Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-10-2008, 10:34 AM
digifriend digifriend is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Clintonville, WI
Posts: 409
Default Help me, Help my old man....

Hey,
My old man is trying to setup his M-box again after he upgraded his OS from XP to Vista Ultimate 32. He is not very computer literate and I dont live close enough to him that I can go there to physically help him. He is telling me that his 7.3 installer disc wont work on Vista. And I have tried looking for either 7.3 M-Powered or 7.4 M-Powered to DL for him and send to him. But I cannot find a DL for either of these two.
So tell me is he just doing something wrong and the truth is he really CAN install that same 7.3 disc on Vista as easily as he could on XP or does he need a different DL.
Thanks
__________________
MacPro 2.8 (8X)
OS...10.5.6 (Mac) Windows 7 Ultimate
10GB Ram
640GB(Mac) 640GB(Windows 7) 1TB(Audio Drive)
Digi-002 Factory and M-box
LE 8.0.3 (Mac) 8.0.3 (PC)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-10-2008, 10:43 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Help me, Help my old man....

7.3 won't work on Vista. Period.

For him to be able to use Pro Tools on Vista, he will need to purchase and download the Pro Tools LE 7.4 upgrade from the Digistore.

MPowered is the Pro Tools that works on M-Audio hardware and would not work at all with the MBox. (The "M" in the name of both products confuses more people than you would believe). For the MBox hardware, you need Pro Tools LE.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-10-2008, 10:46 AM
digifriend digifriend is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Clintonville, WI
Posts: 409
Default Re: Help me, Help my old man....

Yeah I guess I got it confused too. Im wondering if he should just wait then and buy 8.0 when it comes out since it wouldnt make sense to buy 7.4 and then buy 8.0. Unless he would get a free update?
__________________
MacPro 2.8 (8X)
OS...10.5.6 (Mac) Windows 7 Ultimate
10GB Ram
640GB(Mac) 640GB(Windows 7) 1TB(Audio Drive)
Digi-002 Factory and M-box
LE 8.0.3 (Mac) 8.0.3 (PC)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-10-2008, 10:50 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Help me, Help my old man....

Anyone who buys 7.4 right now gets 8.0 free when it comes out.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:33 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com