Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 07-05-2010, 03:17 PM

Default From Studio to Home PC

I'm a newbie operating on windows vista. I would like to go into a professional studio which uses pro tools to lay down tracks, then bring the data back home and play around with it on my computer. What product(s) should I be looking to purchase?

note: I have an acoustic guitar w/hook up, a fender acoustasonic jr amplifier, and some basic sm57 and sm58 mics. It would be nice to record here as well.

I've read that purchasing a seperate hard drive just for music is ideal. If So are there any that come highly recommended for pro tools, or are they all alike when comparing apples to apples?

I'm also unsure whether or not my sound card will be adequate. Is there a particular one that is also highly recommended?

Answers and/or recommendations to any/all of my questions will be greatly appreciated.
Old 07-05-2010, 05:18 PM

Default Re: From Studio to Home PC

You've got some homework to do

Firstly, you MUST buy a PT interface...your soundcard will not work with PT.

http://www.avid.com/US/categories/Di...o-Workstations

...scoll down to 'Personal Systems and Software' and find one that works for you.

Secondly it's best to build a computer - not a lot of off the shelf stuff likes PT very much. Go here and do some reading...

http://duc.digidesign.com/showthread.php?t=238426

Cheers,

Scott
Old 07-05-2010, 05:25 PM

Welcome Hooh Hearted, as far as user friendly goes, Pro Tools has the best work flow of any DAW. Though I haven't gotten a chance to give Digital Performer a run.
Old 07-15-2010, 04:41 PM

Hi guys thanks for responding.