Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Eleven Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-17-2017, 04:27 AM
Greenwilly66 Greenwilly66 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Palermo, Italy
Posts: 4
Default Problem Eleven rack with tube amp

Hello everyone (sorry my bad english), I recently bought an Eleven Rack and a tube amp (Fender Hot Rod Deluxe III). I tried to connect them to each other through the 4 cables method in this way:

Guitar -> 11R Guitar input
11R Effect Send -> Tube amp Input
Preamp Out (send amp) -> 11R Effect Return
11R Output to Amp 1 -> Power amp in (return amp)

I read in various posts that to use the eleven rack only for its effects I have to set the "Output to Amp" to "Amp Input" and if I wanna use the Eleven Rack as preamp and use my guitar amp just for power and speakers I have to set the ''Output to Amp'' to ''Amp Output''. I tried both of the methods but the sound is really bad, also when active FX Loop and i set to 100% can not hear anything. Can anyone tell me step by step what should I do? An example of 11R virtual signal chain for both cases? Thank you all

Last edited by Greenwilly66; 02-17-2017 at 05:06 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-17-2017, 07:13 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 12,303
Default Re: Problem Eleven rack with tube amp

How does it sound when you just hook it up
GTR out > 11r amp out > Amp input?

How does the amp sound by itself?
__________________
Daniel
HD|N - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro - 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


For the Love of everything sacrosanct and hallowed, Why hasn't track presets been implemented yet? - George Jetson

For the Love of everything sacrosanct and hallowed, Why hasn't track presets been implemented yet? - George Jefferson

For the Love of everything sacrosanct and hallowed, Why hasn't track presets been implemented yet? - George Clinton
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-17-2017, 07:52 AM
Greenwilly66 Greenwilly66 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Palermo, Italy
Posts: 4
Default Re: Problem Eleven rack with tube amp

I'm afraid I did not understand the links that you suggested. Anyway only the amp with the guitar sounds good
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-17-2017, 01:00 PM
DonaldR DonaldR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Saint-Jerome, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 314
Default Re: Problem Eleven rack with tube amp

You have the proper way to connect the 11R with your tube amp for 4CM.
BUT, this 4CM method is only good for effects as using 11R as preamps will go like "an amp (11R) in an amp (Fender)" and will not sound good. If you want to use 11R amp modeling you need to connect:
Guitar -> 11R Guitar input
11R Output to Amp 1 (Rig Output No Cab) -> Power amp in (return amp)

Remember that even if only using the power section and the speaker of your tube amp, it will have a coloration you will like, or not. I had mixed results: didn't like my Carvin combo but raved my Peavey Classic 60/60 and 4x12" Celestion G12K-85 cab.

Back to 4CM.
What 11R effects you send to your amp depend of where you place your fx loop, everything before the fx loop will go in front of your amp and everything after the fx loop will go after your amp (preamp). I think the switch or the back should be set to Stompbox.

I am not in front of my 11R right now but instructions should be in the "ball park".
Set your tube amp to have a clean sound that you like, no reverb.
On 11R set the output to Rig Out No Cab and create a new rig. On that new rig, do something like this:
(input)(wha)(fx1)(dist)(mod)(vol)(amp)(cab)(fx loop)(fx2)(dly)(rev)(output)
Disable all blocks (including amp and cab).
Go to (input) block, set True-Z to Auto and set level properly.
Go to (fx loop) block, enable, set mix 100%, set to mono and adjust level properly.
Go to (output) block and adjust level properly, it can help also switching your display to Outputs Mode and make sure everything is at unity gain (you can also plug your guitar directly to your tube amp and disconnect 11R to make sure the sound is identical).

Your 11R is now setup the same as plugging a Tube Screamer in front of your amp and your should have a nice blues/rock sound. Enable/Disable distortion block with the front button to go from clean to drive.

Give us some feedback.

Last edited by DonaldR; 02-17-2017 at 01:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-17-2017, 02:39 PM
Greenwilly66 Greenwilly66 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Palermo, Italy
Posts: 4
Default Re: Problem Eleven rack with tube amp

ok it works in the way you've explained to me. as I understand it in this way I'm using my pre amp (fender hot rod) right? thank you so much
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-17-2017, 03:21 PM
DonaldR DonaldR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Saint-Jerome, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 314
Default Re: Problem Eleven rack with tube amp

Is it sounding good now?
And yes if you want to use 11R amps (like Marshall Plexi) it will not sound good plugin 11R in front of the amp, it should be on your Fender fx return. But even plugged in the amp fx return it will be colored (for good or for bad) but you can put a parametric eq in the FX1/FX2 block and get a sound you like. Remember that a combo will never sound as a 4x12" closed back cab.

I think that using 11R as effect-only in 4CM is pretty good idea as effects are (basic but) top notch and industry standards.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-17-2017, 03:36 PM
Greenwilly66 Greenwilly66 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Palermo, Italy
Posts: 4
Default Re: Problem Eleven rack with tube amp

I have tried various amplifiers disabling FX LOOP without losing too much time and it would seem sound good. As you suggested you give me, an equalizer might just solve everything. Tomorrow I will try my best with the Red Special, and will give further response. Thank you so much, you've been really helpful
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Eleven Rack Problem kittybite Eleven Rack 1 02-09-2015 11:25 AM
eleven rack - problem hydra Eleven Rack 2 10-05-2012 01:12 PM
Eleven Rack Problem adflaker Pro Tools Software (Win) 3 11-09-2011 03:27 PM
Need advice on using Eleven Rack with tube power amp plus a 4-12 cab mick828 Eleven Rack 8 10-05-2011 05:18 PM
Eleven Rack Problem Päng 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 04-18-2010 12:54 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:32 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com