Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-27-2019, 11:54 PM
anguswoodhead's Avatar
anguswoodhead anguswoodhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Queensland, Australia
Posts: 88
Default I'm Buying HDX - will I be ok?

So the time has finally come for me.....
I'm running an old 2010 Mac Pro
It's been great at 48k (Orion 32+ via USB 3)
But I've now moved to 96k and she just can't handle it.
So I'm going to purchase a HDX card, Pro tools Ultimate and the Orion HD interface.

Firstly will HDx run on my system - see specs in attachments - yosemite - Mid 2010 Mac Pro

Secondly - When is Pro Tools 2019 due to release? Pretty keen on that

Also I need more than 128 voices / tracks - I heard a rumour that 'voice packs' will be available...
will they work for me on my system?
256 at 96k would be great.

Thirdly - I'll be holding out for the new 3rd Gen Orion HD - anyone know when it's due? And have you had success with the 2nd Gen Orion HD and HDX card?

thanks in advance
Attached Images
File Type: png Screen Shot 2019-01-26 at 7.03.14 pm.png (71.0 KB, 0 views)
File Type: png Screen Shot 2019-01-26 at 7.03.26 pm.png (43.4 KB, 0 views)
__________________
www.facebook.com/GlasshouseStudiosAustralia/

2010 12 Core 2 x 3.33 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon Mac Pro,
OS X High Sierra 10.13.6,
32 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 ECC,
Antelope Audio Orion 32 HD
Pro Tools HDX Card with Ultimate 2019.5
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-28-2019, 12:36 AM
the.engineer the.engineer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Guildford, Surrey, UK
Posts: 207
Default Re: I'm Buying HDX - will I be ok?

Looks like like you've got the basis for a nice system there!

I can't comment about the Orion HD as I have Avid HD boxes. HDX will run fine on your system, I have the single six-core 2010 Mac Pro and I only have 24GB RAM. I have a Raid 0 system with two drives (7200rpm) for my Audio Drive and a PCI based SSD blade for my system drive which has made a HUGE difference.

Regarding the computer though, Avid have stated (and users on here have reported) that 10.10.5 with Pro Tools HD 12.8.1 and an HDX card is very stable. Once you go into and over El Capitan there are CPU errors and GUI lags that can slow down fast editing and you may be limited to high buffer sizes (see HowardK's post) This is possibly to do with the Metal API that Apple introduced in El Capitan, Avid state that Pro Tools isn't optimised for screen resolutions over 1080p.

You'll see from my specs that I run 10.12.6 with 2018.12 with no problems but I've downgraded by 27" 2560x1440 screen for a 1080p screen.

Of course if you now buy the latest Pro Tools tools Ultimate you won't have access to the legacy installers for 12.8.x. So, either upgrade to Sierra or High Sierra (don't bother with El Capitan) If you go to Mojave you'll need a new graphics card (see here) AND you'll need to install High Sierra first to give your Mac Pro a firmware upgrade.

If you're considereing staying at Yosemite I have the installer for 12.8.1 but then of course you'll be playing plugin roulette as Yosemite is now unsupported by a lot of manufacturers.

Bottom line is, and from my experience, if you can handle high buffer sizes (bearing in mind that HDX runs all the audio processing anyway) and the possibility of some screen lag then head over to Sierra or High Sierra and hope and pray that Avid released an update that supports Metal (Appl Graphic API) that fixes all our problems.
__________________
James Welch
Recording Engineer | Producer
Masterlink Productions

Mac Pro 5,1 (Mid 2010) | 3.46GHz Six-Core Intel Xeon | 32GB Ram | AMD Radeon RX 580 8GB | Apple 27" LED Cinema | 500GB Samsung 960 EVO M.2 SSD System Drive | 1TB WDC Sample Drive | 4TB RAID 0 Seagate Audio Drive | UAD-2 Quad PCIe
Mojave 10.14.5 | Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.5 | HDX | Avid Omni | Avid 16x16 HD I/O x2 | Digidesign 192 | Digidesign C24
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-28-2019, 01:00 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 12,973
Default Re: I'm Buying HDX - will I be ok?

Voice packs should be irrelevant to you. HDX voices are DSP limited. You should understand that, if not read the reference guide.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-28-2019, 03:31 AM
Will Russell's Avatar
Will Russell Will Russell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Newfield, NY (Ithaca)
Posts: 943
Default Re: I'm Buying HDX - will I be ok?

Darryl is correct, Voice Packs are for standalone PT Ultimate users.

Re: voices and HDX:

https://www.pro-tools-expert.com/hom...racks-and-more

For HDX Users - If you an HDX owner then with this new version of Pro Tools the maximum number of simultaneous audio tracks for each HDX card will go up from 256 to 384. If you have an HDX3 system that will bring the maximum number of simultaneous audio tracks to 1152. There will be no extra charge for HDX users. The voice count is dependent on the number of HDX cards you have. If you have 1 card you will get 384 voices, 2 HDX cards will give you 768 voices and 3 HDX cards will give you 1152 voices.
__________________
Will Russell
Electric Wilburland Studio
www.wilburland.com
12 core 3.06Ghz MacPro, OS 10.13.6, PT2018.12, HDX, D-Command
Retina 5k iMac OS 10.14.2, PT2018.12, MBox3
Retina MacBook Pro OS 10.14.2, PT2018.12
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-28-2019, 02:59 PM
anguswoodhead's Avatar
anguswoodhead anguswoodhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Queensland, Australia
Posts: 88
Default Re: I'm Buying HDX - will I be ok?

Quote:
Originally Posted by the.engineer View Post
Looks like like you've got the basis for a nice system there!

I can't comment about the Orion HD as I have Avid HD boxes. HDX will run fine on your system, I have the single six-core 2010 Mac Pro and I only have 24GB RAM. I have a Raid 0 system with two drives (7200rpm) for my Audio Drive and a PCI based SSD blade for my system drive which has made a HUGE difference.

Regarding the computer though, Avid have stated (and users on here have reported) that 10.10.5 with Pro Tools HD 12.8.1 and an HDX card is very stable. Once you go into and over El Capitan there are CPU errors and GUI lags that can slow down fast editing and you may be limited to high buffer sizes (see HowardK's post) This is possibly to do with the Metal API that Apple introduced in El Capitan, Avid state that Pro Tools isn't optimised for screen resolutions over 1080p.

You'll see from my specs that I run 10.12.6 with 2018.12 with no problems but I've downgraded by 27" 2560x1440 screen for a 1080p screen.

Of course if you now buy the latest Pro Tools tools Ultimate you won't have access to the legacy installers for 12.8.x. So, either upgrade to Sierra or High Sierra (don't bother with El Capitan) If you go to Mojave you'll need a new graphics card (see here) AND you'll need to install High Sierra first to give your Mac Pro a firmware upgrade.

If you're considereing staying at Yosemite I have the installer for 12.8.1 but then of course you'll be playing plugin roulette as Yosemite is now unsupported by a lot of manufacturers.

Bottom line is, and from my experience, if you can handle high buffer sizes (bearing in mind that HDX runs all the audio processing anyway) and the possibility of some screen lag then head over to Sierra or High Sierra and hope and pray that Avid released an update that supports Metal (Appl Graphic API) that fixes all our problems.
Wonderful post
Very helpful
Thankyou
__________________
www.facebook.com/GlasshouseStudiosAustralia/

2010 12 Core 2 x 3.33 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon Mac Pro,
OS X High Sierra 10.13.6,
32 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 ECC,
Antelope Audio Orion 32 HD
Pro Tools HDX Card with Ultimate 2019.5
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-28-2019, 03:04 PM
anguswoodhead's Avatar
anguswoodhead anguswoodhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Queensland, Australia
Posts: 88
Default Re: I'm Buying HDX - will I be ok?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
Voice packs should be irrelevant to you. HDX voices are DSP limited. You should understand that, if not read the reference guide.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Will Russell View Post
Darryl is correct, Voice Packs are for standalone PT Ultimate users.

Re: voices and HDX:

https://www.pro-tools-expert.com/hom...racks-and-more

For HDX Users - If you an HDX owner then with this new version of Pro Tools the maximum number of simultaneous audio tracks for each HDX card will go up from 256 to 384. If you have an HDX3 system that will bring the maximum number of simultaneous audio tracks to 1152. There will be no extra charge for HDX users. The voice count is dependent on the number of HDX cards you have. If you have 1 card you will get 384 voices, 2 HDX cards will give you 768 voices and 3 HDX cards will give you 1152 voices.
Thanks guys
That’s at 48k yes?
My understanding is that at 96k the voices halve right?
That’s what I worked out from the Avid site.
__________________
www.facebook.com/GlasshouseStudiosAustralia/

2010 12 Core 2 x 3.33 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon Mac Pro,
OS X High Sierra 10.13.6,
32 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 ECC,
Antelope Audio Orion 32 HD
Pro Tools HDX Card with Ultimate 2019.5
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-28-2019, 03:58 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,861
Default Re: I'm Buying HDX - will I be ok?

Quote:
Originally Posted by anguswoodhead View Post
Thanks guys
That’s at 48k yes?
My understanding is that at 96k the voices halve right?
Right.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.5 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-01-2019, 09:13 AM
ProtoolsLover ProtoolsLover is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 93
Default Re: I'm Buying HDX - will I be ok?

You can also turn that 2010 MacPro into a 12 core, and it will handle just about anything you ever throw at it......Much cheaper than a used HDX card that go for 2k.

Buy a dual CPU tray from either a 2009 or 2010 MacPro, buy 2 six core CPU's, install, and you have a screaming 12 Core, with Geekbench Scores over 31,000.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Apple-Mac-P....c100005.m1851
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-01-2019, 11:43 AM
anguswoodhead's Avatar
anguswoodhead anguswoodhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Queensland, Australia
Posts: 88
Default Re: I'm Buying HDX - will I be ok?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ProtoolsLover View Post
You can also turn that 2010 MacPro into a 12 core, and it will handle just about anything you ever throw at it......Much cheaper than a used HDX card that go for 2k.

Buy a dual CPU tray from either a 2009 or 2010 MacPro, buy 2 six core CPU's, install, and you have a screaming 12 Core, with Geekbench Scores over 31,000.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Apple-Mac-P....c100005.m1851
It’s already a 12 core
See specs attachment in my original post
Thanks.
__________________
www.facebook.com/GlasshouseStudiosAustralia/

2010 12 Core 2 x 3.33 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon Mac Pro,
OS X High Sierra 10.13.6,
32 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 ECC,
Antelope Audio Orion 32 HD
Pro Tools HDX Card with Ultimate 2019.5
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-01-2019, 01:01 PM
ProtoolsLover ProtoolsLover is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 93
Default Re: I'm Buying HDX - will I be ok?

Quote:
Originally Posted by anguswoodhead View Post
It’s already a 12 core
See specs attachment in my original post
Thanks.
Missed that. I'm shocked you are having any issues at 96k. I've never come close to maxing my system out. Could USB3 be an issue? I wouldn't think so...

I'm on HD Native, with Omni, Apogee AD/DA 16's, and 192 I/O 16 in/ 8 out.

On a side note, the new Orion HD looks sweet!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help buying mac graememartin Getting Started 10 04-01-2015 04:39 AM
Buying a used Mac Pro. Drew Mazurek Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 13 03-09-2011 11:06 AM
Buying a Mac Rizzle Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 9 10-12-2008 01:13 AM
HELP! I am buying a Dell Laptop with intent on buying a DIGI 001 as well xian$ 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 01-18-2003 11:53 AM
buying a used 001 JFogarty 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 06-17-2002 12:13 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:05 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com