Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 12 Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 09-23-2017, 02:52 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 32,756
Default Re: Another iLok victim.

Quote:
Originally Posted by James Richmond View Post
I leave mine plugged into my NAS at the studio using some software called Virtual Here when I am doing location recording.
Provided I have an internet connect I am fine.
Please share this in more detail as it seems like a great solution
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-23-2017, 02:57 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,942
Default Re: Another iLok victim.

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Please share this in more detail as it seems like a great solution
http://www.pro-tools-expert.com/home...and-waves-keys
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-23-2017, 03:40 PM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,297
Default Re: Another iLok victim.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimothyJohn View Post
Got a case #. That's it.
If in fact you have ZDT/TLC, then by now you should have temporary licenses - if not, then you may not have filled out the correct forms on the site.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-23-2017, 04:36 PM
TimothyJohn TimothyJohn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Baltimore, United States
Posts: 212
Default Re: Another iLok victim.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
But what *exactly* did you do? Did you start the RMA process? Not a general support case.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Meant to thank you all. Once I started the RMA, I was good. Temporary Licenses provided. Process of replacement underway.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-23-2017, 04:52 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 32,756
Default Re: Another iLok victim.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
Hmmm, that's a tough read for someone as "computer-challenged" as me, but I will try to dig into it. I looked at youtube, hoping for some tutorial help but came up short. Anyone here able to do a video?
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-23-2017, 06:44 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,942
Default Re: Another iLok victim.

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Hmmm, that's a tough read for someone as "computer-challenged" as me, but I will try to dig into it. I looked at youtube, hoping for some tutorial help but came up short. Anyone here able to do a video?
What part is the issue? If working outside your LAN you need a VPN to get into your network. If you don't want to look into that level of stuff yourself you should be able to find a network/IT consultant to help with that. You want a carefully set up firewall and systems, ideally I'd like to see a dedicated iLok server system in a DMZ. It's likely worth getting help in an not accidentally leaving security holes in your network.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-23-2017, 07:41 PM
syMPh syMPh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Perth, WA Australia
Posts: 284
Default Re: Another iLok victim.

Sometimes the fault is just the contacts on the usb terminals are worn to the point they won't connect properly anymore. Insert the ilk fully. then give it a slight nudge one way or another in a direction which makes the terminals of the usb make harder contact.... gently... you may find that it stays lit while a little pressure is applied and once you get that reliable enough then you could carefully load ilk license manager with another ilok plugged in and start transferring licenses... I wouldn't do the whole lot just a couple at a time. ii did this with a ilok that was on it's way out... good luck !
__________________
System Details
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-24-2017, 01:41 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 32,756
Default Re: Another iLok victim.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
What part is the issue? If working outside your LAN you need a VPN to get into your network. If you don't want to look into that level of stuff yourself you should be able to find a network/IT consultant to help with that. You want a carefully set up firewall and systems, ideally I'd like to see a dedicated iLok server system in a DMZ. It's likely worth getting help in an not accidentally leaving security holes in your network.
That's excellent advice Thanks
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 09-29-2017, 12:45 AM
Mista Min Mista Min is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: From Austin, Texas to Munich, Germany
Posts: 154
Default Re: Another iLok victim.

Quote:
Originally Posted by James Richmond View Post
I leave mine plugged into my NAS at the studio using some software called Virtual Here when I am doing location recording.
Provided I have an internet connect I am fine.


Dude!!!! This is amazing stuff!!! OMG! Game changing stuff man! Thank you for sharing this!!!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Next Victim - Artist surfaces do not work with PT11 but work fine with PT10 jimmyjayp Artist Series 10 12-29-2014 04:38 PM
Transfer iLok auth. from old iLok to new 003 factory iLok? lamp 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 08-20-2007 07:05 PM
help for a poor crash victim! (plus a/d conversion advice) Stevedrummer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 05-01-2007 01:50 PM
Another Power Harness Victim....U Could Be Next Third Eye Studios 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 28 06-14-2005 06:48 PM
another victim of the switching optical format and/or spdif mirroring bug kmshroom 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 05-01-2003 02:35 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:35 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com