Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  ē  Community Terms of Use  ē  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  ē  Community Search  ē  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 05-17-2018, 12:17 AM
WorldStudios WorldStudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 723
Default Re: Softube Release MKII Version Of Tube Tech Channel

I never warmed up to the TC one, but have always loved the Softube one. I have the hardware as well. The new Mk2 is next level. It just sounds more real, clear and what I think it is supposed to sound like. When I compare to v1, I hear issues that never bothered me much in the past, but now they can't be unheard. Same goes for the eqs, though the difference is more subtle. I paid up before even testing it. I use these plugins in all my sessions and think the upgrade was money well spent. Well, at least until I realised they were no longer AAX DSP. That pissed me off, but I can still use v1 in a pinch.
__________________
Johan Bejerholm
World Studios
Sweden

Phone +46707773443

Last edited by WorldStudios; 05-17-2018 at 12:28 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-17-2018, 02:57 AM
Stephen Bond's Avatar
Stephen Bond Stephen Bond is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Posts: 871
Default Re: Softube Release MKII Version Of Tube Tech Channel

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgoorevich View Post
Not sure though I am convinced to pay an outrageous upgrade fee for the mk2.
At the end its just another compressor among so many.
They did the Native Instruments discount and upgrade trick by selling the MK1 product at a discounted price shortly before bringing out the upgrade (for an additional price). I've been done like this by NI once or twice and it feels more than a little unsavoury.

Agree about the upgrade cost. I prefer to buy plugins at this price these days, not just an upgrade.

Stephen
__________________
Save an additional 10% off any purchase at Waves!

http://www.waves.com/r/djgsi6
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-17-2018, 03:55 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,516
Default Re: Softube Release MKII Version Of Tube Tech Channel

For me... Perhaps, if it were DSP.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools HDX~HDN 2018.4
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-17-2018, 09:01 AM
WernerF WernerF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 3,029
Default Re: Softube Release MKII Version Of Tube Tech Channel

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOM@METRO View Post
For me... Perhaps, if it were DSP.

Yup, totally agree with the DSP part. More and more of the few developers that support it are bailing on us. It’s really a shame! What can you do though. Avid screwed the pooch on DSP. I still have this opinion no matter that they say it’s not their fault. And they’ve been in financial trouble because their moneymaker isn’t selling. And those of us that are stuck with this system because it suits our workflo are kinda screwed too. The fact that the music pros that need DSP are left in the dust makes it all kind of sad really. Native is fine for some but not all.

Last edited by WernerF; 05-17-2018 at 09:14 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-17-2018, 09:09 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,241
Default Softube Release MKII Version Of Tube Tech Channel

Quote:
Originally Posted by WernerF View Post
Yup, totally agree with the DSP part. More and more of the few developers that support it are bailing on us. Itís really a shame! What can you do though. Avid screwed the pooch on DSP. I still have this opinion no matter that they say itís not their fault.

Same feeling.

It would be cool if they could/would subsidize the development of some more high profile plugs.

This and donít insist that a HDX plug run natively

Letís use 2 diff installers, make it easier for the devís not harder
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


Why hasn't track folders been implemented yet? - (big : P.O.S. , apart)

Last edited by YYR123; 05-17-2018 at 09:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-17-2018, 11:59 AM
ejsongs ejsongs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: los angeles
Posts: 408
Default Re: Softube Release MKII Version Of Tube Tech Channel

Call me crazy but i just picked up an hd native card...gonna throw it in my chassis with hdx and see if it will work...i've got an omni here that is not in use so what the heck...

if i can run both systems then it at least solves the lack of a dsp version of auto tune. I am seeing the writing on the wall. with a lack of support for hdx by 3rd part developers...hdx will die...

Avid needs to do soemthing and fast.

ej
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-17-2018, 08:48 PM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,845
Default Re: Softube Release MKII Version Of Tube Tech Channel

Quote:
Originally Posted by ejsongs View Post
with a lack of support for hdx by 3rd part developers...hdx will die...
IMO Avid were flogging a dead horse on its release already.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ejsongs View Post
Avid needs to do soemthing and fast.
Yep, call the coroner....the thing is gettin smelly!
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Gigabyte X99 SOC Force Mobo Bios vF6d
Intel Core i7 5930k socket 2011 v3 @ 3.50GHz
32GB DDR4 Crucial RAM
System: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Record: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Samples: Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
Storage: 2x Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Graphics
PT 11HD (v11.2.1) Omni s/pdif w Eleven Rack
HD 96I/O
Win 8.1 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-18-2018, 07:18 AM
WernerF WernerF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 3,029
Default Re: Softube Release MKII Version Of Tube Tech Channel

Quote:
Originally Posted by zedhed View Post
IMO Avid were flogging a dead horse on its release already.



Yep, call the coroner....the thing is gettin smelly!

Donít forget, some people actually need DSP systems. There are things that you absolutely canít do on a Native system, no matter how powerful your computer is.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-18-2018, 07:53 AM
mgoorevich's Avatar
mgoorevich mgoorevich is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tel Aviv - תל אביב
Posts: 1,600
Default Re: Softube Release MKII Version Of Tube Tech Channel

Quote:
Originally Posted by WernerF View Post
Donít forget, some people actually need DSP systems. There are things that you absolutely canít do on a Native system, no matter how powerful your computer is.
In all my pro life I had PT TDM.
Today I see no reason to have an HDX unless you work with 257 and more tracks and no latency monitoring is an issue for you.
I am in post and often get to 200-250 tracks.
But MP 5.1 with HDn still feels sufficient for my needs.
__________________
Michael Goorevich

Sound Designer
/ mixer
www.goorevich.com

PT HD⎪N v2018.4 HD ● macOS High Sierra 10.13.4
MacPro 2 x 2.4 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon ● 24 GB RAM
Avid HD I/O ● Sync HD ● AJA LHi referenced by AJA GEN10 ● D-Command ES24
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 05-18-2018, 10:43 AM
WernerF WernerF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 3,029
Default Re: Softube Release MKII Version Of Tube Tech Channel

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgoorevich View Post
In all my pro life I had PT TDM.
Today I see no reason to have an HDX unless you work with 257 and more tracks and no latency monitoring is an issue for you.
I am in post and often get to 200-250 tracks.
But MP 5.1 with HDn still feels sufficient for my needs.

No latency, or at least not noticeable, monitoring with plugins on the master buss for the "mix as you go" scenario is absolutely necessary for us. Music production with bands or tracking artists is quite different than post work. The no excitement mix while tracking is absolutely unimaginable to us.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Softube Tube-Tech Classic Channel mesaone General Discussion 6 11-15-2014 12:02 PM
WTB Softube Tube-Tech CL 1B Licence Trent W. Buy & Sell 4 03-18-2014 11:51 PM
WTB: Softube Tube-Tech Classic Channel or components RaySoul Buy & Sell 0 02-14-2014 12:57 PM
Softube Tube Tech Classic Channel... Cliffy_Boy Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 5 05-15-2012 04:11 AM
Tube-Tech CL-1B PLugin for $329 from Softube crizdee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 18 10-02-2009 01:41 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:29 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com