Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-19-2009, 09:23 AM
marcioguitar marcioguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: New York City - USA
Posts: 224
Default PT 8.0.3 and SL nightmare

After upgrading to SL and PT 8.0.3 yesterday my life became a nightmare, a lot crashed all over the place, this remembers me when you guys released 7.4 version, I am getting a lot buffer sizer errors, I already switched to the highiest buffer size when playing back and it keeps crashing, also I switched the number of processors and still crashing, I still keeping it at 3 processors since I have a Quad core machine. Also I started to get inumerous hard driver cannot keept up errors, the same external HD that I have been using before upgrading without a single issue before. Also midicore folder starts to bounce on screen everytime I turn my machine on and very dificult to turn my machine off at this point because midicore folder keeps coming up and preventing from shutdown freezing it. I tought that stability was one of the greatest advantages of PT 8 specially with SL, any toughts??
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-19-2009, 09:29 AM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,913
Default Re: PT 8.0.3 and SL nightmare

Sorry to hear about your nightmare. I see that you've check most of usual suspects (buffer settings, reduce number or processors, etc.) What about your plugins? Any third party plugins? I know, these probably worked before. Did you upgrade from 8.0 or 8.0.1. Did you also upgrade to SL at the same time?
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.15.7 running Protools 2020.12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-19-2009, 09:46 AM
marcioguitar marcioguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: New York City - USA
Posts: 224
Default Re: PT 8.0.3 and SL nightmare

Thanks for your feedback.
I upgraded from 8.0.1, first I upgrade Leopard to SL and after I upgraded PT.
As far plugins goes I have everything up to date, the ones that I am having trouble at this point is Strike and Hibrid, both with graphics problems even after downloading SL versions. Waves, Sonnox other major ones all working fine. I will trash preferences folder and see what happens.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-19-2009, 10:11 AM
therecordinghouse therecordinghouse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Fort Wayne, IN.
Posts: 1,094
Default Re: PT 8.0.3 and SL nightmare

did you do the "upgrade" for SL, or a fresh install? i would highly recommend backing up your data and doing a fresh install.
__________________
Lynn Graber
Studio and Mobile Recording, Fort Wayne, IN.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-19-2009, 11:20 AM
Concerttom Concerttom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: San Diego, Calif.
Posts: 120
Default Re: PT 8.0.3 and SL nightmare

Have you repaired disk permissions? They say you should do that every time you install new software on a Mac.
__________________
MacBook Pro, OS 10.6.2, Intel Core 2 Duo, 2.6 GHz, 4 GB Memory, 003 Factory, PT LE 8.0.3, G-Tech G DRIVE Q 1TB HD

-------------------------------------------

'Wave of the future, Dude. One hundred percent electronic.' -- J. Treehorn
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-19-2009, 11:38 AM
Final Lap Guy Final Lap Guy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: L.A.
Posts: 141
Default Re: PT 8.0.3 and SL nightmare

I'm with you on this. I've even had problems that you haven't mentioned that Digi has acknowledged and say they are working on.

Seriously considering going back to my G5 running 8.0.1 and ditching my brand new 27" iMac for the time being. It'll be slow as molasses, but it will be stable.
__________________
iMac i5 Quad Core 27"
8 Gigs Ram / 1T internal HD
Lion 10.8.2
2X - 1T External HD with Mercury Elite Pro Enclosure
MBox 3 Mini
ProTools Express 10.3.3

The Final Lap
http://thefinallap.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-19-2009, 01:29 PM
tamasdragon tamasdragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hungary
Posts: 2,190
Default Re: PT 8.0.3 and SL nightmare

Have you updated your air intruments as well? There are some separately downloadable update for them.
Also, after the upgrade, have trashed prefs and databases? And repair permissions on your system drive?

I have a upgraded system which is not a clean install, and have zero problem.
__________________
my blog:Tamas Dragon
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-19-2009, 03:05 PM
RaySoul RaySoul is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: L.A.
Posts: 823
Default Re: PT 8.0.3 and SL nightmare

Quote:
Originally Posted by marcioguitar View Post
Thanks for your feedback.
I upgraded from 8.0.1, first I upgrade Leopard to SL and after I upgraded PT.
Do you have a PT8 disc? Or did you get PT8 as a download? If download, your going to SL first might be part of the problem...
__________________
"I'm not really HoboSoul™, but I play him at the DUC..."
Mac Pro 12Core 3.46G (5.1) | 64G Ram OSX 10.11.6 | PTHDN/OMNI/Apogee Duet(non Avid) 10.3.6 / 11.3.1

Need mixes, mastering, guitar, keyboard or bass parts added to your tracks? Need custom songs/music written and produced for special occasions? Check out The Soundz Shop. Great work by pros with multi-platinum experience at excellent prices...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-19-2009, 03:20 PM
Sturphy Sturphy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 172
Default Re: PT 8.0.3 and SL nightmare

FWIW - I made this same move, to SL, then to 8.0.3LE. I spent about an hour in an unhappy, unstable state and just felt like it wasn't worth it to me to troubleshoot. Went back to Leopard and 8.0.1. I had my old build ready to go if things went weird, and they did! Now I'll try 8.0.3 with Leopard and see how that goes.

Again, just for what it's worth...

Sturph
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-19-2009, 03:29 PM
nod25 nod25 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: BrisVegas, AUS
Posts: 1,013
Default Re: PT 8.0.3 and SL nightmare

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sturphy View Post
Now I'll try 8.0.3 with Leopard and see how that goes.
Please let us know how that goes!
__________________

--------------------------------------------------


Why do people keep running over a string a dozen times with their vacuum cleaner, then reach down, pick it up, examine it, then put it down to give the vacuum one more chance?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
More PT 10 nightmare notedmusic Windows 18 05-23-2012 12:04 AM
Help me with my nightmare tomyco 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 12-01-2011 08:53 AM
Nightmare or not ! French links 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 05-24-2008 04:34 PM
OMS nightmare HELP drumbar Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 01-23-2003 12:30 AM
PCI BUS NIGHTMARE! byteme 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 12-10-1999 07:16 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:42 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com