Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-05-2007, 12:20 PM
Yig Yig is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 8
Default Digi 001 issues with Tracktion 2.1

I have just installed a Digi 001 on my new computer AMD 4400 Dual Core w/ 2 gig of ram. I have used this unit previously on my old machine with success AMD 1100 1gig of ram. Normally I use a Tone Port UX2 to record with Mackie’s Tracktion 2.1. This works flawlessly for me. BUT…… now I need to record more than 2 tracks at a time, welcome my trusty Digi 001.

I was able to get it installed on my Dual Core, which has XP Home on it. I used the 6.1 Asio Drivers. I went into Tracktion’s settings and set the input for the 8 analog channels of the Digi 001. Everything is fine, so….. I started by trying to record with just 2 tracks enabled after about 5 seconds I get an error message saying “The audio playout device has unexpectedly stopped..” At that point I went into the Latency settings and set it to 46.4 milliseconds (2048 samples). I tried to record again with just 2 tracks enabled and still got the same error message. Tracktion has the option to use ASIO direct mode, so I chose that and still no difference.

I normally can play back 40 tracks with effect with no problem with my Tone Port UX2, so I’m a little frustrated. I really need to record 8 tracks simultaneously. Any help would really be appreciated.

Thanks in Advance
Gor
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-05-2007, 08:56 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,716
Default Re: Digi 001 issues with Tracktion 2.1

You may just be expecting too much from an outdated piece of hardware and newer software.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-06-2007, 10:54 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,407
Default Re: Digi 001 issues with Tracktion 2.1

A Dual Core and a Digi001? That's problematical in and of itself regardless of whether the computer is compatible with Pro Tools. You did check the compatibility documents I trust.

First, you probably have XPSP2. That requires PTLE 6.4cs6 AND 6.4cs9 AND the latest PACE drivers to work properly with PTLE. 6.4 is the last version for the Digi001. Not sure if there is a newer 6.4 ASIO driver or not.

Then, because PTLE 7x is the first version to take advantage of multiple CPU's, you'll have to turn off one core before using PTLE. You may also have to turn off one core before using the Digi001's ASIO driver with another program, although I'm not sure about that. You'll have to update first and then try it and see.

Or you can upgrade to a Digi002 Rack or Digi003 Rack using the latest PTLE software and ASIO drivers. Since the 003 came out 002's have been discounted.

Or, if you don't need Pro Tools, you can move on from Digidesign and get a different AD/DA interface. RME has a good reputation in the Windows world. Or you can stay with Digidesign, but get an M-Audio interface.

Cheers,
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ProTools 9.0.5, iLok issues, Digi 003R+ issues zachbot Pro Tools 9 6 10-12-2011 08:19 PM
Digi 003 Issues adaglio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 11-01-2007 06:06 PM
PTLE VS. Tracktion: PTLE so slow to load plugins! rossscarbro 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 01-25-2005 09:38 PM
anyone tried tracktion? work with PT? samrisio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 01-06-2005 08:17 AM
Mackie Tracktion-Free Severe 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 11-22-2004 09:04 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:33 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com