Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-20-2019, 03:56 PM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 3,885
Default What is up with AIR these days?

Over the past 1-2 years I have contacted AIR reporting bugs with some of the VI's, most with Structure, Transfuser and Hybrid3. Their tech people respond, sometimes asking for more info, which I've provided. In every case they've agreed with the issue. Then, all communication just seems to stop. And I've seen nothing done to fix any of the problems either. My last report to them on an issue was well over 8 months ago, and after 3 or 4 emails with tech support, mostly me supplying them with some screen shots, I've had nothing but silence.



Others have reported similar treatment on the AIR user forums. Is AIR abandoning its users or its products? They used to be so responsive. Now, I'm beginning to wonder. Does anyone know what's going on with them?
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.12
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-20-2019, 04:07 PM
amagras amagras is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,824
Default Re: What is up with AIR these days?

With the prices they are selling their products nowadays I don't think they have much to pay tech support or additional development. Kinda sad because the creative collection is terrific, I use it a lot here
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools 2018
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-20-2019, 09:01 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,368
Default Re: What is up with AIR these days?

Honestly, the main developers left when they were sold from Avid to InMusic. Actually, that was the second exodus. The first happened when Avid was slimming down because they were on the verge of bankruptcy.

So there's just a shell of a team of "maintainers" left.

(many of the main developers migrated to UJAM or were part of the founding of that company)
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2018.12, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-20-2019, 09:17 PM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 3,885
Default Re: What is up with AIR these days?

Quote:
Originally Posted by amagras View Post
With the prices they are selling their products nowadays I don't think they have much to pay tech support or additional development. Kinda sad because the creative collection is terrific, I use it a lot here


I use their stuff a lot too. But they’re going to lose their loyalty if they don’t get their act together.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.12
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-20-2019, 10:35 PM
amagras amagras is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,824
Default Re: What is up with AIR these days?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
(many of the main developers migrated to UJAM or were part of the founding of that company)
UJAM stuff is far less appealing to me than the AIR instruments, very simplistic use but almost no control over the mixing process.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonaldM View Post
I use their stuff a lot too. But they’re going to lose their loyalty if they don’t get their act together.
They don't make much new stuff now so loyalty must be a rare term in their vocabulary.
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools 2018
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-22-2019, 12:25 PM
clausiii's Avatar
clausiii clausiii is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 1,766
Default Re: What is up with AIR these days?

Nearly the whole plugins got just add-ons when buying inMusic hardware (Akai, M-Audio...).
If i remember correctly someone from AiR said on Twitter that there is something new in the pipeline. But that was a year ago...
I like their VIs very much and they are always in my sessions, especially Loom2, Structure, Transfuser and Mini Grand.

Still hope that they do something new!
__________________
My ears! My ears!
clausiii
-----------------
MacBook Pro i7 Quad 2.6GHz 8GB RAM
ProTools 2018.12
Digidesign Command|8
macOS Mojave
MOTU 4pre
MOTU Track16
Axiom Pro 25
LinnStrument 128
Roli Seaboard Block

tons of stomp boxes
tube amps
guitars
noise
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-22-2019, 12:58 PM
Righty27 Righty27 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 1,015
Default Re: What is up with AIR these days?

I don’t think their website and non-standard approach to user accounts and downloads/upgrades helps ... I haven’t updated for some time now!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-22-2019, 03:24 PM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 3,885
Default Re: What is up with AIR these days?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Righty27 View Post
I don’t think their website and non-standard approach to user accounts and downloads/upgrades helps ... I haven’t updated for some time now!

You got that right! Their download/upgrade system is horrible!



But, like many here, I really like their VIs, especially Loom, Vacuum Pro, Hybrid3, Transfuser and Structure. But, if they don't pay attention to feedback from their longtime loyal users, they will lose out. I'm getting tired of waiting for bug fixes that have long been reported by myself and others, as well as much needed performance improvements...long, long overdue!



I hope someone at AIR is paying attention! We WANT to use your stuff...but you NEED to listen and perform!
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.12
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-23-2019, 08:14 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,436
Default Re: What is up with AIR these days?

What issues are you having? I haven't had any hiccups with AIR in several years(ever since we had to manually link the .BIG folders with incorrect instructions)
__________________
HP z820 12 core, 64GB RAM, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs, Warm Audio and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-28-2019, 02:08 PM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 3,885
Default Re: What is up with AIR these days?

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
What issues are you having? I haven't had any hiccups with AIR in several years(ever since we had to manually link the .BIG folders with incorrect instructions)

Just saw this, Dave. Its not so much "hiccups" as it is certain features not working. Here's just a few


Structure: 1. You can't name the Smart Knobs anymore. It automatically assigns the name to whatever you're attaching it to...which is useless. I've reported it 3 times now, and still no action to fix this. You used to be able to name them. 2. If you edit an existing patch, you can't rename and save it.

3. There is not "duplicate layer" option if you want to duplicate a sample layer. Very annoying if you set loop points across multiple samples and then want to duplicate the layer to add depth to the sound. (this isn't an "error" but a feature that's been requested multiple times.

There's a few other issues with Structure, but these are the biggest.


4. Transfuser - Some things are missing. For example, if you use the Gater effect, there's supposed to be some 32 presets in a pull down menu. Well, the pulldown menu does show 1-32...but there are no corresponding presets. I've reported this twice now, most recently in September, and STILL nothing has been done other than they told me they reproduced the problem. There's a couple of other spots where presets aren't showing up.



5. A while back I had purchased one of the expansion packs for Vacuum Pro called "Fresh Air". For some reason it would not install. I contacted AIR and to their credit, one of their tech guys spent an hour with me on the phone trying to get it to install, but to no avail. I finally gave up and requested a refund...TWICE. Never heard back or got my refund. Later, a friend saw my issue and sent me his copy, which installed perfectly. I felt no guilt as I had already paid for it and AIR had my money!



There have been several feature requests made too, with no responses. Its like they've abandon their products or something. Hence my post
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.12
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Better days ShiftStudios Pro Tools 12 17 04-11-2015 09:50 AM
30 Days of Night: Dark Days nominated for two sound awards Eric L Post - Surround - Video 2 01-21-2011 08:03 PM
7.2. - first few days... Charles Deenen Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 08-09-2006 02:06 PM
PT 6.0, 30 to 40 days? dleted 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-25-2003 02:59 PM
7 days until May.......! greenroom 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 04-26-2002 01:37 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:31 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com