Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-19-2014, 11:17 AM
zac_618 zac_618 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Olney Illinois
Posts: 11
Default Tips for using default Plug-ins on Vocals

Hi, I'm simply looking to gain some knowledge on getting better sounding vocals. Right now I only have the Plugs that came with Pro Tools 10 (not investing in better until I get off the learning curb).

My setup for recording vocals gets me some nice clean takes but I'm looking to smooth out the vocals to get a more "professional sound".

I've got someone in NYC who will be mixing and mastering my music for me later on but I'd like to be able to send him better sounding products to start work on when he gets them.

Also, the genre we are working on is Hip-Hop. (Seems like another good point to put into the post)

I'm fairly new to posting on here so any help would be greatly appreciated!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-19-2014, 11:40 AM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: Tips for using default Plug-ins on Vocals

Channel Strip is a very nice plug-in, for practically any instrument.

But it sounds to me that you're interested in learning about the process, not necessarily the plug-ins themselves.

http://www.prosoundweb.com/article/e...oustic_guitar/

http://theproaudiofiles.com/voice-pr...q-cuts-boosts/

http://www.homestudiocorner.com/proc...eq-ing-vocals/

http://www.homestudiocorner.com/proc...5-compression/
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-19-2014, 12:32 PM
dr_daw's Avatar
dr_daw dr_daw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cariboo, BC
Posts: 1,216
Default Re: Tips for using default Plug-ins on Vocals

Another thing to point out and be aware of; is that if you're sending your tracks to someone else to mix and master. They may not have the pluggins that you have, unless you are certain they are using the exact same DAW version.

If you are not getting the sounds you like 'raw', you may need to reconsider the take. When I get tracks to mix, I prefer to just get the 'raw' takes. If the artist has an idea as to what they want for effects, or tonality; a seperate project with those settings is helpful. In the past, I have found myself often undoing some of the processing that is done. Not often with their effects choices, but more often with too aggressive of EQ and compression use.

If you can give the mixer a dry vocal track that may be a great option. Not sure how you're programming your beats and such, that may make it a little more interesting. If he/she has the same version of PT's with the same Plugs and V/I's you should be ok.

Avid's Channel Strip is a good safe option, but if you find yourself really adjusting the EQ, I would reconsider the take.
__________________
FBR recording - https://www.facebook.com/fromthebase...cordsrecording
@FBRrecording - Instagram
Rig
MBP 15" High Sierra 10.13.3, i7 2.6Ghz, 8Gb DDR, 750Gb 7200rpm, PT 2019.5, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, Octopre MkII, Glyph GPT50, Avalon 737sp, AMS Neve 1073's, API 512c, CAPI 312's, DW drums, Fender Guitars/Amps, AKG, Rode, Sennheiser, Neumann U87 & KM184's, Coles 4038, Equator D5 monitors
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-19-2014, 01:34 PM
zac_618 zac_618 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Olney Illinois
Posts: 11
Default Re: Tips for using default Plug-ins on Vocals

Quote:
Originally Posted by mesaone View Post
Channel Strip is a very nice plug-in, for practically any instrument.

But it sounds to me that you're interested in learning about the process, not necessarily the plug-ins themselves.

http://www.prosoundweb.com/article/e...oustic_guitar/

http://theproaudiofiles.com/voice-pr...q-cuts-boosts/

http://www.homestudiocorner.com/proc...eq-ing-vocals/

http://www.homestudiocorner.com/proc...5-compression/

Yes I am wanting to learn more into how to mix my vocals together to get more of the finished product so when I send the session to my partner he has more of an idea of what I'm aiming for with the songs. (He's an engineer/producer) I'm just looking to do as much as I can before he masters them so I have as close to the finished product as I can get before he gets it.

And thank you for the links I will be checking them out shortly.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-19-2014, 02:31 PM
zac_618 zac_618 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Olney Illinois
Posts: 11
Default Re: Tips for using default Plug-ins on Vocals

Quote:
Originally Posted by dr_daw View Post
Another thing to point out and be aware of; is that if you're sending your tracks to someone else to mix and master. They may not have the pluggins that you have, unless you are certain they are using the exact same DAW version.

If you are not getting the sounds you like 'raw', you may need to reconsider the take. When I get tracks to mix, I prefer to just get the 'raw' takes. If the artist has an idea as to what they want for effects, or tonality; a seperate project with those settings is helpful. In the past, I have found myself often undoing some of the processing that is done. Not often with their effects choices, but more often with too aggressive of EQ and compression use.

If you can give the mixer a dry vocal track that may be a great option. Not sure how you're programming your beats and such, that may make it a little more interesting. If he/she has the same version of PT's with the same Plugs and V/I's you should be ok.

Avid's Channel Strip is a good safe option, but if you find yourself really adjusting the EQ, I would reconsider the take.

I'll keep that in mind! I'm more wanting to just get the feel of the song into the session so he can see what I've got in mind when he gets it.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-19-2014, 02:33 PM
zac_618 zac_618 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Olney Illinois
Posts: 11
Default Re: Tips for using default Plug-ins on Vocals

Also, with the instrumentals I'm using I just import them from my iTunes library and record vocals in Audio tracks in the session.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help/tips with vocals LongRoad Tips & Tricks 11 06-06-2009 07:40 AM
In your face vocals Tips !!!! jeam25 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 11-13-2006 08:35 PM
best plug-ins or tips for vocals phanatik 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-22-2004 01:28 AM
Tips for doubling vocals smcoptyltd Tips & Tricks 21 05-08-2002 12:35 AM
Any tips on blending old vocals with new vocals? Somebody Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 06-07-2000 09:38 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:00 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com