Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-12-2005, 09:07 AM
skwad skwad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 130
Default sound replacer/beta91 help

hi everyone i was just wondering if anyone is using sound replacer and the shure beta 91 on the kick drum? im getting pretty good results and avoiding as much bleed as possible by not pushing the gain but was wondering if anyone had had a sure fire way so that sound replacer would work almost perfect everytime. i know this is a very subjective question but any tips would be greatful

cheers

Todd
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-12-2005, 05:31 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,165
Default Re: sound replacer/beta91 help

I'm confused as to how you use sound replacer(SR) with a microphone. The method I use(that works) is to highlight the track(kick drum for this example) and select Sound Replacer from the Audiosuite menu list. I click on each of the 3 floppy icons on SR and select a drum sample from my sounds folder(made just for this purpose) for each flag. I have 3 kick samples-soft, medium and loud. I click the right pointer in SR to show the wave in the SR window and drag the flags to select the volume range for each sample, then hit process. This works great. Now the Beta91 is a decent kick mic (although not my fav) but I have no idea how it can work with SR. Am I missing a cool technique or are you just now learning how to use SR?
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-12-2005, 10:10 PM
Bastiaan Bastiaan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nederland
Posts: 6,914
Default Re: sound replacer/beta91 help

Record it in a way you so you see a big difference between the drum hit you are recording and the other drums. One way to accomplish this is to use one of those supercheap and ugly sounding stick on guitarpickups. All you need is some audio. Quality of that doesnt matter. Be sure to turn off the mix-through feature of sound replacer though.
__________________
What's that?
- That's the machine that goes "pling".


Bastiaan
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sound Replacer mastermorris Tips & Tricks 2 01-28-2007 06:33 PM
Is there a drum replacer/sound replacer??? sethbrand General Discussion 2 03-08-2006 08:40 AM
my sound replacer makes the samples sound higher joeldavidlauver Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 05-24-2005 07:59 AM
Sound Replacer Alters Sound of Sample. vze24x2x Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 10-25-2003 07:10 PM
Need help with Sound Replacer Matty Spindel General Discussion 2 03-13-2002 11:55 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:28 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com