Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  ē  Community Terms of Use  ē  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  ē  Community Search  ē  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 07-30-2019, 04:46 PM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,013
Default Re: C24 preamp routing help?!?

Iíve patched my pres in and Iím using pres 9-16 but Iíve got a strange issue.

If I plug my active bass in the preamps seem to work ok, but when I connect a mic sm58 or u87 the sound seems thin and needs the gain pushed nearly to full. I donít think the pres have been used by the previous owner if at all. When I turn the pre knob they are noisy and the linear increase of the gain is not even at all. Anyone help please


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-30-2019, 06:49 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,864
Default Re: C24 preamp routing help?!?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raoul23 View Post
Iíve patched my pres in and Iím using pres 9-16 but Iíve got a strange issue.

If I plug my active bass in the preamps seem to work ok, but when I connect a mic sm58 or u87 the sound seems thin and needs the gain pushed nearly to full. I donít think the pres have been used by the previous owner if at all. When I turn the pre knob they are noisy and the linear increase of the gain is not even at all. Anyone help please


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Hmmm, make sure you are feeding the Mic inputs and not the Line inputs. My friend's C24 preamps seem to be on the hot side(he had to insert in-line XLR pads on all his drum mics). Personally, given how "bland and boring" the stock preamps are(just my opinion), I'd consider some outboard preamps
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-01-2019, 07:18 AM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,013
Default Re: C24 preamp routing help?!?

Yep Iím defo feeding the mic inputs


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using outboard Preamp/Bypassing Mbox2 Preamp KennyC 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 06-10-2007 01:00 PM
Studio Projects VTB1 preamp vs ART TPS-II preamp?? ESR 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 06-28-2004 10:23 PM
I'm torn.. Digi001 with better preamp or Digi002 with cheaper preamp/future upgrade Siberian 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 02-06-2003 12:22 AM
Routing a Mono PreAmp. OgnKog 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-27-2001 02:37 PM
preamp routing crushed 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-25-2001 10:42 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:38 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com