Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-18-2016, 12:23 PM
Chantry Frank Chantry Frank is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Liberal Ks
Posts: 34
Default Daft Punk

How would you recreate the daft punk vocal effect from the track "get lucky" using auto tune efx3?
__________________
Chantry Frank
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-18-2016, 12:27 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,915
Default Re: Daft Punk

You wouldn't

Its a maze of vocoders and pitch software like melodyne and hardware vocoders like Moog or Korg.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-18-2016, 05:26 PM
Chantry Frank Chantry Frank is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Liberal Ks
Posts: 34
Default Re: Daft Punk

so the only way to imitate tht sound is to actually find a vocoder? Do you know of any free vocoders for pro tools 11?
__________________
Chantry Frank
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-18-2016, 05:31 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,915
Default Re: Daft Punk

Sorry I don't. We have a few hardware vocoders but on software we use Melodyne Studio and Melodyne Editor which aren't cheap. We Also use Stutter Edit which is the shiznitz and some tweeker stuff from Output and Vengeance Audio Phalanx and so on. No freebees.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-18-2016, 09:58 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,670
Default Re: Daft Punk

No freebies but Melda should be relatively affordable.

Stutter Edit is pretty neat.....
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-19-2016, 01:15 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,662
Default Re: Daft Punk

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chantry Frank View Post
so the only way to imitate that sound is to actually find a vocoder? Do you know of any free vocoders for pro tools 11?
Not free but if you also need or could use as MIDI controller keyboard there's always the microKorg but it's not cheap.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-20-2016, 08:19 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,775
Default Re: Daft Punk

Your cheapest option would probably be Waves Morphoder. It's on sale right now, $34.57 through Audiodeluxe.com.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-22-2016, 11:23 AM
Andy Gone's Avatar
Andy Gone Andy Gone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Kyiv, Ukraine
Posts: 210
Default Re: Daft Punk

I second that. Morphoder is nice little inexpensive thing. It also has built-in synth and noise generator that can be used as a carrier.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-22-2016, 02:13 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,662
Default Re: Daft Punk

If one has access to an old system there's NI's Vokator from way back in the mists of time.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-22-2016, 02:44 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,915
Default Re: Daft Punk

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
If one has access to an old system there's NI's Vokator from way back in the mists of time.
And lets not forget the "Orange Vocoder" which we used on several hit records in the early 2000's hehe. Had to transfer the vocals to a Windows machine and run the Orange Vocoder on the PC, them import the vocals back into Mac hehe.

Those were the days. Now I haven't found anything close to how great that vocoder sounded for mac.

We use hardware now and it works great having a keyboard ro play the notes while singing thru the mic connected to the hardware synths vocoder.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Daft punk robot voices Raoul23 Tips & Tricks 9 06-27-2013 05:47 PM
Synth design by daft punk for tron questions DrFord General Discussion 1 12-31-2010 09:51 AM
how do I get that daft punk vocal sound DrFord Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 17 01-15-2009 12:37 PM
Anyone know Daft Punk's kit list? tommydee General Discussion 0 11-09-2002 09:58 PM
RTAS filter plug ins? daft punk/fatboy slim Dopamine 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 11-28-2000 11:58 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:47 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com