Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > Storage Subsystems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-25-2002, 06:34 PM
qubesound qubesound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1
Default SCSI vs Firewire

I'm about to purchase a external hard drive for recording. I don't know much about the differences in performance of SCSI drives vs Firewire drives. So does anyone out there recommend one over the other?

G4 733 running 9.2.2

Any help or opinions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-27-2002, 06:01 AM
studiojimi's Avatar
studiojimi studiojimi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,115
Default Re: SCSI vs Firewire

i'm using 2 80 gig firewire drives

one to record the other to back up on thru usb

i hooked it straight up in the place where the system drive was and moved the system drive and velcroved it up to and above the superdvd/burner

i'm thru with scsi unless this prooves to be the wrong way to go but so far my HD III sytem has power to spare until i push the threshold to the unknown.
__________________
CAZADOR RECORDING
PT10.3.10/HD6/192w16in/MTN.LION OS 10.8.5 / Westmere MacPro 8 Core W/20gRAM MAGMA-PE6R4/TDM&RTAS/WAVES Platinum/UA/Eventide Plugs/I usually record at 88.2
With GOD as my partner. . . I need to make my plans LARGER.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-01-2002, 10:46 PM
The Chinese The Chinese is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 603
Default Re: SCSI vs Firewire

Firewire is neat. but SCSI will outperform it. It just depends on your needs. If you onl need 24 tracks w/ low edit density, then firewire will work just fine. If you need heavy edit density/high track count, then SCSI will give you what you need to a point, but usually about 40 tracks off a drive w/ serious edit density. If you need more than that, then you'll need 2 or more drives, or a Fibre system (expensive). hope this helps-
Todd A.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-02-2002, 08:24 PM
polly serial polly serial is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: l.a.
Posts: 83
Default Re: SCSI vs Firewire

qubesound,
i work in audio post as a sfx editor.
i sometimes have all 64 tracks pumping, with insane volume, and quicktime going too.
i use a g4 867 with ide and firewire drives.
unless money is something you need to spend for tax writeoffs, i heartily suggest firewire!
but be careful, get redundant drives, as the drives get bigger, it's really the only way to back things up.
good luck.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-09-2002, 06:44 AM
studiojimi's Avatar
studiojimi studiojimi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,115
Default Re: SCSI vs Firewire

unless money is something you need to spend for tax writeoffs, i heartily suggest firewire! <font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">

let's not forget the ability to put in another HD farm too with the added unused scsi slot
HD4!
__________________
CAZADOR RECORDING
PT10.3.10/HD6/192w16in/MTN.LION OS 10.8.5 / Westmere MacPro 8 Core W/20gRAM MAGMA-PE6R4/TDM&RTAS/WAVES Platinum/UA/Eventide Plugs/I usually record at 88.2
With GOD as my partner. . . I need to make my plans LARGER.

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-14-2002, 09:52 PM
Java Java is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA, USA
Posts: 53
Default Re: SCSI vs Firewire

funny, I was just wondering the same thing myself. A new aquaintance said that I could use firewire instead of the ATTO scsi method.

So I what I want to know is this...

What about Firewire raid systems? These are so cheap and that new Cremax SoHo Raid solution looks really slick. I could buy two and use one for quick backups and still have enough money left for lunch.

Is anyone using a firewire raid system and if so what have your experiences been?

Your time is appreciated.
__________________
Java
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-15-2002, 01:21 PM
WheelSpoke WheelSpoke is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 61
Default Re: SCSI vs Firewire

Hello,
there are advantages and disadvantages depending on your needs. SCSI is more robust because the drives can be "saved" with SCSI utilities. The technology also seems to be more stable, probably because of the long history. However, what FireWire does best is recording streaming data so it fits nicely with Pro Tools and things like Retrospect Backup, Video Capture etc...

Cheers!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-18-2002, 03:56 PM
Polaris20 Polaris20 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 80
Default Re: SCSI vs Firewire

SCSI (the fastest) may be faster right now, but there are new versions of FW on the horizon, just as USB 2.0 is out now. The latest I've heard is 1000Mb/sec is the next possible iteration.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-26-2002, 11:08 AM
He Who Cannot Be Named He Who Cannot Be Named is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 14
Default Re: SCSI vs Firewire

I bought a pocket sized drive from avammo.com for using PT on my G4 laptop...I have been doing 52 tracks on it & since I dont need a power outlet for it I say FW all the way...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-30-2002, 06:53 AM
GkHz GkHz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: NY
Posts: 28
Default Re: SCSI vs Firewire

This really depends on which ProTools system you are using. For example, if you're using ProTools LE (w/M-Box, 001, or 002), then FireWire will provide enough access time at 7,200RPM. If you're using any TDM system, including HD, then you should really consider SCSI external solutions, at 10,000 or 15,000 RPM, if you want to be able to hit maximum track counts, and edit at will. Audio is seek intensive, and quite demanding on the drive, so the quality of your FireWire or SCSI external is VERY important. Thanks Todd, for your accurate advice. [img]images/icons/cool.gif[/img]
__________________
GkHz
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SCSI or Firewire ewan Storage Subsystems 7 01-23-2005 12:48 AM
SCSI vs. Firewire jaygro 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 09-29-2002 07:54 AM
scsi vs. firewire fieldtheory 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 10-10-2001 11:27 AM
Firewire to SCSI COCO Tips & Tricks 5 04-02-2001 10:41 PM
Does Masterlist support SCSI CD-R on a Orange Firewire-SCSI adapter ?? dw Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 12-26-2000 05:05 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:40 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com