Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-02-2018, 09:26 AM
hoosierdraft hoosierdraft is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: US
Posts: 5
Default Connecting 2 D-Show consoles

Sorry for all the newbie questions but got to start somewhere.

Currently have a D-Show Profile with FOH Rack and two Stage Racks. Running FOH and monitors from the Profile. Just found a used D-Show. Is there any way to connect the D-Show to the D-Show Profile to be able to use it for doing a broadcast mix?

Or other suggestions for mixing a separate broadcast feed?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-03-2018, 07:40 AM
emluper emluper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 468
Default Re: Connecting 2 D-Show consoles

Unless you have the MADI card installed in both console's FOH racks, no. You'll have to split the signal as you would with two analog consoles. The nice thing is you can load your show file into both consoles so you don't have to "format" the second console, so that's a time saver, but the "sharing" functionality that you're looking for didn't happen until the S3L and S6L models.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-03-2018, 10:05 AM
RyanJ's Avatar
RyanJ RyanJ is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 276
Default Re: Connecting 2 D-Show consoles

As Eric said, the D-Show and Profile systems require an analog split, and they run independently.




OR you could route audio from one console to the other via MADI cards, but the 'slave' machine would be affected by gains set on the main desk if you were to do that.
__________________
Ryan John
Principal Product Manager | Avid Live Sound

ryan.john@avid.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-03-2018, 01:09 PM
hoosierdraft hoosierdraft is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: US
Posts: 5
Default Re: Connecting 2 D-Show consoles

Any sources for the D-Show MADI option card??
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Registering my S5 consoles Steven1145 System 5 1 11-25-2014 01:49 PM
Bussing Consoles together JHarold General Discussion 1 03-17-2013 09:10 AM
Pro Tools/D-Show standalone integration idea with D-Show show files/virt. soundcheck digidesigner VENUE Live Sound Systems 2 11-08-2011 02:52 PM
For those who don't use mixing consoles / etc theaero Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 08-18-2009 04:13 PM
Pro Tools HD (TMD) and SSL Consoles vonbleak101 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 13 01-23-2003 09:07 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:40 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com