Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 03-21-2009, 06:17 AM
jeremyroberts jeremyroberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: New York, NY, USA
Posts: 3,020
Default Re: ESATA or FW 800

Considering large drives can cost less than DLT tapes, I started using SATA drives as "tape" using this eSATA dock:

http://www.amazon.com/Thermaltake-Bl.../dp/B001A4HAFS

The drives just drop in... no enclosures to worry about. You can use 3.5" or 2.5" drives. It has a USB2 port in case you absolutely must take it somewhere without eSATA. Best $40 I ever spent.
__________________
--Jeremy
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-21-2009, 09:44 AM
Howardk Howardk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Canada, just past the line!
Posts: 1,933
Default Re: ESATA or FW 800

There was mention that eSata was not compatible with ProTools. . . really? If Sata is compatible, then eSata should be compatible. Regardless, I have never had a problem and have done 80% of my projects on Sata/eSata for the last year +.

This eSata adapter for the MacPro was mentioned earlier in the thread. It is a must have if you are using a Mac Pro and fits even if all 3 slots had HD cards because there is an additional backplate with no slot where this can be placed on my Quad Core Mac Pro.
http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Newer...ology/MPQXES2/

I use the Thermaltake mentioned above, on USB for backups, and it works great. However I am not comfortable with a session drive sitting open like that. . . could get knocked over with a guitar neck or other easy-to-happen acident. . .
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
eSATA & TDM ? Russ M. Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 01-27-2014 10:01 AM
eSata Violin Vienna General Discussion 8 12-24-2009 12:49 PM
anyone using esata on MBP? therecordinghouse 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-14-2009 08:34 AM
> eSata on a Mac Pro w/HD3 Howardk Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 12-05-2007 04:24 PM
eSATA?? wildplum Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 08-16-2007 01:09 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:52 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com