Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-14-2004, 12:20 PM
mmccarrell mmccarrell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 31
Default Dithering.

Someone please explain what the dithering plug-in does, and is it necessary to use it?...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-14-2004, 12:28 PM
QuikDraw QuikDraw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Azle, Texas, USA
Posts: 2,114
Default Re: Dithering.

When you reduce the bit depth of an audio file, say from 24-bit down to 16-bit, distortion is introduced in the form of quantization error. Dither eliminates the distortion at the cost of a small amount of uncorrelated noise. The noise that dither introduces is usually beneath the noise floor, so you can't hear it.

Generally, any time you reduce the bit depth of an audio file you should apply dither to eliminate the distortion. This is really an oversimplification, but that's basically how it works.

If you were bouncing a 24-bit session down to a 16-bit file, you should have a dither plug-in as the last insert on your master fader.

Mike
__________________
-- Mike
- MacBook Pro 15.4" (9,1) - 2.3 GHz i7 16GB RAM
- OS X 10.14.1 Mojave / Windows 10 (Bootcamp) - PT running on Windows partition
- PreSonus Quantum 2
- PreSonus Studio 24c
- MBox 3 Mini
- Mackie Onyx 1640i
- PT 2020.12.1 (vanilla)
- Various USB2/3 and Firewire hard drives
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-14-2004, 12:46 PM
qgrm qgrm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 356
Default Re: Dithering.

if you're using a limiter plug in your mastering session (going from 24 to 16), these plugs sometimes include dithering as part of the plug (eg waves L1). if this feature is turned on, you should not dither again (i cant really hear problems with double-dithering in my monitors, but thereotically its bad news:)

B.
__________________
Trogdor - I pine for you
http://www.homestarrunner.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-14-2004, 04:20 PM
Dr Beamus Dr Beamus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 43
Default Re: Dithering.

Question:

Which insert is the "last" one...the top one or the bottom one?

Enquiring minds want to know!

Thanks,

Beamus
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-14-2004, 04:29 PM
Bazzle Bazzle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Next door,to where I used to be.
Posts: 3,148
Default Re: Dithering.

"When more than one insert is used on a track they process the audio in series each effect being added to the previous one,from top to bottom in the mix window".Page 10 Digidesign Plugin Guide
__________________
Bazzle

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-14-2004, 04:29 PM
tele_player tele_player is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 6,557
Default Re: Dithering.

The bottom one.

Quote:
Question:

Which insert is the "last" one...the top one or the bottom one?

Enquiring minds want to know!

Thanks,

Beamus
__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, 4.5G RAM


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-14-2004, 04:42 PM
Daniel Wellman Daniel Wellman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 30
Default Re: Dithering.

And one little bit which tripped me up for a while is that dither should be applied when mixing down to disk using "Bounce to Disk" for 16-bit mixes, even if your session is 16 bits! This is because Pro Tools processes internal data at a higher bit-depth. Since dither is used (someone wiser please correct me if I'm wrong!) for handling low-level signals, this could be most noticeable on *very* quiet passages or at the very end of a fadeout.



From the Pro Tools Reference Guide, p. 461

Quote:
When to use a dithering plug-in
You should use a dithering plug-in when mastering to a 16-bit file with the Bounce To Disk command, or when mastering to an external device that records at 16-bit.

This is even necessary when using 16-bit sessions. Even though 16-bit sessions use 16-bit
files, they are still being processed internally at a higher bit rate:

• 24-bit for Pro Tool TDM systems
• 32-bit floating for Pro Tools LE systems

For this reason, whether you are using a 16-bit session or a 24-bit session, it is recommended
that you use a Dither plug-in when mastering to 16-bits.

Tricky!

-d
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-15-2004, 10:14 AM
Dr Beamus Dr Beamus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 43
Default Re: Dithering.

All right, Bazzle, I'm busted....it was in the manual.

B
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dithering.... JazzyJ 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 07-11-2009 02:32 PM
Dithering JohnChancey Tips & Tricks 2 01-13-2007 04:27 PM
Dithering tomdiek 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 12-12-2006 07:43 AM
POW-r 3 Dithering Imagine Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 13 03-06-2005 10:07 AM
Dithering and 48k nz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 05-08-2001 12:40 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:47 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com