Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-19-2011, 03:47 PM
Rajin Rajin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3
Default Downgrading Pro Tools M-Powered 9 to Pro Tools M-Powered 8

Hello,

I purchased Pro Tools M-Powered 8 and a Mackie Onyx 820i mixer with the universal driver to allow me to use pro tools m-powered 8. Having registered my product I found that I was eligible for Pro Tools M-Powered 9; so I did the download as well as the new iLok license only to find that when I tried to start up pro tools I was getting a "unable to locate hardware" message. After spending a full day trying to resolve the issue, reading forums etc. I realised that my mackie onyx 820i is not compatible with pro tools m powered 9 leaving me with a pretty hefty paperweight with knobs on. So my predicament is this: How can I downgrade back to my previous version of Pro Tools M Powered 8 & previous iLok license?
Also I should add that I purchased pro tools mp 8 but the disc was faulty, I used my complimentary asc code to contact avid & I was sent a download link ie. I'm not able to re-install from disc. Any help is appreciated.

Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-19-2011, 03:58 PM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: Downgrading Pro Tools M-Powered 9 to Pro Tools M-Powered 8

As far as I know, you forfeited your PT8 license when you upgraded to 9.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-19-2011, 04:37 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,829
Default Re: Downgrading Pro Tools M-Powered 9 to Pro Tools M-Powered 8

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dism View Post
As far as I know, you forfeited your PT8 license when you upgraded to 9.
That was my understanding also (forfeit PT8MP asset on iLok to get PT9MP asset). You should have upgraded to Protools 9 at $349 (not the Protools 9 M-Powered version at $249) to be able to use non M-Audio interfaces. It cost $100 more but was the right thing to do. Your best bet is to contact Avid customer service and see if there is anything they can do for you. As far as I know, there is no upgrade/crossgrade from PT9MP to PT9. They might be willing to let your return the PT9MP upgrade towards the purchase of the full PT9 ($599). At this point, all you can do is ask since you can't use your software nor your hardware together.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.15.6 running Protools 2020.9.1
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mac osx, m powered fast track, pro tools m powered singdance6 Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 2 12-22-2010 09:24 AM
Importing Pro Tools 5.1 (PC) tracks to Pro Tools M-Powered 8.0.3 (Mac) flash_usb Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 3 11-02-2010 05:27 PM
Please Advise are Pro Tools M-Powered Essential the same as LE M-Powered? jeremiah0812 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 10-19-2010 10:10 AM
Opening a pro-tools HD session on a windows Pro-Tools LE M-powered system rhodamorgan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 09-21-2010 05:31 PM
Reading Pro Tools 6 Files on Pro Tools 7 or 8 M-Powered Systems longmansleep Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 05-08-2010 03:09 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:56 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com