope Orion and Dangerous Source issues. joeboisits Pro Tools 10 3 05-26-2015 02:34 PM
Pro Tools 9 latency with Antelope Orion 32 mkosacek Pro Tools 9 3 09-05-2013 07:13 PM
Antelope ORION, BURL B2 ADC, SSL MX 4-16, Focal CMS-50, Focal CMS SUB Imagine Buy & Sell 14 05-09-2013 01:42 PM
Antelope Orion - any users? johnsimmons macOS 0 02-24-2013 03:49 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:27 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com