Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-23-2010, 02:59 AM
mhuang mhuang is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Pasadena, California
Posts: 87
Default intel i7 930 PTLE 9094 hell.... (sandra report incl)

I just finished building my I7 930 pc to run PT and now I am in 9094 hell amongst other odd problems:

1. I am getting 9094 error whenever I tried to play a dense project (I was able to run this project fine on my old q6600 PC)

2. for some reason the Gigabyte X58A mobo assigns slave and master to my SATA drives, and if one of drives (not C) are connected to the Slave sata port window will boot to black screen after the window xp logo loads.

3. installing program or moving files takes a long ass time. I've already double check to make sure all my HD have "enable write cache" checked and "compress drive to save disk space" and "allow indexing service to disk" disabled.


I've already done the xp tweak guide posted on digi's site, I am pulling my hair out on this one!

Here's my sandra report:

SiSoftware Sandra

Computer
Model : Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Workgroup : WORKGROUP
Host Name : pt-pc
User : michael

Processor
Model : Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 930 @ 2.80GHz
Speed : 3GHz
Cores per Processor : 4 Unit(s)
Threads per Core : 2 Unit(s)
Type : Quad-Core
Integrated Data Cache : 4x 32kB, Synchronous, Write-Thru, 8-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing
L2 On-board Cache : 4x 256kB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 8-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing
L3 On-board Cache : 8MB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 16-way, Exclusive, 64 byte line size, 8 threads sharing

Computer
Mainboard : Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
BIOS : Award (Phoenix) FA 04/20/2010
Bus(es) : X-Bus PCI PCIe IMB USB FireWire/1394 i2c/SMBus
Multi-Processor (MP) Support : No
Multi-Processor Advanced PIC (APIC) : Yes
Total Memory : 3.5GB DIMM DDR3

Chipset
Model : Giga-Byte X58 I/O Hub
Front Side Bus Speed : 2x 2.43GHz (4.86GHz)

Chipset
Model : Giga-Byte Core Desktop (Bloomfield) UnCore
Front Side Bus Speed : 2x 2.43GHz (4.86GHz)
Total Memory : 6GB DIMM DDR3
Memory Bus Speed : 2x 540MHz (1GHz)

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : Corsair CM3X2G1600C8D 2GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600 (9-9-9-24 5-34-10-5)
Memory Module : Corsair CM3X2G1600C8D 2GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600 (9-9-9-24 5-34-10-5)
Memory Module : Corsair CM3X2G1600C8D 2GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600 (9-9-9-24 5-34-10-5)

Video System
Video Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce 9400 GT (16 SP 1.4GHz, 1GB DDR2 2x400MHz, PCIe 2.00 x16)

Graphics Processor
Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce 9400 GT (16SP 2C 1.38GHz, 1023.7MB 2x400MHz)
Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce 9400 GT (16SP 2C 1.38GHz, 1023.7MB 2x400MHz)

Storage Devices
WDC WD5000AAKS-00D2B0 (500.1GB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, NCQ, 16MB Cache) : 466GB (F:)
WDC WD5001AALS-00L3B2 (500.1GB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, NCQ, 32MB Cache) : 466GB (E:)
WDC WD5001AALS-00L3B2 (500.1GB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, NCQ, 32MB Cache) : 466GB (C:)
ASUS DRW-24B1ST (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache) : N/A (D:)

Logical Storage Devices
Hard Disk (C:) : 466GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD5001AALS-00L3B2 (500.1GB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, NCQ, 32MB Cache)
BACKUP (F:) : 466GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD5000AAKS-00D2B0 (500.1GB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, NCQ, 16MB Cache)
WORK (E:) : 466GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD5001AALS-00L3B2 (500.1GB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, NCQ, 32MB Cache)
Optical Drive (D:) : N/A @ ASUS DRW-24B1ST (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : Giga-Byte LPC Interface Controller
LPC Legacy Controller 1 : ITE IT8720F
Disk Controller : Giga-Byte 4 port SATA IDE Controller
Disk Controller : Giga-Byte 2 port SATA IDE Controller
Disk Controller : Giga-Byte 88SE91A3 SATA-600 Controller
Disk Controller : Giga-Byte JMB36X PCIE-to-SATAII/IDE RAID Controller
Disk Controller : Giga-Byte JMB36X PCIE-to-SATAII/IDE RAID Controller
USB Controller 1 : Giga-Byte USB UHCI Controller #4
USB Controller 2 : Giga-Byte USB UHCI Controller #5
USB Controller 3 : Giga-Byte USB UHCI Controller #6
USB Controller 4 : Giga-Byte USB EHCI Controller #2
USB Controller 5 : Giga-Byte USB UHCI Controller #1
USB Controller 6 : Giga-Byte USB UHCI Controller #2
USB Controller 7 : Giga-Byte USB UHCI Controller #3
USB Controller 8 : Giga-Byte USB EHCI Controller #1
FireWire/1394 Controller 1 : Giga-Byte TSB43AB23 1394a-2000 OHCI PHY/link-layer Controller
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : Intel 801xx/63xx SMBus

Printers and Faxes
Printer : Microsoft XPS Document Writer (600x600, Colour)

Network Services
Network Adapter : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller - Packet Scheduler Miniport

Power Management
Mains (AC) Line Status : On-Line

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows XP Professional 5.01.2600 (Service Pack 3)
Platform Compliance : x86

Last edited by mhuang; 05-23-2010 at 03:09 AM. Reason: more info
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-23-2010, 03:18 AM
Mork_ Mork_ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 119
Default Re: intel i7 930 PTLE 9092 hell.... (sandra report incl)

@ 2. for some reason the Gigabyte X58A mobo assigns slave and master to my SATA drives, and if one of drives (not C) are connected to the Slave sata port window will boot to black screen after the window xp logo loads.

Have you made sure you C drive is at the top of the list in the hard disk boot priority in the BIOS?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-23-2010, 03:31 AM
mhuang mhuang is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Pasadena, California
Posts: 87
Default Re: intel i7 930 PTLE 9092 hell.... (sandra report incl)

Hi, Mork,

yes, I made sure the OS drive is set to be the first drive that boots.

I've install couple of PCs in the past and have never encountered problem #2...
I am probably gonna end up RMA the gigabyte board and getting an Asus board.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-23-2010, 03:40 AM
misterdmz misterdmz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: TX
Posts: 98
Default Re: intel i7 930 PTLE 9092 hell.... (sandra report incl)

I cleared up 9xxx errors by manualy setting RAM timing per the instructions on the i7 builds sticky:

'AUTO' settings with ram will 'almost always' cause issues...9xxx errors to be specific!!! you should 'always' set your ram to its' correct settings...OC or not. right now if you are runnin' your ram timings outta sync with the ram freq you will probably encounter the 9xxx errors. make sure your ram dimms are in the same colored slots (triple channel mode). read up on how to set your ram freq and timings when usin' triple channel mode. use either the 'MANUAL' or 'PROFILE' settings to select the proper frequency and timings for your installed ram.

A big thanks for that.

Your video card might also be suspect in your problems. Go for 512mb ram or less.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-23-2010, 03:43 AM
mhuang mhuang is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Pasadena, California
Posts: 87
Default Re: intel i7 930 PTLE 9094 hell.... (sandra report incl)

Hey, Mister,

I've set my ram manually to it's 8-8-8-24 setting, and even manually change the dram voltage to match the manufacture suggestion and I am still getting the 9094 error.

I am gonna try to swoop out the video card now, if that doesn't do it, the gigabyte is going back to newegg.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-23-2010, 09:02 AM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,793
Default Re: intel i7 930 PTLE 9094 hell.... (sandra report incl)

There is an entire set of bios tweaks on the first page of the i7 thread that are vital. I would doubt the mb is the problem, the gigabytes have been very tried and true around here. Getting your system dialed in takes a bit and some patience.

Another thing, a 1gb vid card on a 32 bit os w pro tools is huge!! It is pulling some serious ram away from you for use in your system. A 512 max is recomended and a 256 is really the way to go!! Nvidias have generally been steered away from as well. They have been known to be trouble makers from time to time.

Uninstalling and reinstalling pt is sometimes necessary making sure to wipe all traces of it. Sometimes the same w the os has been necessary. Sometimes defragging the c drive can streamline the system a bit as well. Unplugging all other drives but your os and recording drive is recomended to troubleshoot. Do not install the supplied easytune software that came w the mb!!!! Huge issues arise from it, that actually match your problems I believe...
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 6800k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-23-2010, 09:51 AM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: intel i7 930 PTLE 9094 hell.... (sandra report incl)

Also having the incorrect storage drivers installed or having the drives set to the wrong mode in BIOS can cause problems like this.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-23-2010, 01:27 PM
mhuang mhuang is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Pasadena, California
Posts: 87
Default Re: intel i7 930 PTLE 9094 hell.... (sandra report incl)

Quote:
Originally Posted by guitardom View Post
There is an entire set of bios tweaks on the first page of the i7 thread that are vital. I would doubt the mb is the problem, the gigabytes have been very tried and true around here. Getting your system dialed in takes a bit and some patience.

Another thing, a 1gb vid card on a 32 bit os w pro tools is huge!! It is pulling some serious ram away from you for use in your system. A 512 max is recomended and a 256 is really the way to go!! Nvidias have generally been steered away from as well. They have been known to be trouble makers from time to time.

Uninstalling and reinstalling pt is sometimes necessary making sure to wipe all traces of it. Sometimes the same w the os has been necessary. Sometimes defragging the c drive can streamline the system a bit as well. Unplugging all other drives but your os and recording drive is recomended to troubleshoot. Do not install the supplied easytune software that came w the mb!!!! Huge issues arise from it, that actually match your problems I believe...
Hey, Guitar,

I don't have the easy tune software installed.

I've switch graphic cards first to a 512mb one then to a 256mb one and now it's worst.
Everytime Pro tools boots up with the "setting up MIDI" message the PC now turns itself off.
I've tried switch back to the original 1gb card and it does the same thing so something serious FUBAR is happening.

the C drive was a brand new Caviar Black drive, and I've already install xp 2x on it to try to solve this.

I'll try the bios tweak on the i7 thread
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-23-2010, 01:44 PM
dave911's Avatar
dave911 dave911 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,454
Default Re: intel i7 930 PTLE 9094 hell.... (sandra report incl)

What mode is your SATA drive controller set for in bios? Also, which drive are hooked to which controllers?
I would hook all the disk rives to one SATA controller set for AHCI and the DVD to another controller and disable any unused controller.
You can't just change the bios setting to AHCI or XP won't boot, but there are instructions you can google to do it without a reinstall.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-23-2010, 02:17 PM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,793
Default Re: intel i7 930 PTLE 9094 hell.... (sandra report incl)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mhuang View Post
Hey, Guitar,

I don't have the easy tune software installed.

I've switch graphic cards first to a 512mb one then to a 256mb one and now it's worst.
Everytime Pro tools boots up with the "setting up MIDI" message the PC now turns itself off.
I've tried switch back to the original 1gb card and it does the same thing so something serious FUBAR is happening.

the C drive was a brand new Caviar Black drive, and I've already install xp 2x on it to try to solve this.

I'll try the bios tweak on the i7 thread
i would also check these apps, core temp and the dpc latency checker key had some early problems on his build due to bad heat dispersion, and the dpc lat checker, you can find if you have some bad driver issues that could be related to anything from vid card when redrawing or even a mouse and keyboard, seen all kinds of quirks.

have you checked your startup programs and slimmed it down to the necessity. i only have my ati vid card and mme refresh going on startup. could be another program or app causing issues as well. you have completely uninstalled pt and reinstalled it??

i would go back to the 256 vid card. is it ati??? sounds like you have conflicts or corruption going on. have you set the 3gb switch???

i believe most of us doing just basic windows install have our drives set to ide, not ahci which you have to install extra drivers on install or slip stream them later which has not proven to be a gain. maybe some others can verify it is set to ide. no time to fire up the rig right now for me to check.
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 6800k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sandra report vin7 Windows 3 03-26-2014 04:47 PM
PT 8.0.4 MB2 Not recog. Sandra incl. $Paid 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 13 01-02-2011 07:13 PM
Error -9094 What the hell is this? Postkill 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 02-08-2009 01:37 PM
clicks and cracks in audio when i record- sandra report incl Blaztphemer Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 9 06-17-2008 12:08 PM
Sandra Report Help Please JCWarrior 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 04-09-2007 06:52 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:33 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com