Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #201  
Old 08-28-2012, 03:45 PM
aaquilato aaquilato is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Franklin TN
Posts: 91
Default Re: New Hackintosh / PT7 monster HD PCI Rig

Here's the MB I'm going to build my next machine with.

http://news.softpedia.com/news/GA-P7...e-268141.shtml

That and the Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge 3.5GHz CPU.

Hope there's a DSDT for it sometime soon.
__________________
AQ.


Mac OSX ML 10.8.4 running PT10.3.7 HD4 PCIx (TDM & Native)
Mac OSX ML 10.8.4 running PT11.2 Native
Mac OSX Y 10.10.5 (MBP)
Reply With Quote
  #202  
Old 08-28-2012, 05:52 PM
fatcode fatcode is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 74
Default Re: New Hackintosh / PT7 monster HD PCI Rig

Looks good - thanks for sharing!
Reply With Quote
  #203  
Old 09-05-2012, 07:43 AM
MSB Mastering MSB Mastering is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Dublin
Posts: 47
Default Re: New Hackintosh / PT7 monster HD PCI Rig

I was going to build another identical rig to my own, but I've been told that Q67 is nearing the end of its life.

I've been suggested to look at http://www.asrock.com/mb/Intel/B75%20Pro3/

Any thoughts?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #204  
Old 09-05-2012, 07:54 AM
aaquilato aaquilato is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Franklin TN
Posts: 91
Default Re: New Hackintosh / PT7 monster HD PCI Rig

If you're building a PCI system you might have a challenge as the two PCI slots are not side by side.
Also one of those slots has the heat sink behind it so there might be a problem with the getting the Dig PCIx cards past it.

My new Gigabyte MB showed up in the mail from Japan but it was the P75-D3. Not the D3P and the heat sink is too high for the Digi PCIx cards to get past so I have to make some modifications to either the board or the cards.
The MB cost $79. The PCIx cards are selling for around $500 on eBay.
I think I'll modify the MB and hopefully not ruin it in the process.
__________________
AQ.


Mac OSX ML 10.8.4 running PT10.3.7 HD4 PCIx (TDM & Native)
Mac OSX ML 10.8.4 running PT11.2 Native
Mac OSX Y 10.10.5 (MBP)
Reply With Quote
  #205  
Old 09-05-2012, 09:24 AM
MSB Mastering MSB Mastering is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Dublin
Posts: 47
Default Re: New Hackintosh / PT7 monster HD PCI Rig

Thanks aaquilato. I hadn't thought about that. Now, there is an extender somewhere - in fact, I've got one. However, I think this second system would be an HD1 rig only. The only reason I want HD at all really is if I want to track with it, it's nice to be able to run low latency headphone mixes, and an HD1 rig can do that most of the time.
Reply With Quote
  #206  
Old 09-05-2012, 09:34 AM
aaquilato aaquilato is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Franklin TN
Posts: 91
Default Re: New Hackintosh / PT7 monster HD PCI Rig

You won't need LLM with an HD system.
Unless you're just saying you'll have the advantage of LLM.
You will and you'll enjoy it.
__________________
AQ.


Mac OSX ML 10.8.4 running PT10.3.7 HD4 PCIx (TDM & Native)
Mac OSX ML 10.8.4 running PT11.2 Native
Mac OSX Y 10.10.5 (MBP)
Reply With Quote
  #207  
Old 09-06-2012, 02:10 PM
MSB Mastering MSB Mastering is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Dublin
Posts: 47
Default Re: New Hackintosh / PT7 monster HD PCI Rig

Sorry, I didn't mean LLM in the native sense. That 'upgrade' to PT native want one I was prepared to pay for. The rep who phoned me couldn't think of one reason I'd want to 'upgrade' either.
Reply With Quote
  #208  
Old 09-11-2012, 02:43 PM
MSB Mastering MSB Mastering is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Dublin
Posts: 47
Default Re: New Hackintosh / PT7 monster HD PCI Rig

Can I please check whether anyone is running HD 10 on a PCI system that's non-Accel? My brother seems to think HD 10 is Accel only. I can't see anything on the compatibility pages to indicate the Accel only thing, but I'd rather be safe than sorry.
Reply With Quote
  #209  
Old 09-11-2012, 02:47 PM
DigitalMetal DigitalMetal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 410
Default Re: New Hackintosh / PT7 monster HD PCI Rig

Quote:
Originally Posted by MSB Mastering View Post
Can I please check whether anyone is running HD 10 on a PCI system that's non-Accel? My brother seems to think HD 10 is Accel only. I can't see anything on the compatibility pages to indicate the Accel only thing, but I'd rather be safe than sorry.
Should be fine on non Accel as the Accel is only relative to DSP and so will only affect plugins that require Accel, but download a demo version and try it perhaps ?
__________________


PT10HD5 PCIX in 64Bit Magma Chassis,
2x192io's + 2x96io's & Legacy io's
Pro Control & Fader Pack
UAD2 Quad, Octo & All Plugins
Black Lion Audio Modified MOTU 24io and 2408MK3 x2
TC Powercore PCI MK2 x2 & Firewire

Softube, Sonnox, Eventide, SSL, McDSP, Waves
Reply With Quote
  #210  
Old 09-11-2012, 02:58 PM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,013
Default Re: New Hackintosh / PT7 monster HD PCI Rig

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalMetal View Post
Should be fine on non Accel as the Accel is only relative to DSP and so will only affect plugins that require Accel, but download a demo version and try it perhaps ?
+1
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hackintosh for Pro Tools 7 - 7.4 anybody ? zavid Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 02-19-2014 04:51 PM
Hackintosh Problem pocketcalc macOS 2 07-08-2012 06:35 PM
Hackintosh with PT9 HD Native? PMedia macOS 9 07-11-2011 10:12 AM
Hackintosh on my rig? Raoul23 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 7 07-01-2011 04:26 PM
Hackintosh Help HDK_Ent 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 07-16-2010 11:45 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:47 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com