Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-29-2007, 07:55 AM
AlohaMoto AlohaMoto is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 22
Default M-Powered Interfaces

What's the best interface for PTMP7.3.1? I need 8 or more inputs. Thank you so much.
__________________
<img src="http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/d/dd/Carolina_Panthers_helmet_rightface.png">
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-29-2007, 08:27 AM
JrummerJ JrummerJ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 492
Default Re: M-Powered Interfaces

I have the M-Audio Firewire 410, and would eventually like to add more inputs. The best solution that I have come up with is to get the M-Audio Lightbridge as an ADAT interface, and then add the 8 channel preamp of your choice, something like the PreSonus FireStudio. This actually gives you the flexibility to up to 3 additional ADAT sources.

J
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-30-2007, 07:32 AM
kafka kafka is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 131
Default Re: M-Powered Interfaces

The 1814 probably gives you the most variety out of the box. 2 mic pres with phantom power, 8 unbalanced in, 4 balanced out, ADAT, S/PDIF, MIDI, 2 headphone outs.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-30-2007, 03:07 PM
Maggotspawn Maggotspawn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 10
Default Re: M-Powered Interfaces

I'll second the 1814. I'm using one with a Behringer ADA 8000 for 16 channels of input.
If I were shopping for an interface today I might be very inclined towards the Lightbridge though...
__________________
www.myspace.com/agitprop666
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-01-2007, 07:54 PM
southboundloco's Avatar
southboundloco southboundloco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 356
Default Re: M-Powered Interfaces

the lightbridge is just an interface thats it... u have no converters with it unlike the 1814, u have to buy that one separately...
__________________

Pro Tools 11.2
Pro Tools 10.3.9
REAPER

MPTK2
ProFire 2626
Benchmark DAC1
Neumann KH 120 A
Avid Artist Mix
ASUS Sabertooth Z77, Intel i7-3770K CPU OC'd@4.7GHz, 32 Gigs RAM
Mac OS X 10.9.3 Mavericks


Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-04-2007, 08:50 AM
JrummerJ JrummerJ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 492
Default Re: M-Powered Interfaces

Quote:
the lightbridge is just an interface thats it... u have no converters with it unlike the 1814, u have to buy that one separately...
I fully understand that, and agree that the 1814 meets the requirements of the thread starter. However, going with the Lightbridge as a qualifying M-Powered interface allows you to go with an ADAT mic pre that has 8 mic preamps (since M-audio doesn't have an 8 mic interface). It also gives you 3 more ADAT inputs that you could add some very nice single channel, or dual channel preamps to.

For $1250 you could get M-Powered, lightbridge, and the Presonus firestudio. As long as M-Powered meets your needs (and it does mine) then this option seems (to me) more appealing than getting a Digi-002 or 003 since you can still add addition ADAT devices for even more tracks.

J
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-04-2007, 02:12 PM
mcgirr mcgirr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 167
Default Re: M-Powered Interfaces

M-audio Delta 10/10 rackmount is a premier interface.
8 in/ 8 out of pristine audio conversion.

These interfaces have been a mainstay for years.

They have no preamps, but... preamps and converters should NEVER be housed in the same unit anyway.

Best wishes.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-09-2007, 10:19 AM
Bob Olhsson's Avatar
Bob Olhsson Bob Olhsson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Songwriter Gulch, Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,415
Default Re: M-Powered Interfaces

If you have a choice, a PCI card interface is what's happening in my experience.
__________________
Bob's room 615 562-4346
Interview
Artists are the gatekeepers of truth! - Paul Robeson
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-09-2007, 07:02 PM
southboundloco's Avatar
southboundloco southboundloco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 356
Default Re: M-Powered Interfaces

whats the latency like with the profire lightbridge? is it useable when tracking? am not sure if u can do hardware monitoring from this interface before it goes into protools, because with the 1814 u can do direct monitoring which eliminates latency,u just mute the track ur recording onto in protools and u can track without latency
__________________

Pro Tools 11.2
Pro Tools 10.3.9
REAPER

MPTK2
ProFire 2626
Benchmark DAC1
Neumann KH 120 A
Avid Artist Mix
ASUS Sabertooth Z77, Intel i7-3770K CPU OC'd@4.7GHz, 32 Gigs RAM
Mac OS X 10.9.3 Mavericks


Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-11-2007, 02:37 PM
dillon99999 dillon99999 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 426
Default Re: M-Powered Interfaces

IMHO:
firewire has too many issues.

when i had 1814 it would make weird noises when i moved the edit window during playback (would have
to quit and restart pro tools). not a pleasant experience when a customer is sitting next to you!

pci is more stable - none of those issues stated above.

here is something to think about:

why is it that Digi doesn't make a FIREWIRE HD1 / HD2 / HD3 system???

probably because they know that Firewire isn't something a professional studio would consider.

perhaps they are working on such a solution, but for now, HD1 is PCI / PCI/e

firewire is good for people on laptops, because they don't usually have a PCI slot.

usb is even less reliable than firewire.

ymmv - take it for what it's worth - been there, done that.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is PT9 compatible with M-Powered interfaces? Hercules Pro Tools 9 1 11-04-2010 06:24 PM
Can I use two interfaces with m-powered mutley Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 2 03-10-2010 09:21 PM
2 Interfaces in M-powered 7.4 Lonnie5 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 12-07-2008 05:51 PM
M-Powered with FW Interfaces kevinb511 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 5 07-24-2008 05:56 AM
other interfaces with M-Powered cjac9 Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 11-14-2006 01:36 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:23 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com