Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-28-2017, 01:31 PM
Siegfried Meier Siegfried Meier is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,432
Default MIDI Input PT 5.1.3

Hey guys,

I've been trying with a number of MIDI devices, but I cannot get any MIDI input in PT. Using a Midiman Midisport 2x2 now, and it's installed properly in OMS - I see the light blinking with midi notes being played, I see it in Pro Tools midi input devices and on the track, but nothing gets recorded or is playing through the track...

I know it's been a few years since I've used 5.1.3, but am I missing some stupid critical step to getting MIDI into the program here? I've been at this for a few weeks now with several devices, so I don't think it's the hardware at this point anymore...

Thanks for any tips.
Sig
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-29-2017, 03:33 AM
Armando Armando is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Parrish, FL USA
Posts: 931
Default Re: MIDI Input PT 5.1.3

Wow that's going back a long ways. Is the Pro Tools Midi track showing the Midi device's channel number? Is the Midi track set to record?
You may also want to try creating a brand new session from scratch and try again.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Armando
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-29-2017, 02:20 PM
Siegfried Meier Siegfried Meier is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,432
Default Re: MIDI Input PT 5.1.3

Ya, I did all that...it's showing in the track, it's set to input, track record enabled...and I did a brand new session as well.

Totally odd...must be something else wrong...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-29-2017, 03:43 PM
Armando Armando is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Parrish, FL USA
Posts: 931
Default Re: MIDI Input PT 5.1.3

Are there any settings in Pro Tools Midi menu in the Finder drop down that may be disabled?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Armando
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-30-2017, 10:57 AM
Siegfried Meier Siegfried Meier is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,432
Default Re: MIDI Input PT 5.1.3

OMS is installed, the MIDIsport shows up in Pro Tools...there's also no output of the device either from tracks that have MIDI on them...I even tried 2 different MIDIsport interfaces, same thing with both.





I gotta be missing something else here?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-30-2017, 12:42 PM
Siegfried Meier Siegfried Meier is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,432
Default Re: MIDI Input PT 5.1.3

Ahhhhhhhh in OMS, you have to enable the extra 2 ports for the MIDIsport...it's not enough to just have the device enabled.



Once that's done, the 2 ports PLUS the MIDIsport show up as devices, but you have to select the ports and NOT the device...



So convoluted haha. But she works!!

Thanks for your help.
Sig
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
(SOLVED)No MIDI input activity and no sound from VIs - but PT actually records MIDI!? JohannesR macOS 3 08-24-2012 08:02 AM
dr 770 (boss dr rhythm 770) as midi controller/midi output to 11r midi input yellow Eleven Rack 1 05-04-2012 04:33 PM
New to MIDI. Input is quantizing. Input Quantize is disabled LiamSlack MIDI 0 03-25-2008 09:59 PM
Midi problem - no INPUT DEVICE option in MIDI menu tam103 MIDI 2 01-05-2007 09:01 AM
USB input versus actual MIDI input seanhupe MIDI 3 12-23-2005 08:35 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:32 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com