Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-15-2005, 11:02 AM
imagingvo imagingvo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 18
Default Getting away from the computer while recording...

How do you get away from the computer while recording?

It seems that any computer powerful enough to run ProTools LE with minimal latency must be a fairly robust computer, which means lots of component and processor heat, which means lots of cooling fans, which means lots of noise.

If using an 002 control surface, it is tethered to the computer via Firewire400, which has a maximum distance limitation of 4.5m or 14 feet... which seems barely enough to get out of the room. Adding firewire repeaters seems risky, since Avid/Digidesign appears to be so finicky as to what equipment is Digi-certified... ie, there is only ONE firewire card that is actually approved and certified for ProTools.

I've never self-recorded to a computer before. I imagine that I might need to monitor the digital/onscreen equivalent of VU meters while recording, so at least the control surface and the LCD screen must be with me in the isolation booth, right?

And if this is true, than the DVI interface (monitor) distance limitation is even shorter, at about 2 meters (6 feet).

So, I'm wondering how you get away from the computer while recording?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-15-2005, 11:33 AM
madcow madcow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: \\m/ \\m/
Posts: 239
Default Re: Getting away from the computer while recording...

Get your levels and then take your wireless keyboard with you (in another room maybe) and hit record..
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-15-2005, 11:48 AM
Jungleman Jungleman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 11
Default Re: Getting away from the computer while recording

I use this. Works great.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-15-2005, 01:33 PM
Craigo Craigo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 27
Default Re: Getting away from the computer while recording

The cheapest solution would be to build a small isolation box for your computer. I might try that one myself.
__________________
Pro Tools 10.3

Mbox 3

Saffire Pro 40

27" Imac i7 3.4 Ghz 16gb OSX 10.8.3

MacBook Pro 2.4 Ghz 4gb OSX 10.8.3

Dynaudio Acoustics BM5a MkII

EVH 5150 III 50 Watt Head
EVH 5150 III 4x12 Cabinet
Ernie Ball Music Man Axis
Gibson Les Paul Standard
EVH Peavey Wolfgang
Custom EVH Frankenstrat

How To Play The Guitar
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-15-2005, 02:51 PM
imagingvo imagingvo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 18
Default Re: Getting away from the computer while recording

Jungleman... thanks, I'd have NEVER heard of that control were it not for you mentioning it.

And Craigo, I like your idea on building an isolation box for the cpu as well. The only problem I can foresee is sufficient ventilation! Baffling the air inlets and outlets seems like it would require a lot of space to design correctly in order to prevent the fans from burning out as they try to "suck" air through the more restrictive path that a baffled enclosure might impose.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-15-2005, 04:21 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,174
Default Re: Getting away from the computer while recording

I record vocals with the PC tower 6 feet away and have no noise issues. The tower has low-noise fans and a Zalmann cpu cooler. I have the tower in a 3/4" oak-plywood box, lined with Auralex sheetblock and 2" foam on the sides. The front is open and the back is open but faces a corner and blows past a large gobo. The Tranzport looks to be a great tool. I use a VGA splitter which takes the video from the PC and allows it to go to 2 monitors. I use a 25' VGA cable to a second monitor at my keyboard/drum station and it works great(for under $40). BTW, a VGA "Y" cable sucks. There are also a few low-noise PC cases available. I saw on at CompUSA that had insulated panels all around for no resonance. A bit pricey at $169 but might be a problem solver for you.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-17-2005, 09:33 AM
j20056 j20056 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 690
Default Re: Getting away from the computer while recording

Jungleman,

Does thew wireless transport work through a wall? I was thinking to setup my workstation in one room (control room if you wish), and the amps and mics in the adjacent room, which is acoustically treated. Would the wirelss unit work through a brick (or sheet rock) wall, and reach the workstation say 25 feet away?
__________________
Digi002 Rack
Mac Pro 8-core 3Ghz
8gb RAM
3X 500GB 7,200 SATA DRIVES
OSX 10.5.7
PTLE 8.0cs3
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-17-2005, 10:05 AM
Jungleman Jungleman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 11
Default Re: Getting away from the computer while recording

j20056,

The Tranzport works through walls and 25 feet shouldn't be a problem. I'm not sure it will work through a brick wall though.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-17-2005, 11:29 AM
Bastiaan Bastiaan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nederland
Posts: 6,914
Default Re: Getting away from the computer while recording

You could also setup the PC in a seperate room, and get some extension cables for the keyboard, mouse and monitor.
__________________
What's that?
- That's the machine that goes "pling".


Bastiaan
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New to recording - I need a computer cygnet Pro Tools 10 1 11-08-2012 01:20 PM
Well, the recording computer again. Palli-Moon 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 07-09-2005 05:49 PM
Recording computer Palli-Moon 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 06-30-2005 09:47 AM
New to computer recording xwhitezombiex 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 05-05-2003 11:59 AM
Building a new computer for Recording only? Musicman25 General Discussion 1 05-31-2002 02:09 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:46 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com