Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools | First Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-03-2019, 01:57 PM
José M Ojeda José M Ojeda is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Remolino 32, col. Ampliación Los Alpes
Posts: 1
Default The program won't open

I already downloaded and installed it, but when I try to open it the starting screen pops up for around 2 seconds before closing as if it was crashing.

Any idea about what could be happening?

I use Windows 7, that might have something to do with it. My computer has a Pentium processor and it's around 5 years old, so it might be a bit outdated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-04-2019, 05:20 AM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,138
Default Re: The program won't open

Your system may be a little old to be running Pro Tools First, but there may be some things to look at first to at least get it running.

What type of audio interface are you using? Pro Tools First requires that you have an ASIO compatible interface. Most onboard sound devices in computers do not have an ASIO driver, so PT will not run.

I really don't like to suggest using ASIO4ALL, but if you are using an onboard audio device and just want to see what PT is all about, you can download and install ASIO4ALL, which will let you use your Windows sound device as an ASIO interface.

How much memory do you have installed? If you are on the low side (4GB) then make sure there are no other apps running in the background. Closing any unneeded apps will free up some memory for PT.

How much free disk space do you have and how fast is the drive? SSD drives would give you the best performance, but even older HDDs should be 7200 RPM.

Start with the audio interface. If that doesn't work, post a little more info about your setup if you are still having problems and I'm sure we can get you running.

And here is a link to the System Requirements for PTF for reference.
__________________
Will K

System Details
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Distortion through speakers only with pro tools program open? buster007 Pro Tools 12 4 08-04-2017 10:28 PM
When click2 plug-in setting window open, program get slow xodid114 Pro Tools 12 3 06-28-2016 01:39 PM
Crackling audio after program is open awhile smrpg99 Pro Tools 12 6 01-23-2016 07:25 PM
I can´t open my Pro Tools 10 program..HELP!!!! TKD Pro Tools 10 3 10-26-2012 11:22 PM
Can't open 5.1.1 Mix sessions on HD3 program error code -2048 Jazzbass56 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 08-20-2002 05:23 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:11 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com