Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-12-2016, 03:46 PM
anthonylbest anthonylbest is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 7
Default Using Bias Amp with PT 12.6

I have tried googling this all over the place and it must be so simple that no one has made a video or a how to document.

Therefore as a home studio novice, and new to PT. How do I access the Bias Amp Plugin within ProTools. I have installed both the app, and the plugin on my mac.

Can i use it to record and monitor at the same time, or must I record a dry track and then add the effect. Positive Grid had many "How to find" documents for a bunch of other DAWs, but not ProTools.

Someone please help the newb!
__________________
System Details:
MacBook Pro 15", iMac 27"
OSX Sierra 10.12 Sierra
ProTools 12.6
Avid Eleven Rack
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-12-2016, 04:06 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 12,585
Default Re: Using Bias Amp with PT 12.6

Plugins are inserts on tracks.

You stick the plugin insert on a mono audio track. The input to that track is the dry guitar, the output signal from that track to the output bus or other bus is the wet processed signal.

Make sure you are using an audio not an instrument track. Make sure you are receiving the (very low level) guitar signal input to that track (with no plugin in the track). You can record the dry signal and a wet signal, all up to you. What is recorded is pre (edit: doh) plugin. You can just record dry and play through the plugin until you want to commit it. What you monitor back through Pro Tools software is up to you to set up. With normal software monitoring (without low-latency monitoring) you would hear the processed signal through the plugibs. But you have to understand yourself how any individual session signal flow is set up.

You should be working with a DI/instrument input, with gain set appropriately in your interface, and software monitoring through Pro Tools (not hardware monitoring in the interface) to hear the wet guitar when tracking.

This is basic basic stuff. You need to start with learning about plugins and signal flow in Pro Tools. Video tutorials on YouTube are handy, and ultimately you need to read some of the Pro Tools Reference Guide (PDF is installed with Pro Tools), or better start with the Pro Tools 101 book.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 10-12-2016 at 08:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-12-2016, 06:02 PM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,121
Default Re: Using Bias Amp with PT 12.6

Check out some of these Tutorial Videos which may help get you going. And like Darryl said; be sure to read through the manual.
__________________
Will K

System Details
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bias is no more... nexis Pro Tools 10 2 06-13-2012 08:34 PM
bias peak pro 6 xt?? sonny7 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 20 10-15-2008 02:08 PM
PT LE to Bias Peak? phanatik Tips & Tricks 9 10-16-2003 03:29 PM
PT LE to Bias Peak? phanatik 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 10-08-2003 06:57 AM
Bias Peak and my 001. studiotony 001 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 07-10-2003 04:19 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:09 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com