Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-27-2015, 06:14 PM
dyno dyno is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 11
Default Imported Tracks not Saving to Session

I've successfully imported wav files from my old Mackie HDR into a Protools 12 session. Everything works fine and all the tracks show up. The problem is when I close and re-open the session with the external hard drive removed, the tracks don't show up and I get a message saying the files are missing. I re-connect the external hard drive and the files are there. How do I get these imported files to stay in Protools with the external drive removed?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-27-2015, 06:21 PM
Stereo Missile Stereo Missile is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 490
Default Re: Imported Tracks not Saving to Session

You need to copy the actual audio files into your "audio files" folder inside your session folder for this protools session. Import audio does not necessarily copy the audio files in for you, it just references them from their original disk location.
__________________
Steve Peach
Stereo Missile Recordings

Creative Director - Red Note Visionary Sounds: http://rednote.com.au
Label: http://www.stereomissile.com/
Music Production / Mixing: http://www.stereomissile.com/musicproducer/
Mastering: http://www.stereomissile.com/mastering/
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-27-2015, 06:51 PM
dyno dyno is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 11
Default Re: Imported Tracks not Saving to Session

Thanks Steve...that did it! New to PT, I'm a bit of a dinosaur...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-27-2015, 07:07 PM
Stereo Missile Stereo Missile is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 490
Default Re: Imported Tracks not Saving to Session

No problem. :)
__________________
Steve Peach
Stereo Missile Recordings

Creative Director - Red Note Visionary Sounds: http://rednote.com.au
Label: http://www.stereomissile.com/
Music Production / Mixing: http://www.stereomissile.com/musicproducer/
Mastering: http://www.stereomissile.com/mastering/
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I Imported stereo tracks , but PT reads as 2 L&R Mono tracks ? Seafoam_Green Getting Started 9 02-01-2014 09:29 PM
How to sync tracks imported from one session into another JoeChristopher Pro Tools 9 5 12-10-2012 08:38 AM
imported audio corrupted after saving session? Matt Chan Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 04-14-2010 12:56 AM
session template for imported tracks horaholic General Discussion 1 02-05-2010 11:24 AM
saving session settings for drum tracks to save time..... Jenk2k 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 12-14-2007 05:49 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:07 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com