Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-07-2008, 12:37 PM
jccrtv jccrtv is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 45
Default Set Default Destination Directory?

Each time Pro Tools is started, the first time we bounce a file to disk I have to reset the destination directory to where I want mixes stored. Once you choose it happily stays on that directory. But the next time you have to start up PRo Tools you have to again re-select the destination directory. Is there somewhere I can specify what our default destination directory is? Not a big deal, but trying to eliminate just another step we have to do each time, 365 days a year.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-07-2008, 05:19 PM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,656
Default Re: Set Default Destination Directory?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jccrtv View Post
Each time Pro Tools is started, the first time we bounce a file to disk I have to reset the destination directory to where I want mixes stored. Once you choose it happily stays on that directory. But the next time you have to start up PRo Tools you have to again re-select the destination directory. Is there somewhere I can specify what our default destination directory is? Not a big deal, but trying to eliminate just another step we have to do each time, 365 days a year.

Hi,

There is no preference for this! All bounces and export regions should default to your audio folder inside each session folder! main reason for this is to keep ALL the session's components in one place/folder. to avoid the type of mess that happens with other DAW's where data is scattered across different drives and folders, and therefore gets lost when later recalled.
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-08-2008, 11:04 AM
drenkrom drenkrom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Quebec
Posts: 393
Default Re: Set Default Destination Directory?

All PT import/export/bounce dialogs should have 5 little buttons at the top which can be assigned as shortcuts to specific folders, as there are in Reason. Simple, uncluttered, extremely practical. In fact, most software could use this.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-08-2008, 11:53 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,656
Default Re: Set Default Destination Directory?

Quote:
Originally Posted by drenkrom View Post
extremely practical.
Extremely dangerous! OOPS "where's the lead vocal gone" "is was there last time we ran this session" "we'll where is it then?" "I saved it to the back-up drive" "But we don't have that drive now"
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-08-2008, 12:43 PM
JGuth JGuth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 425
Default Re: Set Default Destination Directory?

use the app: default folder X which will remember the last destinations
The problem is with Mac OS not Pro Tools. But still digi could make the audio files folder a default like it used to be...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-11-2013, 12:12 AM
djkikis djkikis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Jakarta
Posts: 11
Default Re: Set Default Destination Directory?

Quote:
Originally Posted by crizdee View Post
Extremely dangerous! OOPS "where's the lead vocal gone" "is was there last time we ran this session" "we'll where is it then?" "I saved it to the back-up drive" "But we don't have that drive now"
well.. what's wrong with giving the user a choice? where u can choose whether to have it bounce to the projects audio folder every single time.. or u can set a default destination folder?

i agree with thread starter cuz i like to have all my bounces in one place.. repeat full bounces.. because sometimes I'm trying to look for the mix i last bounced.. get confused.. and i might send my client the wrong mix etc..
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Export Selected - default destination zakco Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 06-24-2009 01:40 PM
install destination Ratonyi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 03-23-2008 11:29 AM
install destination Ratonyi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 03-23-2008 11:07 AM
setting default directory for bounce to disc chbass 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-17-2008 11:00 AM
Default Plug-In Directory? jimst57 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 09-05-2007 12:05 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:39 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com