Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-10-2007, 12:53 PM
sebamars sebamars is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 48
Default Protools and Linux someday?

Hi

I've been away from the DCU for a while, and it's possible that somebody asked this before.

Anyway, my question is:

Shall we have someday the possibility to REALLY choose what OS to use on our computers?

I mean, it will be fantastic to have the chance of using Pro Tools over a Linux platform if we want to, for example over the UBUNTU version of Linux. I've seen it in action and it's very reliable.

Any comments?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-10-2007, 02:37 PM
Andres Gonzalez Andres Gonzalez is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 123
Default Re: Protools and Linux someday?

I too would like to see PT available on linux--especially now that Microsoft is pushing Vista. I am currently running PT HD on XP and would like to move my platform to a quad processor system. But I will not upgrade to Vista so the only option for me seems to be make a culture change and move to a Mac. I have been using linux for years, really like it and wish linux was an option for PT. However, I do not think Digi will ever port PT to linux--I just do not think there is enough interest in it for them to justify the development cost and expense associated with supporting another platform.

Digi, if you do port PT to linux, I would use it.

-Andres
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-11-2007, 12:41 PM
sebamars sebamars is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 48
Default Re: Protools and Linux someday?

Thanks for your comments.

Do you know any Windows emulator for Ubuntu-Linux?

I've heard that using one of those you can run Winapps like Photoshop. Maybe it's worth trying the same emulator to run ProTools don't you think?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-11-2007, 01:30 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Protools and Linux someday?

I dont think there will be any Linux suport for PT anytime soon, Not enough mass market interest. The plugin devolpers will all commit mass suicide if yet another OS/Platform is introduced

I'm not exactly sure what ethical challanges are presented by running a dongle authorized program on a OS under the GPL all that pretty much run contary to what Linux and Open Source programs are all about.

There may be some legal challanges about what Codecs you could legally use too.

From what I understand PT will run fine under WINE in Linux, with the resulting performance hit that comes with emulation. I Haven't tried it-to techical for me.

Ubunto is good stuff though. I LIKE the idea of a version of PT that you install to its own partitition and that brings ita own custom compiled audio OS with it.

Linux is great in many ways but the the lack of support for Modems and Soundcards is still its achilles heel and continues to be a problem 10 years or so after its introduction.

Word is that a certain emerging DAW WILL be ported to Linux once its Mac Beta is released. It's shiny new code makes the port much easier.

PT Free will never be released open source to much of the code base is in current use from what I understand

Digi support ended for PT free awile back and the the PT Free forum has been locked from new post since back in April or May.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-11-2007, 08:51 PM
AltissimoFreak AltissimoFreak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 80
Default Re: Protools and Linux someday?

Nope, won't ever happen. Don't even think about asking.

Doesn't matter if there is mass market support or not (there's more than you might think). Digidesign is already in bed with Microsoft AND Apple. There's no room left in that relationship.

And even if someone DID manage to get Protool running on Linux under one of the Windows emulators, Digi would shut them down with a massive law suit and probably something close to a lifetime of hard labor in a distant off world mining operation for violating the Protools user agreement, and Digidesign's IP copyrights.

Besides, why would you want to use such an awful operating system as Linux? I mean we already have the two best operating systems ever: Windows XP and Mac OS X. Both give you everything you could ever want: faultless security, access to every option in the OS that you could possibly ever want to change, high end hardware requirements, extremely narrow hardware compatibility, countless widgets and auto-loading utilities to eat up your system resources, and best of all, they look like some elementary school coloring book! Oh, and don't forget that they both will help keep your wallet thinner, so you don't strain yourself by carrying around so much extra cash!

Nope...Don't hold your breath that Protools will ever run on Linux.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-11-2007, 09:24 PM
AltissimoFreak AltissimoFreak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 80
Default Re: Protools and Linux someday?

Quote:
I'm not exactly sure what ethical challanges are presented by running a dongle authorized program on a OS under the GPL all that pretty much run contary to what Linux and Open Source programs are all about.

There may be some legal challanges about what Codecs you could legally use too.
Under Section 9 of the Open Source Definitions by Bruce Perens, Open Source Software cannot contaminate other software.
Quote:
9. License Must Not Contaminate Other Software.

The license must not place restrictions on other software that is distributed along with the licensed software. For example, the license must not insist that all other programs distributed on the same medium must be open-source software.
The Gnu Public License is different from Open Source software. It is one of the licenses recognized by the OSS definitions, but not the only one.

Just because a piece of software runs on Linux, doesn't mean that it has to be Open Source, or licensed under the GPL, BSD, or other licenses recognized by OSS.

Yes, most software for Linux is Open Source, and most of that falls under the various Gnu licenses. And the Linux community does tend to frown upon not respecting the OSS definitions, and the GPL. But, there are lots of companies selling proprietary software for Linux--mostly in the enterprise level corporate IT field.

But there is some fairly high level video editing software that is Linux based, and sells for LOTS of money...ever hear of Smoke...or Rave HD by SpectSoft...or maybe some of the projects undertaken by Industrial Light and Magic.

The market is there. Digidesign has just chosen not to take advantage of it.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-14-2007, 03:06 AM
Stiff Stiff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Lund, Sweden
Posts: 4,101
Default Re: Protools and Linux someday?

I think it would be interesting if Digidesign made their own OS out of an existing Linux distribution. They could customize it however they wanted...
__________________
Daily news & reviews
www.ProToolerBlog.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-14-2007, 01:07 PM
sebamars sebamars is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 48
Default Re: Protools and Linux someday?

First of all, thanks for all your comments.

I think that what we are talking about isn't impossible. I'm a PT fan, I like the software and the hardware that Digidesign makes. I use PT everyday, at least 8 hours per day. I would only like to have the possibility of choosing what OS to run on my computer, and not to be pushed to one only choice (WIN XP) or to a completely shift of platform (MAC running MAC OSX).

Sebastian
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-14-2007, 04:08 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Protools and Linux someday?

Quote:
I think it would be interesting if Digidesign made their own OS out of an existing Linux distribution. They could customize it however they wanted...
They can't keep what they have patched let alone maintain a OS

I keep praying that they will make OSX available for PC, which come to think of it just as likely as PT on Linux.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-14-2007, 09:27 PM
Bob Olhsson's Avatar
Bob Olhsson Bob Olhsson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Songwriter Gulch, Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,351
Default Re: Protools and Linux someday?

OSX happens to BE a flavor of Linux under the hood.
__________________
Bob's room 615 562-4346
Georgetown Masters 615 254-3233
Interview
Artists are the gatekeepers of truth! - Paul Robeson
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ProTools for Linux? Kerra_ General Discussion 0 11-14-2004 10:44 AM
m box usb 2.0? maybe someday? neatguys 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 04-21-2004 02:39 PM
MultiClient Driver, Someday? gloobert Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 04-21-2003 07:30 PM
what about Linux and ProTools??? Eddiex 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 03-02-2003 10:49 AM
24bit, 96k someday? Peter Steinbach General Discussion 0 04-28-1998 02:33 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:55 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com