Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-22-2009, 10:36 AM
converted converted is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: london
Posts: 171
Default PT8 open logic files?

Can i export a song in Logic Audio 5 so it can be opened in PT8

I have a song in logic i would like to open in PT to work on
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-22-2009, 10:40 AM
sbag sbag is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Louisville, Ky. Vest End
Posts: 375
Default Re: PT8 open logic files?

why not export the tracks and import into pro tools >

also

i might be wrong but if you had the digi translator you can import the session itself > i could be wrong though
__________________
Gear>
C8, 002, Trigger Finger, Kontrol 49, Apc 40
SW >
Pt 8, Reason 5, Recycle 2.1, Ableton Live Suite 8.02
Plugs >
All Registered plug in's & Vinyl out the wazoo. Mp3 sucks
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-22-2009, 10:51 AM
converted converted is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: london
Posts: 171
Default Re: PT8 open logic files?

I could export the audio but there is also midi tracks

i could export as a midi file into pt8 but that wouldn't look after the audio
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-22-2009, 11:58 AM
converted converted is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: london
Posts: 171
Default Re: PT8 open logic files?

anyone else done this before??
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-22-2009, 02:33 PM
converted converted is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: london
Posts: 171
Default Re: PT8 open logic files?

I tried exporting the song as a midi file and thought i would re input the audio but when i open the midi file in protools it puts each region on a seperate track rather than keeping the oringinal arrangment??

Any help
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-22-2009, 03:20 PM
shea shea is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 512
Default Re: PT8 open logic files?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sbag View Post
why not export the tracks and import into pro tools >

also

i might be wrong but if you had the digi translator you can import the session itself > i could be wrong though
Correct ,via omf

seamus
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-22-2009, 04:53 PM
jefty jefty is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 30
Default Re: PT8 open logic files?

converted, that's right and it's actually good. i've tried it. what you have to do is take note of the sequence of you midi tracks. example, you have 2 midi tracks, and the first one is bass guitar, 2nd piano. import to pro tools as new tracks, make an instrument track with xpand inserted, cut your midi data in first track, and paste it in instrument track, then select bass guitar in xpand. make another instrument track, insert xpand, cut the piano midi data, insert to that instrument track, choose piano in xpand of that track. and your good. now delete the midi tracks as they're empty. you have structure it's a bit easier. just one structure for all midi tracks.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Logic (64 bit) cant open with 003 Rack machino 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 04-27-2010 05:28 PM
Logic 8 to logic 7 session won't open! saving procedure need crizdee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 04-26-2008 08:09 PM
export a PT 7 session to open in Logic 7 pipesurfa 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-18-2006 02:30 PM
can't open files session files .....plz help... syntax 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 04-19-2004 07:09 AM
Any way to open Logic files in PT 5.3.1 beech Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 02-12-2003 10:26 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:57 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com