Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-27-2006, 02:06 PM
Yosemite Yosemite is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 78
Default Can I get look-ahead mute automation?

I am running M-Powered 7.1 (no luck yet on that forum) and prefer to use the trim tool to put in mute automation. It draws the mute exactly around my audio clip (which I like), but I hear the first bit of audio from the clip. This is, of course, dependent on my buffer size. I was wondering if there were some way to do look-ahead mute automation so that I can continue using the trim tool to mute things. I like how quick and precise that is.

Am I just going to have to draw mutes a quarter second before my sound clips so that the beginning doesn't get buffered?

Thanks,

Sean
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-27-2006, 02:44 PM
Bastiaan Bastiaan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nederland
Posts: 6,914
Default Re: Can I get look-ahead mute automation?

Why not simply lift out the unwanted audio? (As in highlighting and deleting it in any other mode as shuffle mode)

You can trim it back whenever you need it.
__________________
What's that?
- That's the machine that goes "pling".


Bastiaan
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-27-2006, 03:55 PM
Yosemite Yosemite is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 78
Default Re: Can I get look-ahead mute automation?

Because in this particular case I don't want to. I want to use mute automation.

Okay, so it isn't really that important, but when I work on a cue (I am doing sound design, not music) sometimes I like to bounce several versions to compare. One quick way of doing that is using mute automation... I can use other methods if need be.

But muting is there, so I thought, why not figure out how to use it better?

EDIT: Oh, I get what you are saying! Well, that makes it two steps which defeats the purpose. Since volume automation works the way I am describing, why not mute automation?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-28-2006, 04:48 PM
Bastiaan Bastiaan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nederland
Posts: 6,914
Default Re: Can I get look-ahead mute automation?

Because it has the delay in it. The delay you are experiencing is the hardware buffer size delay wich dep[ends on the delay you set yourself. To avoid those problems its easier to remove the audio alltogether as to work with automation of the faders or the mute button. It would be handier if it would work with the mute button but it simply isnt.... so try to work around it and removing the audio is working around it i think.
__________________
What's that?
- That's the machine that goes "pling".


Bastiaan
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-29-2006, 07:45 AM
Kris75's Avatar
Kris75 Kris75 is offline
Space Cabin Audio
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,555
Default Re: Can I get look-ahead mute automation?

If you want to use mute auto, why not use Strip Silence and set your start and end pads so they give the desired region size.
CNTRL + U and highlight the track. STRIP
It is in essence though doing what everyone else has said and taking out the undesired audio, and is WAY faster than writing in Mute Auto.
__________________
Sign up for all things....AWESOME!




Kris
May the music move you
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-29-2006, 10:57 AM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,787
Default Re: Can I get look-ahead mute automation?

another couple things, just hilight the area you want to mute and the trim tool will mute it still.

also a lot of times if i need to quickly mute a breath or word or something is in focus command mode, just hilight region, hit b to cut it and cntrl+m to mute it. typically quicker for me than automating mutes and the region is still visible, and cntrl+m again to unmute it.
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 6800k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-29-2006, 01:16 PM
bigbubbaj bigbubbaj is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 1,457
Default Re: Can I get look-ahead mute automation?

Quote:
another couple things, just hilight the area you want to mute and the trim tool will mute it still.

also a lot of times if i need to quickly mute a breath or word or something is in focus command mode, just hilight region, hit b to cut it and cntrl+m to mute it. typically quicker for me than automating mutes and the region is still visible, and cntrl+m again to unmute it.
This would be the advice that I would give also...
__________________
5198 Studios
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-30-2006, 09:18 PM
Yosemite Yosemite is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 78
Default Re: Can I get look-ahead mute automation?

Been trying them out and these suggestions are perfect... Just what I was looking for. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mute Region or Mute Automation Jeremy Mix3000 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 01-22-2007 07:53 PM
Can I get look-ahead mute automation? Yosemite Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 12-22-2006 07:11 PM
Automation 1sec ahead-sudden loud distorted audio RicardoEscallon Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 07-21-2005 12:41 PM
mute automation mik 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 12-01-2004 03:38 AM
Pan/Mute Automation BLOODSOUND 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 10-05-2004 09:52 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:19 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com