Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-03-2021, 07:01 PM
StillHollow StillHollow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 106
Default Pro tools First...what a joke

Yup, I tried using this in order to collaborate with a friend. Total fail. First it was difficult to add him as a contact, then when he created the project it kept saying that the project was full and no further people could be invited into it despite the fact that he was the only one associated with it.

When I tried the cloud share stuff with the other person we were going to collaborate with who has a full version of ProTools we had zero issues.

ProTools first, the crippled stepson of ProTools vanilla. Highly recommend skipping it as it just isn’t Pro Tools.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-03-2021, 09:32 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,838
Default Re: Pro tools First...what a joke

Totally agree with you about First. But, personally I would not trust collaboration on any version of Pro Tools. What happens when Avid cloud eats it all? I hope you have it l saves as a session and backed up independently of Avid cloud. Which yes you can't do with First... so a real sure reason not to use that.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-04-2021, 02:58 AM
Netmania Netmania is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 44
Default Re: Pro tools First...what a joke

Pro Tools First lets you save your Session locally since May 2019! Please check the facts.

Best
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-04-2021, 04:39 AM
Emi's Avatar
Emi Emi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Madrid. Spain
Posts: 460
Default Re: Pro tools First...what a joke

It is a joke, but that’s why you have a month trial version of the full pro tools.
__________________
Mac Mini M1 | Mac OS Big Sur 11.2 | Motu 16A | Motu 828ES | Motu 1248 | Pro Tools 2020.12 Native
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-04-2021, 07:59 AM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,958
Default Re: Pro tools First...what a joke

Not a solution to your problem, just a different example of experience.

I have full Pro Tools and I have all the sessions for my band. What I do is create a new Project, commit and import the basic tracks for the rest of my band to put down either scratch tracks or their final parts in First, then export/import them back in to the full session I have.

I can't say we've used it a tonne, but it has helped during COVID.

Joel
__________________
Jam Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3570 / 12GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 2020 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Asus B450 Pro4 / Ryzen 5 2600 / 32GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 2020 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Fender Mustang V 412 / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-04-2021, 09:57 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,838
Default Re: Pro tools First...what a joke

Quote:
Originally Posted by Netmania View Post
Pro Tools First lets you save your Session locally since May 2019! Please check the facts.

Best
Bull, it lets you save a local copy of the cloud project. It is not a Pro Tools session, and is not compatible with Pro Tools sessions. Please check your own facts.

And so what? What happens if Avid cloud eats or corrupts your project you are collaborating on? How does a mere mortal clear out that now corrupted project and replace it with a backup? How many weeks do people have to wait on average for Avid support to responds to their problem? First users have to purchase ASCs each time the cloud storage messes with them? Where is any guidance from Avid on how to backup and protect work in Projects? This whole cloud storage, and it's forced use in Pro Tools First, appears as fragile and badly thought out and built as could possibly be.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 01-04-2021 at 12:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
is pro tools for windows a bad joke? soundguy_2000 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 05-20-2008 08:55 AM
Pro tools LE 6.9.2 and Mac 10.4.9 WHAT A JOKE! luxor311 Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 04-11-2007 05:13 PM
Joke of the Day Allen Hallada 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 18 03-14-2003 05:52 PM
001 is a JOKE! drlego 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 16 02-22-2000 02:35 PM
it a JOKE !!!!!! aneirot 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 12-19-1999 02:36 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:08 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com